Mixing Now: Sow & Reap Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "Wired But Disconnected"

Wired But Disconnected
by duckett
Recommends (87)
Tue, Oct 28, 2008 @ 11:33 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

Video: ?p=401 by Bill Deys
more...
 
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:01 AM
d00d! absolutely great job with this! it has this electric dylan feel to it but you’re a better singer. :)
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:15 AM
Thanks- again, n9 and Pitx are doing the heavy lifting here- all I did was pay attention, stay on key, and render a (hopefully) listenable mp3… the ideal person to sing this would have to be a cross between SRV and Bob Dorough, and that I’m certainly not, so I’m glad this works for ya ;-)
khidir
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:12 AM
Great voice, you got the southern charm right down!
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 12:28 AM
Hey, thanks; glad you liked- I try to let the song/music inform my approach to vocals, and this seemed to work.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 3:01 AM
great to hear this vocal from you. an instantly likeable (ever so slightly world weary) voice surrounded by great material lyrically & musically. gotta love it!
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 6:30 AM
Thanks for the kind words, glad you liked it!
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 4:52 AM
So very well done…those lyrics are fine and the guitar playing is exceptional. Your voice is perfect in this - captured the mood.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 6:33 AM
Thanks AM, very nice words indeed.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 6:12 AM
I am pretty impressed- how do you do that with your thick Bostonian brogue? Did you use the shure or the old radio shack mic? And when did you start singing? So many questions…..
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 7:22 AM
“The VOICE” is impressed? That’s all I need to know. As for the many questions?
1)-A swappable, modular larynx- I just pick the right one for the job, open a panel in my neck, change ‘em out, and presto!
2)-The old Radio Shack; I still have no XLR connectors…
3)-Didn’t you mean “Since WHEN did YOU start singing?”
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 6:46 AM
:-)

Thanks for the smile.
Really Really Nice Duckett.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 8:05 AM
Thanks J! Email me when you get a chance, wouldja?
onlymeith
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 7:21 AM
The voice is perfectly placed in the song and I think you have a great personality singing. Great remix, I love it.
Congratulations on a very good job.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 8:17 AM
Thanks- I may not have gorgeous, powerful pipes, but as long as it works in the context of the material, I’m willing to sing…
Pitx
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 9:32 AM
I’m proud of being part of this work!! I envy that voice.
I like also the technical result, you’ve mixing the voice with the instrumental, a more difficult choice that mixing with the individual tracks.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 10:28 AM
Thanks, love that instrumental!
Glad you’re happy with the results mix-wise, too- I appreciated the offer for separated tracks, but I was afraid I’d start tinkering too much; plus, you did a fine job in mastering the original. “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” ;-)
sheever
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 10:18 AM
this stuff Rocks!great job
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 10:29 AM
Thanks, glad you like!
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 2:21 PM
I said I couldn’t wait to hear what came next and I wasn’t disappointed one eency teency bit. Fantastic job all around. I think I identify a little too much with those lyrics :-). Great job all around guys. Agreed as to all preceding comments that this kind of thing is what the site is all about but it takes the individuals forming the micro climate to get it all done. Cheers to your faith in yourselves and in one another.

Ducky, you’re a gonna have to change the avatar to a singin’ duck now.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 2:51 PM
Thanks, glad you liked it… sorry, but I’m under strict orders not to change my avatar!
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 2:36 PM
Someone mentioned Dylan, I agree and I can actually understand the words here too. I’m picturing the video clip; Duckett, guitar slung over his back, peak down, strutting along an old cracked up section of route 66 with the coyotes and the tumbleweeds. Sort of John Fogerty meets the movie Duel. Very worthy Ed pick! Your Avatar is dancing to it as I listen :)
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 3:02 PM
Thanks- quite the visual there; but then again, video directors can make almost anybody look cool ;-)
narva9
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 29, 2008 @ 7:05 PM
Awesome! Just awesome. You deserve all of the credit. For if it weren’t you and your love of baked goods…. this song wouldn’t have the punch or the impact it does. When all is said and done it’s all in the delivery!

n9
PS - are you interested in doing another… this time for shortbread? :-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 7:52 AM
Thanks n9… but if it weren’t for you, there’d have been no song to sing (and no cookies)!
Shortbread, eh? If this keeps up, I’m going to end up one roly-poly remixer ;-)
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 5:22 AM
Very Cool Mr Duckett Very Cool!!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 8:16 AM
Thanks George! Your new avatar looks slightly dismayed, though ;-)
Clarance Boddyker
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 2:58 PM
Prime example of why Duckett skills is straight McButters - diversity. From experimental, dance, hardcore hip hop to laid back folk rock, the dude can do the thing.

Really dig the vibe on this, lyrics and vocalist is great. Powerful and emotive song, just the right length to appreciate it. Great work, really to everyone involved.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 3:21 PM
This is a surprise and it_s not.

Duckett, on my last review I assumed that you must have talent for singing. I think you did kidding us all presenting now a vocal work (on the fantastic background) that I_d never expected in such a brilliant way. You are a talent, but you also sound like you were a great singer since already 30 years. Stunning! What a well deserved EdPick! Congratulations. And, I like your voice!! :-)
 
.
permalink   Clarance Boddyker Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 3:29 PM
Quote: TheJoeThis is a surprise and it_s not.

Duckett, on my last review I assumed that you must have talent for singing. I think you did kidding us all presenting now a vocal work (on the fantastic background) that I_d never expected in such a brilliant way. You are a talent, but you also sound like you were a great singer since already 30 years. Stunning! What a well deserved EdPick! Congratulations. And, I like your voice!! :-)


Holy Snykees Duck, that’s YOU singing? COOL! Great work, seriously. I really dig laid back rock, I’m dating myself, Dog’s Eye View, Better Than Ezra, REM, Mazzy Star, P.J. Harvey’s piano and guitar/songwriter records and so on.

I don’t pretend to know the genre of music you are performing, i just know what I like.

Congratulation on the Ed pick, you a bugged out dude.
 
.
permalink   Clarance Boddyker Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 3:32 PM
Will you do more music like this, sing? You should post your pells here dude, unless you did already.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 9:24 PM
Hey there CB! Very glad you like; if you want to hear more of me singing, for now there’s this
Yes, I’ll probably be getting behind the mic more often, since people seem to like it. When I read your initial review, my first thought was “He doesn’t know that’s me singing, does he?” ;-)
I’m a Mazzy Star fan myself, BTW…
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 9:18 PM
Thanks Joe! I guess I can sing a little better than I thought; for years, I kept my singing strictly to the shower, etc.- but all the nice words from you, and everybody else, has me thinking I’ve been too shy… but compared to, say, Frank Carter, or other examples of the genuine article, I rate myself “passable, knows his limits”… Anyway, this was such a great song and instrumental, that I couldn’t resist ;-)
 
.
permalink   Ran Dumb Dots...... .. . Sun, Nov 2, 2008 @ 4:30 PM
Quote: duckettI guess I can sing a little better than I thought; for years, I kept my singing strictly to the shower, etc.- but all the nice words from you, and everybody else, has me thinking I’ve been too shy…

This is sort of reminding me of the story of how Eric Clapton decided he was good enough to sing rather than just mainly play guitar. He was touring with Delaney and Bonnie, and they worked with him and encouraged him on singing and songwriting. Look at what he’s done since then. Keep going with the singing - you have a great voice and (despite what you seem to think) it also seems pretty versatile based on the two songs you’ve put up.
teru
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 11:39 AM
I didn’t comment right away but I have to say this really blew me away. Just a perfect job all round.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 11:53 AM
Thanks teru! It was a genuine pleasure to be involved- n9 and Pitx’s work blew me away…
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 4:34 PM
One of the most complete and rewarding pieces i have heard on this site.

I have been involved in some intercontinenetal mixes and its hard work. Just getting it all to work this well is testament to all of this great combined talent.

First Class.
Clapton could not have done it better.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 5:39 PM
Wow, LS- thanks! This seemed to come together really naturally, and I’m sure n9 and Pitx have been equally delighted with the reaction it’s gotten as I’ve been.
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 5:45 PM
The other singing song was good, but this is like some real real talent type shit. Cant believe you were sitting on that without sharing. Get the band together and get on the road!!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 31, 2008 @ 5:58 PM
Thanks FFG- very nice words indeed. I can’t afford a tour bus quite yet, however ;-)
KCentric
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 2, 2008 @ 7:20 PM
Duck!

What can I say that hasn’t already been said…. dude u rock!!

Great work as usual :-) (there will be more vocals in the future I’m sure)

keep jamming man,
-k
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Nov 2, 2008 @ 8:37 PM
Thanks K-
All the kind words are making it harder for me to keep the ego in check ;-)
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 3, 2008 @ 9:24 AM
..and another surprise from the “Duck’planet”..and what a surprise..!!! This is absolutely..EXCELLENT..! You have a super voice, a very beautiful timbre., wonderful flow. It’s perfect with the music of Pitx.
GREAT WORK…
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Nov 3, 2008 @ 8:10 PM
Merci beaucoup!
If I ever get to visit France, you are definitely on the list of “Must take out to lunch” ;-)
tacet
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 8, 2008 @ 8:32 AM
Very nicely done duckman :D

Great lyrics too btw, you and Narva9 should do more urm…what the heck would you call this style??

grit-no? (gritty techno) …
drum’n’twang? …
electrifried-duck? :D
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Nov 8, 2008 @ 9:30 AM
Thanks tacet! Nice to hear from you, O quiet one ;-)
Rest assured, there’s more in the works- I’ve had 9 million things going on lately, so you might not see anything right away, but it’s a-comin’!
 
.
permalink   tacet Sat, Nov 8, 2008 @ 9:41 AM
I could say the same thing, but I won’t…lol ;)

Honestly, this mix was a real pleasure to listen too, more along the lines would be fun. :D

I have been quiet, sorry about that, more from me soon…I’m still toying with ideas for a Christmas song, nothing like working to a deadline hehe….
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 27, 2008 @ 8:51 AM
Hey all,
I used this here tune and Title
in this cheesey video
Ho-Ho!
Jobob
http://jobobarikan.devianta...
Happy Turkey Day!
Mahadin
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:16 PM
yep, definitely some brilliant singing on this one! love it, going straight into my collection!
jacindae
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 10, 2009 @ 8:47 PM
I am so in love with this mix that I feel compelled to leave a review. It’s in my iTunes with five stars.
go1dfish
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:01 PM
This track was my favorite on the site when ArtIsTech Media took on ccMixter from the CC. It still is.

Everytime I build/test something new for dig/ccMixter I end up listening to this mix a thousand times and it never gets old.

Absolutely amazing track.