Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "White Cube Beat Boxing"

White Cube Beat Boxing
by Tenny
Recommends (30)
Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 4:55 PM

Uses samples from:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 6:43 PM
freaking brilliant! You’ve just taken this “assignment” to the next level!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:45 AM
Thanks spin, you’re too kind. As I was building this song I was really starting with a slightly different in mind, however in just following the flow of SackJo22’s vocal rhythms the song somewhat too control of the direction. I am super pleased with the end result.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 8:32 PM
I agree with Spin — this is absolutely brilliant! A great example of deconstruction and re-construction that is central to the theme of the exhibition. Great job Tenny!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 5:36 AM
Bet you didn’t know you were such a great beat boxer ;) Thanks for providing such great inspiration for this song.
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 10:26 PM
Yep- not to this intricate degree, but I did something similar on a “Szerelem” remix… awesome work!
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 10:37 PM
ok kanye ;)
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:06 AM
LOL!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:46 AM
ok I gotta admit I laughed too.. What makes it even funnier is within second of the whole Kanye thing happening I ended up buying the domain imreallyhappyforyou.com
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:48 AM
Thanks Duckett! I am so happy you like it. I don’t recall ever having listened to your Szerelem mix before today, but totally see what you mean about using vocals to build the track up. Either way thanks for the kind word.
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 10:31 PM
Good Job, Tenny!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:49 AM
Thanks Per!! Glad you enjoyed it.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 11, 2009 @ 10:36 PM
yeah, excellent idea and execution. cool too!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:51 AM
Thanks Jack! I am humbled by your appreciation of my mix. Having listened to everyone of your podcasts I am a big fan of yours!
error404
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 4:58 AM
Simply brilliant … amazed ..
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 5:33 AM
Thanks 404, glad you enjoyed it!!
 
.
permalink   error404 Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 9:41 AM
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 12, 2009 @ 11:37 AM
it’s alive, alive i tell you. brilliant cuts to get the samples to rock like that. textbook perfection, done with a whole lot of heart. 348 ’s.
 
.
permalink   Tenny Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:22 AM
Thanks for the kind words Panu! It does have an all chopped-up Frankenstein-ish quality to it, doesn’t it… Super happy that you like it
shagrugge
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 3:45 AM
the 5th and often forgotten element, thanks for the reminder
 
.
permalink   Tenny Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:23 AM
I was going for something a little different on this one, so glad I was able to accomplish it.
wellman
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 5:56 AM
My Gosh Tenny!! You are the man!!! my whole Head Explod with this! Hey for learning purposes would u upload the .rns file? I have never do that and would like to see how to do it…
 
.
permalink   Tenny Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 7:39 AM
Thank you very much for the positive review! I really wanted that “my whole head explodes” sample to be the corner stone of the track as soon as I heard it. I have uploaded the RPS of the track so you can check it out if interested. You can find the download in the Details of the song above.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 1:57 PM
Tenny, this is absolutely incredible! A stunning take on The White Cube. xxxx
 
.
permalink   Tenny Fri, Nov 13, 2009 @ 2:32 PM
Awe Mo, thank you so much for the kind feedback! :)
morgantj
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 7:52 AM
Excellent work! very impressive. Flawless.
 
.
permalink   Tenny Sat, Nov 14, 2009 @ 8:50 PM
Thanks, I appreciate the kind feedback Travis!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 15, 2009 @ 3:03 PM
Amazing !!!!
Ok, I take it that you did it with recycle first, and then chopped it and created a rex file. Placed the rex in Dr. Rex. Amazing!!!!!! I love this.

 
.
permalink   Tenny Sun, Nov 15, 2009 @ 3:25 PM
thanks J! Yep you got it exactly right: I started by bringing the vocal into Recycle. I originally planned to just chop it to take out some of the breathing between verses, but found so many little bits and pieces that about 20% of the way through I just focused on chops I liked and wanted to use. From there I loaded into a single rex and started playing the various parts on keys. To make it more rich I used a splitter and EQed a dry, wet and compressed channel. The RPS is included as a link in the song properties above if your interested in checking it out. I included the rex in the file.

Thanks again for the review!
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 22, 2009 @ 9:07 PM
Extremely cool.