Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter--Sign Up
skip

Reviews for "My Dream of Flight"

My Dream of Flight
by wellman
Recommends (45)
Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:28 AM
 
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:47 AM
Wellman-
she has a beautiful vocal presence…wonderful supporting music you created too!
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:58 AM
Thanks Anchor! You are right… Queenie has a very sweet and beautiful voice….
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:28 PM
This is fantastic! I love the chords you chose and the overall vibe of the piece. Well done!
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 1:04 PM
Thanks! The chords progression are actually queenie’s I just added some harmony notes in the bass line and the strings part.. but thanks for mention it and for the review!!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:50 PM
I can see that you enjoy with qeenie´s voice. I also enjoy with your mix. I like.
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 3:30 PM
Ohh yeah I heard ur mix of one of queenie’s song and it seems to me u enjoyed working with her….

Thanks for the comment.
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:55 PM
music, production & vocal presence are excellent on this. very pretty song, too.
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 4:40 PM
Yeah Queenie voice is very pretty and strong..
mullion
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 4:05 PM
Even with a quite busy beat you’ve preserved a nice ambient feeling in the mix - that’s well done. The over all production is of really good quality - great mix!
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 4:38 PM
Thanks Mullion!

I tried to make a mix u would like to listen not matter if u were in ur bed or driving…
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 5:52 PM
New age pop. Nice. I like how you’ve envisioned your mix. Starts slow and then it took off. I can see the music video: Lady in a flowing dress stands at the edge of a cliff. Then the ground disappears into twinkly bits but she soars into the sky (cheesy, but that’s how I’d see it). Oh, and thanks to you I discovered Queenie’s vocals.
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:42 PM
Hey Ivan!!! hehehe like what u said about the video! But actually while I was working with this pella I was thinking about one of the characters of my “rightnow” favorite tv show: Heroes, Nathan Petrelli. He can fly.. and I have always dream about being able to fly
 
.
permalink   queeniemusic Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 10:50 AM
Awesome idea for a video!
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:02 PM
Really nice matching to the lyrics/vox, great dynamics
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:43 PM
Hey D!! Thanks for reviewing!

Where were u man?
K_James
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:12 PM
Showcases the vocals beautifully, and soars! Very nice!
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 10:31 PM
Nice moves wellman.
I quite like blowing a bit of wind up enya’s skirt with those drums.
Well considered choice of light and shade moments in this mix.
PS I also have regular flying dreams; I flap my arms like some sort of Icarus heading for the sun then wake up on the floor :0
 
.
permalink   wellman Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 8:09 AM
Thanks Mr. S!!! And is really nice to know there are others like me that still dream about flying. One of the experiences I have most enjoyed in my short life, are plane although I know many ppl are afraid of planes
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 4:21 AM
There’s a hymn-like quality to life. It all strikes one, sometimes, like an 18th Century burst of enthusiasm.
Why is that butterfly so blue? Why is that sky so gray? Why is the word “enchante’” so vivid? Dreams of Heaven, songs of praise.

Sometimes, though, the news gets a
really apocalyptic turn, as if the grace-and-goodness of the “hymnody” is afflicted by the some odd “dual construct”, magnetic plus and magnetic negative.

This sends everyone back to the labs, as the great promise of post-Newtonian physics was that, if one just had a broad enough view, one might escape being beaned with the apple.

A remix like this is like a kind of universal grace, without the necessity for all those rocket launchers and visions of Hell.

The backing chords surround the the voice just as they should, and the beats and rhytm fit the piece nicely.

In my dreams, I am on a prairie, with dark skies and massively high, but soothing winds. I gradually begin to lift off. Then I lift off consistently. Soon, I am riding the air, slowly, lowly, but flying.

Very nice synth-and-strings retro-electro mix. This could play in any dance club. If it did, I’d want to dance to it.
 
.
permalink   wellman Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
Quote: GurdonarkThere’s a hymn-like quality to life. It all strikes one, sometimes, like an 18th Century burst of enthusiasm.
Why is that butterfly so blue? Why is that sky so gray? Why is the word “enchante’” so vivid? Dreams of Heaven, songs of praise….


First of all, thanks for ur lovely words Gurdonak. I would really like to know more english to answer as u deserve.

Would like to say the Queenie has a lot of credit because of her really nice voice, and original idea. She is writing a novel and writing music based on that novel too.

Again, thanks for ur words.
 
.
permalink   queeniemusic Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 3:07 PM
Dear Gurdonark, this is one of the most interesting comments on music I’ve ever read by far. I’m flattered that I had anything to do with it! It’s a wonderful remix.
kiddk8
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 8:53 AM
Hi wellman. I agree with the majority of people I think when I say the queenie has a pretty voice and it’s a nice vocal. You have put some terrific instrumentation with it. It sounds as if it was created this way from the start since the musical transitions and arrangement match the vocals so well. I’m loving the drive behind the groove while still maintaining the dreamy, ambient aspects. Nice1~
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 9:41 AM
Nice mix . I would have liked you to explore the chords a little as i think these are pretty close if not the same as the original but she does make a pretty sound and you have produced it nicely.
 
.
permalink   wellman Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 10:09 AM
LS,

Yeah u are right. The chords are almost the same that in Queenie’s original version. I just added some harmonics notes in the bass and string lines. I liked Queenie’s idea so much that I just decided to add some new elements to a song that was beautiful already :-) THanks for your review, I think u are a very talented musician and I follow most of ur work here in ccmixter.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 12:55 PM
WOW, just like everyone else has stated, this is great!!!!!!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:03 PM
Aye Aye, wellman’s got a new one and it was certainly worth the wait. Seems like a popular track too so thats good.

I like it all (especially those pads supporting just the vox at the beginning). Nicely done squire!

Looking forward to hearing more from you.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 4:04 PM
My final review for today and I didn_t wanted to miss to review your remix. First I had to become familiar with this high vocals, but you turned this into a nice radio ready version where it would be worth to be played.

It has softness but a t the same time some dancefloor quality.

I think (and as a few other mentioned) with some little overworks here and there (chords?)and to let the intro a little longer (no drums from 0:29 till 0:55 as an arrangemnet idea) it would be placed in radio!!But this is just my 2 cents.. ;-)
Sr. Privado
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 6:30 PM
So beautiful…