Listen to Break the Silence Remixes
skip

Reviews for "Eve (single edit)"

Eve (single edit)
by Subliminal
Recommends (19)
Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 1:14 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 1:41 PM
Amazing Sub. A quality thriller soundtrack piece if ever I heard one. The production value of this is excellent. You should be very proud of this
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:34 AM
Thanks very much, Scott. I almost did not upload it, because I had quite a lot of problems exporting the project due to me working on a crappy notebook.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 2:16 PM
We’re brought into the piece with a drone pad which ascends into voices from an afterlife based less on merit than on grace.

The pad swells, and backing noises allow us to realize that in this very scientific other-worldly place, there is room for all sound, and all sound fills the room as if each room were a room in a cybernetic mansion.

I hear the yawn of a large speaker, which bears not the brand Marshall or Yamaha, but instead the Icelandic brand Seraphim.

From the walls a steam oozes, misty and effervescent, as if the room were a constant northern rainforest, chill and yet encouraging.

I see a helix in mid-air, spinning like string-art in shimmering colors, now blue, now red, now aquamarine. It begins to rotate, as if it were the wheel which guides the horsehead nebula. I blink, and it vanishes. I blink again,and I vanish.

I say that I vanish, because I have re-materialized in a room of self-directed string instruments and silence. I do not understand what I have seen. I do not know where I have been. I only know I want to go back.

heavenly mix.
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 2:49 PM


Stellar review. Absolutely fantastic.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:24 PM
Thanks, and greetings from 70 degree weather in Texas :)
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:28 PM
Ok so now I hate you for your weather and your writing ability (laughs)…
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:08 PM
So members of the jury let me summarise our case …..

I see a helix in mid-air, spinning like string-art in shimmering colors, now blue, now red, now aquamarine. It begins to rotate, as if it were the wheel which guides the horsehead nebula. I blink, and it vanishes. I blink again,and I vanish.’

….and with that the defense rests… court is in recess for two hours.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:24 PM
thank you very much for giving me a chuckle.

To quote a better lawyer than I am:
“I have suffered from being misunderstood, but I would have suffered a hell of a lot more if I had been understood”—clarence darrow
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:24 PM
eloquently put Gurdonark
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:25 PM
Thank you for your kindness.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:36 AM
Wow, that’s quite a review. Is there a way to recommend a review? Well, I guess this has to do. Thanks!
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 2:43 PM
Ok so it’s irritating writing a review after Gurdonark :-). He did a fine job describing the mood :-).

This is a perfect soundtrack for a cold winter day (which we are having). I am honored to be part of it, even though I don’t know where I am. I must try time stretching my own voice. I never thought to do that.

It’s funny I just started working on a mix that is going in the ethereal direction but you’ve done such a nice job maybe I’ll do something else.

I mentioned on someone else’s mix how much I love Kitka so it’s an extra honor to be mixed with them.

Thanks for including me here. I’ll give the extended version a listen. When I click the link it launches in Quicktime on my computer. Is there another way I can get to it so I could play it through my Windows Media Player? Drop me an e-mail and let me know if you can. Thanks.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:53 AM
Thanks! (I have sent you a mail.)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:02 PM
Execeptional .

Do I hear old stretch working in there.?
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:56 AM
Yep, that’s good old Paul’s stretch tool, for the ‘single’ edit also used in shorten mode.

Thanks!
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 3, 2009 @ 4:19 PM
Dear Sub -
This is one of the most mesmerizing and evocative pieces you have ever made (at least those of which I have heard among your bevy of excellent offerings). It has beauty and solemnity both and definitely steps over into the Art of Sound. Loved it.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 3:03 AM
Most of my recent stuff can be found here at ccmixter, so you probably haven’t missed a thing. Thanks for your continuing support.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:25 AM
Under the skin stuff here.

Great textures used in just the right amounts that make this soundscape very special.

Well done!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 3:05 AM
Thank you very much. Your review is very much appreciated.
mullion
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 9:38 AM
I normally regard a soundscapes quality from how it supports the context of a second main part i.e. picture, movie or spoken word. This piece, however, creates its own context in all its musicality.
I support all that’s said by Gurdonark and I’m sure Arvo Paert would love this piece, just like I do.

It’s fantastic!!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 10:09 AM
Thanks! Well, maybe it will find it’s way to a second main part. That would be nice.
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 1:21 PM
Ohhhhmmmm…. I have attained Shavasana :-)

Thank you

n9
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 10:12 AM
Thank you. As long as it serves a purpose. :-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:43 PM
If S.Kubrik would have produced another “2001-Odyssee in Space”, he probably would have choosen this track. Very cinematic, very spacy, in summary …very cool. Not easy to combine so much textures, let them stay and develop etc., but you did a fine job here!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 10:17 AM
These kind of pieces practically come together of their own account. I only tweak the odd bit so I have the impression that I had anything to do with the result. Thanks for stopping by. What about a new The Joe track?
synthetic1
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 12:02 AM
Most excellent track, has the feeling of a frosty Winter’s eve with city lights twinkling off in the distance.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 10:19 AM
Hi there Steve. To be honest, this one is partly inspired by your wonderful Another Winter EP. So, double thanks there!
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 8:30 AM
Im agree with the Joe… this sounds to me like a great cinematic composition! Very subtle indeed!!!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 10:20 AM
Thanks Wellman. Now it only needs a movie to accompany it. ;-)
 
.
permalink   wellman Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 6:36 AM
I have some videos of me when I was 2 years old… would that work? :p
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 8:22 AM
He he he…rock’n’roll man, rock’n’roll!
AT
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 5, 2009 @ 8:06 PM
brilliant bit of work—-you said of my last that its something that you would have liked to have done, well Im going to say the same to you but I fear I would not have the “touch” that is required. lots of thought put into this I think. I’ll stop by your place an listen to the other but this is very nice indeed.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 8:24 AM
I doubt that you wouldn’t be able to come up with something like this, but thanks for the compliment!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 3:52 PM
now that’s what i call chill!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 11:23 AM
Like the weather at the moment. ;-) Thanks!
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 27, 2009 @ 6:26 AM
like a good single malt
an edit such as this
has no froth
only depth
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

oh yeah
thanks!
jb
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Feb 27, 2009 @ 8:41 AM
Nice! Thanks again for using my stuff.
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Fri, Mar 6, 2009 @ 1:55 PM
themethodmostused
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 6:08 PM
Im not one with to many words so…I love it! Fantastic!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Tue, Jun 23, 2009 @ 8:58 AM
Thanks! Always nice to read that something is appreciated by someone months after uploading.