Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "THIS IS OUR MUSIC (Thruewiddit mix)"

THIS IS OUR MUSIC (Thruewiddi...
by duckett
Recommends (55)
Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 8:38 PM
This upload might be Not Safe For Work
 
FORENSIC
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 9:57 PM
yooooo!!!! that is so tight… I think you put just enough in there.. deffinately in my playlist.. nice mix..
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 10:04 PM
Thanks! I was going for something kinda gritty, but still agile, with some thump where it counts ;-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 4:02 AM
From the very beginning till the end I found myself nodding my head and producing some self made beatbox noises of silly sort.
If tracks can cause this on me, there must be something great going on! :-)
I probably would have added bass and a key on it, but this is your mix and not mine, but this is an inspiring track, yo man!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 5:01 PM
Thanks Joe! I almost did add some more, but was afraid it would make it too busy.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 6:42 AM
Yeah this is really cool D
your tracks always intrigue me to try something similar but i always stay on the listening part he,he!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 5:05 PM
Thanks George- glad my stuff can get a pro inspired ;-)
Lasswell
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 12:30 PM
nice work Duckett!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 5:09 PM
Thanks Lasswell! Nice to hear, from the mind behind “BeeKoo” ;-)
vo1k1
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 3:25 PM
Kudos to you for letting the beats and sfx stand on their own (which they do!) - the stark results are powerful and arresting (also *inspiring* to me as I am in a overdoing it state). Some of the production elements really stand out, given the stark presentation. In particular, I very much like the space (front to back, low to high) that the instrumentation is given. *And* the width on the syn bass line is awesome.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 5:13 PM
Thanks! Yes, I tried to keep things fairly delineated EQ- and stereo-wise, and that Bill Berry sample was begging for a phaser :-)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 4:45 PM
that’s one freakin’ awesome head nodder / toe tapper - what a great feel!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 5:17 PM
Thanks Spin! The key to this one for me was “Never just accept your software’s decision as to how clips should sync”, heh.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 9:02 PM
Since coming to this site I have listened a little more closely to all this hip hop, rap stuff when it comes on the radio and I can see why some of the great performers of this genre are held in such high esteem.

It seems an easy thing to do to put a bunch of beats together and slap on top an expletive riddled vox.

Its not and this mix stands out here as an example of what a really good piece should sound like.

It even made me put my baseball cap on backwards!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 10:53 AM
Thanks RT- you’ll be rocking a four-finger ring before you know it ;-)
AT
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 28, 2008 @ 10:01 PM
You got everyone nodding their heads! really enjoyable Duckett and so very well done. I think it has everything it needs. Congrats on the Ed pick.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 11:02 AM
Than- …Huh? “Ed Pick”? Hold on
Holy s—t, you’re RIGHT! WOO-HOO!(shakes head to clear it)
Um, anyway, like I was saying…
Thanks AT!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 2:15 AM
so much to dig in this mix. rich and intense. and you nail the vocals. in my headphones, this sounds so huge.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 11:06 AM
“Rich and intense”… Well, at least my remix got 2 out of 2; I doubt I’ll ever nail that first one myself ;-) Thanks MCJITB!
KCentric
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 8:26 AM
duck man you NAILED this dude!

I love it when the music takes the vocals to another place. TIGHT WORK!

(sonically great mix too.)

Props,
-k
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 11:09 AM
Thanks k!
I’ll be tackling some of yours again shortly (though I do like that SOL remix).
shagrugge
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 10:10 AM
ill duckman, seriously ill…

Megatron commanded

“Contructicons build some energon beats!”

The decepticons dropped ravage in soundwave’s tape deck and blasted this piece.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 11:20 AM
Thanks for the big-smile-inducing review! Soundwave used to be my favorite Transformer…
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 10:40 AM
Whoooooaa!!!!!!!!!
BANGER, HEAD NOD, & A ED PICK fo sho….
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 11:22 AM
Thanks J- I’m still surprised at the Ed Pick; but I’m not complaining, mind you!
beckfords
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 5:19 PM
firstly and serenely ”welldone and well deserved on the ed pick” secondly DAAAAAAAAAAMN!!!!THAT SHIZZNETT IS HOT!!!you done more than justice on forensics spits..bangin,noddin,brilliant..now unplug yerself from that beat building matrix thingy of yours,sit back with a nice cuppa tea an have a listen back ..tiz more than fine duckster..peace!
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Jun 29, 2008 @ 7:51 PM
Why, I do believe I shall, sir…
Aaaahhh. …Yes, very nice indeed…
onlymeith
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 2, 2008 @ 2:50 PM
This is your music. That characteristic deep sound of your songs. As always, I like.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Jul 2, 2008 @ 3:24 PM
Always welcome news OM, Thanks!
Clarance Boddyker
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ 3:14 AM
HOLY PLUCKY DUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fits the pell so effortlessly, real sinister groove, the minimalist elements, percussion approach met with the menacing and melodic bass pays off like a weed raffle held at the plaboy mansion.

This track is absolutely bulletproof. Unique and original style of rap music.
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ 10:52 AM
Thanks CB- I gotta tell ya, I like the track too, but the Ed Pick and all the Recommends have been a real (nice) surprise!
shimoda
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ 6:01 PM
Duckman, it’s been a while since I’ve been able to give time to cc, mixing or listening. This is a sure download! Dipped in sugar, rolled in chocolate, topped in ice cream and electroplated with funk, this is a swingin little ditty. Did I just say ditty? Sheez ya I ditt. Straight up slammin D!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ 6:08 PM
Thanks, glad you had some spare time ;-)
Mband
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 4, 2008 @ 10:02 PM
Totally original sound. Very very nice.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Jul 5, 2008 @ 2:21 AM
“Totally original sound”- what great words to hear. Thanks Mband!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 12:50 PM
I have already listened to this one earlier, but somehow managed not to comment on it, let alone hit the recommends button. I know, I am a bad bad boy. Normally not my cup of tea (Big Fish and DJ On Break are more my thing), but I like the way this song is so rhythm-driven. Who needs melodies and chords when you have a good rhythm? (That’s a rhetorical question ofcourse.)
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 1:21 PM
Thanks! Always nice to see a “I usually don’t like this stuff, but…”-type of review; I love luring listeners into areas they might not dive into themselves ;-)
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 1:13 PM
Arriving (fashionably, of course) late to this rather serious party - 30 recs? holy mackeral, oh yea… and the ed pick … can’t ignore this one :-). I really admire the way you constructed this, very very skillful. I also love the vocal production, it sits perfectly in my ears on my headphones, the computer speakers really didn’t do it justice.

You know sometimes the high and mighty in these parts speak less than kindly of loopers, etc, but to combine a set of samples in this fashion is as good as building all your beats from scratch, and I didn’t miss the chords either ;-). Nice one Mr. Duck.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 1:27 PM
Thanks- better late than never ;-)
I enjoy growing a drumkit from sampling my empty milk jug, etc. as much as anyone, but I love digging around and tossing found sounds against each other too…
agentengram
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 17, 2008 @ 9:20 PM
super duper hard steppa. I love the riffs, and of course as always a love to fight you even though you always really won.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Sep 8, 2008 @ 2:23 AM
Sorry it took so long to reply, but lemme say we ALL win in these kinda fights ;-)
Now if only some of my gear wasn’t in a coma…
The Big Beat Manifesto
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 5:31 AM
man this is sweet, i could watch that duck picture bop to this all day
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Mar 27, 2009 @ 2:43 PM
Maybe I’m a few months late, but… thanks for the kind words!
NotSoMuch
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 27, 2009 @ 12:40 PM
Definitely got me bouncing my feet.
Not only is the instrumental part catchy, but the vocals fit nicely and I can relate to the lyrics so that’s a plus.
Basically, awesome mix!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Mar 27, 2009 @ 2:44 PM
Thanks, glad to have inspired your 1st review!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 4, 2009 @ 10:43 AM
Thanks to The Hook I was lured right into this oh so tasty groove fest! Loved it!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Sep 4, 2009 @ 2:55 PM
I’m certainly grateful for a little Hook-love for an older track I’m proud of; thanks!