Listen to Hidden Treasures Remixes!
skip
Home » People » Lasswell » Dig Deep Mix » Reviews

Reviews for "Dig Deep Mix"

Dig Deep Mix
by Lasswell
Recommends (49)
Mon, Jul 7, 2008 @ 4:39 PM
 
oldDog
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 7, 2008 @ 5:00 PM
Frighteningly good, and effortlessly combines at least three genres into a seamless whole.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:35 PM
Thanks oldDog. Very kind of you. : )
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 7, 2008 @ 6:16 PM
Well, it doesn’t sound rushed to me; real warm smooth sound.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:40 PM
Thanks Duckett!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 1:10 AM
yeah, great combination and arrangement, fantastic production.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:41 PM
I appreciated the positive feedback MC.
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:10 PM
just wanted to add that your contributions have been significant here, and hope you don’t go away forever. but if that’s the case, best of luck!
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 4:38 AM
I had two thoughts when I saw this mix was posted, first “how nice” and second, “I hope his eyes are better.”

To the review: I am very limited in my knowledge and understanding of rap and hip hop music, but your stuff always makes we want to listen to more, while media impressions of the culture do not. I may be the choice of the pellas or the skill and refinement you bring to remixing them but this stuff is just fantastic.

I love the juxtaposition of KT’s vocal into this, it works really well. Fantastic job as always….sigh :-).
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:46 PM
Well, the eyes aren’t really better. Still wearing the bottle bottoms. I’ve also been diagnosed with dry eye. I’m on medication for that. I can’t get Lasik if I hve dry eye so it may be glasses from here on out. Yuck!

So thanks for your kind words. I wonder what L-D would say about this? I think I have an idea…. : (
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 5:18 AM
Always something to learn from your mixes Lass at least for me :D
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:40 PM
I think there’s definitely something to learn from your mixes. They’re the cleanest and most pristine here in my opinion! : -)
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 10:08 AM
Hey now. Very nice instrumentals. Crisp beat and really good sound choices - never overpowers the vocals. Great stuff.

For my taste I would have gone with something like a Trifonic vocal instead, but have to give you kudos for taking the road less traveled in this combination.

Nice, nice work.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:42 PM
Thanks Colab. I know you have a little different taste in hip hop than I do so I appreciate your comments!
Songboy3
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:12 PM
This is how I know cats like you & Loveshadows are “One Step Beyond” most folks: you post a riducously dope joint using great vocal and sample choices, mixing it with your own fantastic musical abilities then apologize for it not being ‘professional enough’ or something to that effect. Geez! We ALL need such problems! Such humility can only show that this is off the chain! I love the sound of it, the context of Forensic’s voice with Kaer’s torch siren tonality and you are never NOT funky! I’m looking so forward to working with you in the future! It’s gonna be as crazy or better that the hotness you’ve already created!!!!
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:38 PM
Well Geez, thanks Songboy and all those above. I’m glad you all seem to like it. Brings a little sunshine in to my life. : )
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 4:27 PM
I am thrilled, as you know, to be a part of this coolness. As I mentioned as well, this raises my hipness factor in a life where it is plummeting at top speed:)))
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 2:58 AM
Kaer, I love the tonality of your voice. There is something about this vocal section that reminds me of a Bond movie. Hope your son thinks your more hip now! ; )
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 7:49 PM
Man! This fits together like a puzzle - I was originally going to say how much I liked the keys, then I had to say how well the drums fit with them, and then the vocals came in…this is something else. Awesome!
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 3:00 AM
Thanks!
narva9
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 11:55 PM
Fantastic. So very smooth. I really loved your balance between the rap and the vocals.

Superb.

n9
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 3:01 AM
Much appreciated! Thanks.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 6:39 AM
Sad but also good news from/for you!

You are one of the very pro here and I am glad that your career may turn into a positive way. For me it_s not a superficial thing to think on one-s income. Your honest words about it do touch!

Wishing you good bettering for your eyes (I know this problem :-( ) and hopefully this issue never will attack your EARS!

We will miss tracks like this from you!

Good luck for your future!:-)
Doghouse Riley
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 9:35 AM
Ah, the voice of reason. It’s a nasty ol thang ain’t it Cam? I shore hope you’ll stay in touch with yor ol pal, Doghouse and maybe even ever so often find the time ta put somethin else up. You, ol pal, are what as known as a benchmark, a bellweather. It just don’t get no better. Vaya Con Dios.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 2:41 AM
Well Dog, you are one talented mo fo. I remember when I heard your (I think) first mix at RW and the incredibly humorous intro with the man trying to settle all the monkeys down. Then the music came. You’re pure pro!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 4:06 PM
I want to cry and laugh at the same time. The tears for obvious reasons: will terribly miss hearing new work from you so easily accessible.

The joy is from the fact, that you have decided to get more serious about the revenue generating aspects of your amazing talent and skill.

If there’s ever anything of your future endeavors which can be purchased or listened to, please, please let me know! I couldn’t stand the thought, that you might be making wonderful music out there somewhere and I wouldn’t get to hear it.

Now go and get’em!!!

/spin

p.s. Don’t fear the glasses %-)
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 2:39 AM
Hey Spin. Thanks so much. By the way I still have that mix of yours that I was working on but I just wasn’t able to get it right…so far. Maybe the day will come when I can get it right. You’ve always been a source of inspiration and support. Cheers!
Scomber
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 6:59 PM
Although I’m quite new this terrific site, your mixes stand out with a sophisticated sensibility that raises the hairs on my neck.
I will miss your subtle mix of chill with just about every other genre known to man.
Good luck in the future, I’m sure its already mapped out for you mate.
Scomber
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 2:41 AM
You’re very kind Scomber. Thank you.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 8:08 PM
It’s one year and five days since you put your first mix on here and about three years since i heard your stuff at Realworld.

In that time, for me, you have never made a musical mistake and have created a body of work on the net and especially here on CC mixter that’s worthy of an album just on their own.

You get instant support from strangers , as these comments prove , because there is something unique in your style of composition and playing. They don’t know quite what it is but they can hear it

It’s a tough old planet, no guarantees ,last man standing , all that kind shit, but i pray someone else hears it soon.

And for what its worth i would have Ed picked the lot !
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 2:49 AM
Well Mr. Shadow. As far as I’m concerned, you’re pretty much da King (is that how L-D would have said it?)! Your the first guy that noticed me at RW and gave me hope. Then L-D came along. No more words necessary. Like everyone else here I am amazed at your capability to pump out first class mixes at a turbo charged pace. We’re all just plain dumbfounded!

I kind of feel odd about my posting my “departure” from cc because it kind of makes me feel like I’m trying to get some sort of response out of everyone here. It’s not about that it’s just that I really need to focus more on money generating material. I have spent quite a bit of my free time working on remixes here and I’ve loved every single minute of it but it doesn’t help the bank account. I really need to work on material that might get place in tv shows or multimedia applications etc.. I’ve been lazy for far too long. Time to get my ass in gear so to speak.

Shadow…you are the standard.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Mon, Nov 9, 2009 @ 2:47 PM
Still Outstanding !
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 9:38 PM
It’s one of those clubs that could easily be an auditorium, if it weren’t for the clinks of vodka-in-glasses, and the way that the speakers are stacked more like a club than like a concert hall.

People in the chairs are bobbing along, not that odd bobble-head bob, but the knowing nod of people who know they have come to the right place, gentle, rhythmic, ready.

On the fringes, people walk outside for a cigarette, inside for a dance, and roundabout just because it’s so nice to feel the moist air when the breeze blows through the windows.

It’s a tropical kind of night, with air vents blowing freezing cold air as if there were endless fuel, but everyone feels suffused with an inner body heat setting off the most delectable, thoughtful chill.

When the horns sound, fingers twirl, as if they thought of snapping, but things were just too smooth for the excess percussion.

The mixing board, the synth-strings pouring out smooth, the casual retreat, the sense of relief that comes from the cessation of joy, and the anticipation of joy to come.
 
.
permalink   Lasswell Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 2:56 AM
Beautiful words Gurdonark. Thank you!

Your concluding words about hope ring true to me. I’m sure many have noticed that my entire sound has a melancholy vibe to it. Some define “melancholy” as sad but to me it is far more profound. To me it is about a sense of longing and fulfilling a dream.

Maybe that’s why I love Chopin and The Carpenters so much. Minor keys speak to me.

Cheers
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 12:20 PM
you’ve only just begun…. :)

(sorry, couldn’t resist. good luck!)
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2008 @ 3:30 AM
Excellent..! A radio hit..sure..!
fourstones
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2008 @ 3:16 PM
sigh.

It’s heartbreaking for so many reasons to see you take a break (allow me the space to be in denial about the permanence of your leave). Of course the reasons for the heartbreak are all selfish because for you, forward motion is nothing but goodness and everybody on the site wishes you nothing but happiness and success.
FORENSIC
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2008 @ 4:30 PM
this is so sick……
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 14, 2008 @ 8:24 PM
First let me say, Great Mix/Production. Your remixes will always be a source of great inspiration. Like many other on this site, i will miss hearing your remixes.
Like yourself i’ve been chasing that dollar as of lately, but i always find my way back to ccMixter. I hope we have the pleasure of hearing from you again. Good luck.

A fan
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 10, 2008 @ 7:29 AM
This just works on so many levels. Wow, an absolutely great track.
Mahadin
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 18, 2008 @ 1:14 AM
Love it! Sad it’s your last track here. But you left us an impressive and diverse musical set, so I consider us lucky….
Victor Frost
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2012 @ 2:46 AM
A fantastically smooth beat with a rap to match. If you like this, you’d like the artist Nujabes.

By the by, I know it’s more than four years after the fact, but I’d be please as punch to see an instrumental version of this.
Rizkey G
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 8, 2012 @ 5:37 AM
Chill My ASS!! oh yeah sweet as a rap mo fo ! ;-)