Deep Roots Remix Event
skip
Home » People » AT » Trust (2.12am) » Reviews

Reviews for "Trust (2.12am)"

Trust (2.12am)
by AT
Recommends (28)
Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 6:32 PM

Samples are used in:

 
shimoda
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 6:46 PM
I’ll throw in my two scents. In my mind I’m wandering along in a dream and suddenly swept into this calliope, drifting along the grey walls of bedlam. What do you use for string development or how do you do it. The strings sound pretty good, including other instruments and I hear a definite sensibility to the arrangement. I’m quite curious about your process, background, etc. And yes, Anchor does seem to have the springtime trickling along. I’m working on a pell of his, but not with this depth. I very much like. Please do share something of your working, if not here, by e-mail. Did I say how much I like this?!?!
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:44 PM
Hi Shimoda, thanks for the kind words, there much appreciated. As for the string sounds there from my Roland XV5050 module, quite old now but I still use it alot. The woodwind also from XV5050. Theres also a very synthy/airy string sound in there thats from dimension pro soft synth.
As for my process—-god I wish I had a process, sure would save me alot of time. My method is pretty much hit some keys and see what happens, if its rubbish then select all/delete and start over.
By all means send me an email if you want—always good to chat.
Thanks again AT
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 5:16 AM
I once saw an interview with John Williams the guitarist of Cavatina fame not the composer, who remarked how frustrating it was for him to not be able to just sit down, and ` start hitting notes’ its shows you have an ear for the detail of composition and can appreciate the skill it takes to achieve the sound and musical texture of a full orchestra.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 7:37 PM
Excellent piece of work with the orchestration played really well!

I like the way you have made AM’s voice sound against the strings and the accompaniment is just right for the tone of the lyrics.

First rate!!
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:46 PM
Thank you Radiotimes, will admit to being inspired by some of the things you have done, so thank you.
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 7:48 PM
Wow AT and AM, that is something, that’s huge! Not that I didn’t think you had it in you, but gee, that’s just a few pegs above a few beats and a countermelody, ya know :-).

The repetition of the lines and such had me thinking maybe a little of Phillip Glass and kin, no? Whatever, you have really given this pella a very serious showcase within which to be admired. I’ll get round to your other stuff soon, sorry haven’t been by yet.
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:48 PM
thanks Essesq, nice to see you again, when you going to get something else up here? its been a long time. Thanks for your very kind words.
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 6:29 PM
In answer to your question…hopefully soonish … I rushed my first two out the door here and regretted it later. I won’t let that happen again.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 8:31 PM
whoa - AT & AM go to Broadway! You never cease to amaze. Great idea, composition, arrangement and mix. Well deserved pick!
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:50 PM
Thanks Spin, I’m blown away by the Hot Pick thing. Made me very happy. Glad you liked it.
Da UBQ
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 8:58 PM
This one got me completely off guard. Superb
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:51 PM
Thank you Da UBQ, much appreciated.
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 2, 2008 @ 9:58 PM
Wow! No wonder it was an Ed Pick, this is top-notch arranging! I’ve never been quite the pro to have done it, but I always wanted to hear Anchor backed in this way- my top hat’s off to you, sir!
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 5:54 PM
Ha, thanks Duckett,
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 12:22 AM
AT-
What an honor…possibly the finest version of Trust ever. Many thanks for all the attention to detail and precise production. Beautiful orchestral sounds!
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 6:00 PM
Well thank you Anchor, I loved the vocal. Very happy that your enjoyed my take on them. Hope to do more again sometime. Thank you very much Anchor Mejan.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 10:54 AM
Could you please hold back on the quality next time. This isn’t doing my self-esteem any good. ;-)
teru
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 11:19 AM
Incredible production. The orchestration sounds so real. When you bought the software did it come with little tiny people dressed in tuxes? ; )

Any chance of an instrumental or samples?
 
.
permalink   AT Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 6:03 PM
I’ve been thinking its about time I uploaded some samples, been taking so have to give back. So sure I’ll put them up once I figure out how! thanks.
kulimu
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 11:51 AM
Love this

One of the most convincing computer orchestras I’ve ever heard. I wouldn’t say the illusion is complete, but it’s certainly as far as you can go without actually hiring 100 blokes for your remix! And besides I love the relative softness of the artificial orchestra.

The melodies are beautiful, and I really like how you connected the orchestration with the acapella here. A well deserved Editor’s pick!
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 12:15 PM
I think this stands out in equal parts for the dramatic orchestration/vocals as for the delicate restraint applied in other sections.

It’s beautifully done, and so carefully balanced; and the instrumentation really brings out the emotions of the vocals. Very inspiring piece.
oldDog
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 4, 2008 @ 9:53 AM
Bravo!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 5, 2008 @ 2:00 AM
A more than well deserved hotpick.
You show another part of your outstanding creativity by choosing a more “classical” style.
So well executed and orchestra music is one of the very hard duties. A wonderful match to AM_s “Trust” pella.
So my I call you now “maestro”? :-)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 11, 2008 @ 4:40 AM
The mixing here of the instruments is a really effective setting into which to fit the vocals. The way the piece builds with little movements, like a cross between a show tune and a chamber piece, really works. It’s got a mildly exotic feel to it, which helps the piece avoid feeling too “obvious” or traditional. An evocative mix, which creates its own narrative universe, and yet lets the listener come and visit its curious ideas.
DURDEN
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 11:35 PM
I think is a great composition, and the instruments work togheter very well. A very good music for a very special style of singing.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, May 11, 2009 @ 1:35 PM
Absolutely brilliant! I am trying to revisit some of the older tracks on ccM and am so glad I found this one. Wow!