Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip

Reviews for "Cookin'

Cookin' & Singin' (The Guests...
by SackJo22
Recommends (47)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:54 AM

Samples are used in:

Web Page: ?page_id=451 by hilde shop
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:00 AM
RTR:

a flute and a swing drum come in, then a Les Paul or archtop lazily joins in. At some point a bass walks in but I hardly noticed it.

GON sings sweetly, and then SackJo joins in in total unison.

A couple of near harmonic notes from the guitar, the flute is back.

Now SackJo sings a bit of jazz in a duet with herself, as the bass walks around tastily. It strikes me that’s her too!

GON is back, and emphatically. This is a tasty duet so far.

The bass does more tasty walking. And now we’re getting some tasty plunking away from must be Haskel.

A duet on the verse this time, and that tasty chorus is back. It is all very understated… cooking with the burner on low.

Yeah, that was a nice tasty simmer from the Mixin Kitchen
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 11:24 AM
I love your RTR reviews — another unmasking revelation as you share your immediate thoughts! I’m so glad you found the simmer!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:04 AM
susan, this is tasty! taking your own approach to this track seemed to work out pretty darn well. your vocals are the spice!

sonic yum.

gotta sleep now. i don’t want to! will resume listening in the a.m. first thing!!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:54 PM
second listen. very nice work susan. haskel is genius as well. your bass playing is truly impressive!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:27 PM
Thanks so much Em! Your support through the process of this challenge really helped.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:06 AM
Sounds great! Love the flute (but you know that already…)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:29 PM
Thanks McJ! And thanks for lending your ears! I really appreciate it!
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:11 AM
All I can say is “You’ve done good SackJo”. This is one fine secret mixter!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:29 PM
Thanks for your encouragement MJ! I truly appreciate it.
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:31 AM
You made a great remix listening it for the second time. Love the flutes and backing vocals. You really can do it all, you are an inspiring artist!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:31 PM
Thanks so much! I have to say, seeing your involvement in the site, reading your comments/posts and listening to your music has been really inspiring to me! I’m so glad you enjoyed my secret mixter offering.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:36 AM
Absolutely adorable classy cocktail music produced and performed in the best possible way. And it’s groovy.
Great vocals from the both of you and so refreshing to hear GoN’s voice in an unexpected musical setting.
Haskel’s guitar is spot on for this mix.
I love it!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:32 PM
Thanks Per! I’m so glad you like. You know how I battled with how I was going to approach this assignment.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 1:36 AM
Susan this is swinging cookin and singin, jazztastic, great mix
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:33 PM
It makes me so happy to hear that you think this tracks is swinging! Thank you so much for the kind review.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:34 AM
Susan this is so smooth and laid back…relaxing.I love your complementary vocal harmonies (panned left I think). And the guitar bits are divine.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:41 PM
Thanks so much Deb! I sure appreciate your kind review.
l4m
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:54 AM
So relaxing ;)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:41 PM
Thank you!
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:54 AM
Nice one Susan! It all goes so beautifully together! Love the flute and the guitar And your duet with GON is just great
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:42 PM
Your up thumbs mean a lot to me Alex! Thanks for the kind review. This assignment was a challenge — I just had to give in and do what comes naturally, which is sing.
Tom_Ena
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:38 AM
The elements fit together really well! Much enjoyed!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:43 PM
Thanks Tom. It pleased me to know you enjoyed my offering.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:44 AM
Dig your beatnik jazz cafe sounds, Susan. Snaps!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:44 PM
Thanks Tex. Snaps are awesome!
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:25 AM
Wonderful wonderful. A bass based jazz chill groove with sweet upfull song. Love it. By the way - “…anything we create reveals something about ourselves.” I’m glad you said that.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:48 PM
Thanks Denny. Your reviews always make me feel good, and encouraged!
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:20 AM
Really nicely put together -like this a lot - thanks for using the sample.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:49 PM
Thanks Paul for the nice review, and thanks for sharing such great samples! Your drum track really set the tone for the entire song. I don’t know what I would have done without it!
Morebit
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:42 AM
I’m grateful you didn’t made a dance track of these great vocals. I love this jazzy taste, the natural sounds, and well chosen samples. (i must look under the samples menu finally:)) You’ve done good work with mixing too, nice work, congrats!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:50 PM
Thank you! It makes me happy to know you enjoyed my remix.
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:42 AM
Mixin Kitchen, Cookin and Singin’, Sj22 and GON ah yes, all of my favorite things rolled up into one. Your limitations? What were they? I must have missed that bit. Great Job. GON and Swing, to my recolection this is a new musical genre for GON!!! (smile) Good work.


Peace! ;)~
 
.
permalink   guestsofnature Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 10:25 AM
Sing It Susan. Well I never saw that coming. Very mellow, great arrangment and the best bit was your singing.lovely harmonys and interpretation of the pella. Ive had it on 5 times already,, im actually gonna bake a cake in your honour,, almond and orange,, made with homemade marmalade, well its only right!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 10:47 AM
I am so glad (and relieved) that you enjoyed this track Eugene. Your singing is just sooo darn fine I was really concerned about messing it up. It was fun to harmonize with you though, that’s for sure! And an orange/almond cake sounds absolutely delicious!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:51 PM
Thanks Mykle! You’re always so positive and encouraging. I really appreciate it! Best to you too!
Numbernaut
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:12 PM
that’s luverly. so easy, should be a hit for sure.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:54 PM
You’re so nice to say so Numbernaut. Thank you.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:43 PM
Susan, this is just so amazingly good: original, cool, clever, unexpected …. ! What a terrific idea to set GoN’s pell to the most deliciously laidback, jazzy b/t with the most deliciously jazzy vocals from SJ herself. I’m speechless (some people would be glad about that!). xxxx
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:10 PM
I’m so happy to hear from you Ciggi! You always leave such kind, encouraging and supportive reviews. You made my day! (And I am not one of those who is glad when you go speechless… )
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:04 PM
Love this! Very cool laid back vibe, like an easy Sunday afternoon drive… Totally digging it, Susan…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:11 PM
Thanks Ben! I haven’t gotten to your remix yet (I’m listening to them in chronological order) but absolutely love what Goldfish did with your pell (one of my favorites from you for sure)!
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:33 PM
This is a very nice surprise—-Nice and loose which is just as it should be. Excellent and perfect vocal additions from you and great guitar from Haskel. Very cool Sackjo
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:18 PM
I’m so glad you were pleasantly surprised! I admire your work so much, that it is particularly gratifying to get such a nice review from you! (Your remix, by the way, is stellar!)
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 8:39 PM
Love the lazy groove in the verse. I could put that on a loop and just daydream away.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:20 PM
Quote: Clarence SimpsonI could put that on a loop and just daydream away.

Please do! Lazy daydreaming sounds marvelous! Thanks for the nice review Clarence!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:00 AM
This is really very well done. The vocals, the jazzy feel, the mixing, the smooth sound of the instruments, and the melodies all impress. It’s really remarkable that you accomplished all this in the short time frame of a secret mixter setting. I like this kind of jazz-pop setting for a song very well. The mixing skill you brought to this one really stands out.

To have any suggestions about the mix is almost irreverent, as I could not have created this mix if I worked for months. But I’ll still offer these couple of things that I thought as I listened. I liked that the initial appearance of the female vocal came in panned a bit to one side, but I thought it would have sounded a bit better if it had
been only mostly panned to one side with some on the other side (maybe a second track with a slight pan left to accompany the first track with the strong pan right). Also, some of the “sing it” refrains might have sounded even better with the horn underlay punched on each “sing it!” Those are just matters of taste, though, and do not affect the solid quality of the mix.

You’ve really developed into a great mixter—this is fabulous work.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:23 PM
I really appreciate your thoughtful and detailed comments. I definitely wanted to do more with horns but had a hard time finding the right samples, particularly in light of the fact that my time was so limited for this go-round. I seem to often have panning issues — I don’t know if I’m not hearing it, or perhaps there’s an issue with my gear so it’s not pronounced as I mix… I need to be mindful of that. And thanks for your encouraging words.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Nov 14, 2010 @ 6:12 AM
What you did was so very good I feel a little badly in retrospect for saying anything in the way of a suggestion.

My goal this year is to finally get some “real” headphones, as I want to hear better what I do.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:05 AM
Jazzy, sexy and cool. GON vocals are always 100% on point and your Vocals shine just a bright.
Your productions is flawless.
I love this mix SJ. Putting this one in my Ipod.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:25 PM
Thank you so much Jay! GON is amazing! Not only is his tone and phrasing so fabulous, his timing is perfect. This was my first attempt mixing a melodic pell, and the fact that he is so accurate helped get me through.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 9:32 AM
For me there is a direct and strong connection between ‘mixing and cooking and love. Sackjo embodies the connections with this track.

So mellow and natural, nothing else matters. Just “Sing-it” Yum…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:27 PM
Quote: spinningmerkabaFor me there is a direct and strong connection between ‘mixing and cooking and love. ..

I love your analogy! Quite apt coming from a mixin’/cookin’/lovin’ man. Thanks for the sweet words.
vo1k1
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:30 PM
This is really charming! It has such a live, adhoc, recorded after dinner feeling. Makes me smile!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:28 PM
It makes me smile to think that my track making you smile! Thanks for listening and sharing that with me. I really appreciate it.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 10:29 PM
What some people can come up with in two weeks, given all the limitations imposed by jobs and health issues. Amazing! What an excellent vibe this track has. This is probably one of my favourite remixes from you.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:30 PM
Wow! I appreciate your review so much.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:30 PM
Wow! I appreciate your review so much.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 6:07 AM
Oh, Susan. Another great example of your incomparable talent to create such jauntily great music. Excellent!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 7:30 PM
I don’t know that I deserve such praise, but I’m sure happy to hear you enjoyed the track! Thanks Donnie!
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 19, 2010 @ 4:29 PM
Well, if you were actually nervous when you put this together it doesn’t show, you weaved these stems together like a pro. (sorry that rhymed). It makes me feel like Im in California for some reason. Hard to explain. Great production!
HEJ31
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 6, 2010 @ 5:01 PM
Whoa, a month has passed and I forget to say how great this is. The guitar part was simple, but your ideas and how this was put together are terrific. Cool bass playing…and vocals too!
SmoJos
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 9, 2012 @ 3:35 PM