Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » Detachment » Reviews

Reviews for "Detachment"

Detachment
by Snowflake
Recommends (46)
Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 7:31 AM
 
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 7:41 AM
You did a fine job here Emily. You always come up with interesting secret remixes. Some fine playing from Jason and Susan’s adds too :)

It has a cool groove that one can listen to over and over :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 7:43 AM
I’m listening to your track right now — wow! Really incredible work. I’d love your feedback on how to make my mix sound a little better. I’m so lost right now :)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 8:03 AM
I love the unison with Jason’s slide at the end, and sackjo’s reading. You’ve taken yourself way outside of your comfort zone, snd I admire that.

This seems to be thematic with what we talked about re Star Wars… am I right to think that?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 8:07 AM
yes!!! i had that little green Yoda streaming through my consciousness while composing :)
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 8:44 AM
Very nice!
This groove is very pleasant. You did a great job!

And your singing is wonderful as always, Emily!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 1:10 PM
thank you! i really dig your mix :)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 1:27 PM
woow! thanks you too! :)
I’d be honored!
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:40 AM
HA, Seems we both fixed our problems with our bass :D This sounds awesome :D Its like sexy dark electro delirium :P Do you like Delirium?? your music reminds me of it so much, and they were my favorite music group for like 6 years :D
 
.
permalink   Vidian Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:43 AM
My favorite part is 2:22 with the vocal effects and the drums fading in :D brilliant
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 1:09 PM
thank you!!! that means a lot. i don’t know Delirium but will definitely look them up :)
 
.
permalink   Vidian Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 1:32 PM
lol Nope, you most definetly need a Delirium guide :P I am going to send you a link to a few songs on FB.. one song you know, you just don’t know it yet :P
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 12:48 PM
I wait impatiently for the vocal track. I think it’s wonderful. The remix is great.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 1:09 PM
thank you! will bounce vocals and let you know when they are up! :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 4:07 PM
Coooooool. Has a bit of a Portishead feel to me. Your lyrics are perfect for this feel… I really like the various effects… Yeah… this rocks.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 6:46 PM
thanks Kara. you are a soul sister.
djolliej
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 8:37 PM
I love what you did with this mix. Your vocals fit perfectly with the dark sound of this track. And beautiful as always. Thank you!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:01 PM
So glad you like it! I really enjoyed exploring your works. You create really great samples to paint with :)
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 8:58 PM
As the Yoda of CC Mixter told me once - “You have highlighted the great thing about secret mixter” - the synth and bass are fine, and your voice combined with Interlude 4 takes us on an emotional journey that was not possible with just one or the other. The force is strong with this one :D
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:04 PM
you’ve given me a huge smile with this review - thank you! “…For my ally is the Force, and a powerful ally it is. Life creates it, makes it grow. Its energy surrounds us and binds us. Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter.”
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 10:43 PM
Once again you impress me with your uniquely expressive singing — while the feeling of this song is reflected in all elements, your singing and your treatment of the vocals truly expresses the sentiment of the lyric. Great work Emily. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:05 PM
thank you Susan! and thanks for your special addition at the end :)
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 10:54 PM
This whole thing is great - and your vocals are truly outstanding.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:06 PM
thank you Haskel! i really like your mix of PorchCat :)
debbizo
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 3:40 AM
Stellar! What an achievement!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:17 AM
thanks Deb!!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 6:42 AM
Love the groove on this. Sweet Piano line, the bass the reverse efx and drum track hot like fire. The vocals Perfect like always. Very sexy track you have here.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:18 AM
thanks J! and thanks for noticing those little details :)
CSoul
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 7:42 AM
Very dimensional as a lyric as a sonic and especially as a vocal.
Absolutely it must listening with headphone.
It have been very enjoyable experience.,
peace
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:18 AM
thank you!!!
Alex
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 8:25 AM
Your secret mixes are always very special! Love this one! Sounds very strong! Powerfull stuff
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:19 AM
thank you Alex! i’m bouncing the vocal stems today (hint, hint, wink, wink!)
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 11:12 AM
I like this very, very much. The idea, vocal performance and arrangement are all excellent.

Literally the only thing that could be improved just a bit is the mixing. To my ears your vocals should be the centrepiece here, and every now and then they end up fading behind the backing track instead.

But like I said - this is a great track. Very nice work.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 1:43 PM
thanks colab. i really struggled mixing this track — especially balancing the vocal, bass and kick levels. i needed another couple of days. i may do a mix with the vocal up a db or two and replace. thank you again for your nice review and feedback :)
rocavaco
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 11:58 AM
So many nice things have been written by others - I just can’t add anything new. Could get in love with your voice (please don’t tell my friend).
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 1:44 PM
hahahah :) you are too kind!
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 2:22 PM
this is awesome…
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 8:24 PM
thank you!!
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 23, 2012 @ 8:47 PM
OK, I admit it. I didn’t give this song a fair shot at first. I was really turned off by the bass that you said you had so much trouble with. It did come off as very boomy/muddy to me.

But since that first listen I’ve come back several times and I have to say, this song is just one good mixing job away from being a great song. I’ve come to love the bass parts and the synth lines and really all the parts.

Now, I’m no mixing expert, and I’m listening through headphones at the moment… but I tried taking your final track and dropping about 4dB off from the 200Hz range. Just that one little change did a world of good to my ears and made the track sound much tighter to me.

I also agree with colab that it seems like your vocal should be a bit more prominent. Cutting a few dB at about 1kHz on the synth line should help keep it from overpowering the vocals too much. In general, it’s better to do EQ cuts on the parts that are overpowering rather than trying to boost the parts that have been overpowered.

My $0.02… but like I said, all the parts are there for a really great tune.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 24, 2012 @ 5:49 AM
Dreamy
Official_Nc_Fx
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 4, 2012 @ 4:31 AM
Nice fucking track! :O