Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip
Home » People » duckett » Secrets » Reviews

Reviews for "Secrets"

Secrets
by duckett
Recommends (28)
Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 4:45 PM

Uses samples from:

 
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 8:31 PM
Oh brother.

You know I would point out issues with the track. That’s just who I am - can’t help it. But I love it.

Yes I do. It’s very excellent. And I would change exactly nothing.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 9:43 PM
Thanks- I opted to leave the rough spots in, instead of trying for the “perfect take”… glad to have some approval ;-)
 
.
permalink   colab Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 12:52 PM
Quote: duckettThanks- I opted to leave the rough spots in, instead of trying for the “perfect take”… glad to have some approval ;-)
Hey. I was just listening through my playlist and came across this one again. Would you ever consider uploading the vocals, or is that off-limits to ask? :)
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 1:01 PM
No, certainly not off-limits… I just have to check the ol’ hard drive and make sure I still have the pella file somewhere; if I do, I’ll upload it
khidir
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 9:39 PM
Great work here. Your singing is pretty much flawless, and I like the falsettos. (I think bono himself would be proud too) I’d like to hear more of your singing!
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 9:51 PM
Much thanks here- as I’ve said before in other replies, the orignal artist’s opinion means a little bit extra to me, since it’s their baby I’ve chosen to incorporate into whatever I’ve uploaded… I’m certainly happy you like where your music inspired me to go, although honestly I would’ve liked a more professional singer to take the overall idea, and do it better justice- Thanks again for the recommend and the kind words :-)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 10:28 PM
this is seriously bad ass dude. i mean seriously bad ass. so serious i had to say it twice.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Oct 13, 2008 @ 10:40 PM
Um, wow? Muchas gracias for the kudos, it means a lot!
mullion
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 4:02 AM
Thumbs up for your voice, the chosen melodic line, and your trusted friend

Great work!
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 5:47 AM
Thanks! Some risks are worth taking, I guess ;-)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 4:34 AM
Excellent work and the vocal is all the better for its rawness which to be honest is far better than a lot of professional stuff I hear.

The emotion you put over is tingling stuff and something pretty special.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 5:54 AM
Thanks RT- you’ve uploaded some pretty moving vox yourself, so those are nice words to hear (read?)…
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 4:40 AM
Sir Duckett
I am happy to be the partial inspiration for anything actually…
But your song stands alone…the lyrics are beautiful and I didn’t know you could sing like that either!
Very nice work.
When do we do a duet?
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 6:23 AM
Thanks Anchor- the lyrics/melody seemed to write themselves, as it were; I’m still not an enormous fan of my own voice, but apparently other people seem to like it. A duet, you say? As long as you don’t ask for a lot of range or power, I’m game ;-)
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 10:28 AM
This is great all around.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 11:09 AM
Thanks FFGreen!
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 8:47 PM
…a dancing duck that sings… what will they think of next? I don’t know but I hope I get to hear it. Great job Duckett, lots of emotion, just the way I like it :-).
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 14, 2008 @ 11:30 PM
Thanks essesq- always nice to have another pair of ears supporting the decision to upload…
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 15, 2008 @ 7:34 AM
Daffy and Donald better watch out The ccMixter Duck can sing.
I’m impressed.
Nice work Man!!!!!!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 15, 2008 @ 7:49 AM
Thanks J- very much appreciated!
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 15, 2008 @ 7:32 PM
excellente! the singer never knows what they sound like. believe me you’re good. if you lived in dublin, you’d already BE famous.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 15, 2008 @ 8:14 PM
Thanks PM- nice praise indeed!
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 2:48 AM
I hear a lot of Explosions in the Sky with the guitars, and the vocals are absolutely gorgeous. This is…man, I don’t even know - great work, seriously. Someone else said they’d like to hear more of your singing - I agree wholeheartedly!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 7:30 AM
Thanks- all I did was the singing, but glad you like it!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 6:55 AM
What is fun with you is that i never know what i’m going to hear when i play your track. Hip-hop..? Experimental..? Ambiant..? Rock..? Everytime it’s a surprise..And now you sing, and very well..Great emotion this time..Very beautiful work, very beautiful guitar…
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 7:32 AM
Thanks ditto- khidir gets all the praise for the guitars, but glad you like the singing too ;-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 1:29 PM
A shame that you don_t upload more of your vocal work. I like this a lot! So much emotion and please don_t mind any technical perfection. No need to! You are a talented singer Sir Duck!
A good idea and decision to upload. Your falsett voice…khidir already said it, Bono would be proud! Really good and surprising remix!! :-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 6:04 PM
Thanks Joe, glad you enjoyed it!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 3:12 PM
I cannot believe it’s you, still. I am so sad today, and this both deepens and heals the wound (s) again. See, I told ya to post it silly!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 6:06 PM
Yes, you did… so glad I listened to you :-)
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 17, 2008 @ 11:43 PM
I remember when “Boy” came out, and my friend Tim and I would get together to play chess while Bono bounced off the walls. I played the French Defense a lot then, a defense that closes the chessboard down—puts it in lock-up, and then swarms from defense into attack with the blinking of an eye.

The French requires the player of the black pieces to take on all kinds of conscriptions and constraints, and yet it’s best played with a kind of languid serenity, an earnest calm, like the energetic calm one imagines when Bono reaches past the note within his range into falsetto.

My own voice is too pale to imitate much of anyone—Ferry off-key, Byrne with the wrong kind of calm. My own best karaoke song is “Little Red Corvette”.

Yet what makes this mix stand out for me is that although its roots and influences are plain as a tag, it’s entertaining and new—in the way that Star Wars is, or any funny line intoned by Felicity Kendall, or the way an Edge solo cuts through open air, as if all of life is in Red Rocks Canyon.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Oct 18, 2008 @ 5:59 PM
Well, semi-ignorant slob that I am, I can’t say I’m that knowledgeable about the various historical strategies employed in chess, but I do appreciate the review/education ;-)
Thanks!
teru
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 18, 2008 @ 2:54 PM
You sound nothing like your avatar. I’m so disappointed. ; )

Just kidding of course. What I really mean to say is DAMN duckett! You’ve got some pipes!

You nailed this.
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Oct 18, 2008 @ 6:13 PM
Oh, but I can do such fascinating duck-tastic things with a kazoo- sure you don’t wanna hear? ;-)
Thanks man- I kinda felt like this about uploading it at first…
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 19, 2008 @ 9:21 AM
OMG you sound….(pause while I tamp a moment of pure awe inspired envy down :-))….awesome. The way you (sigh as I put my hand over heart) reach, hit and sustain is AWEsome.

Awesome, AWEsome, AWESOME!!!!

n9

ps - would you be interested hiring yourself out as a singer? I will pay in kind or in cookies (I bake a mean chocolate chip.)
 
.
permalink   duckett Sun, Oct 19, 2008 @ 2:21 PM
Geez, you sure know how to make a fella feel good! I don’t make a regular habit of doing the falsetto thing, but glad you like it… and I am a sucker for good chocolate chip cookies ;-)
oldDog
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 22, 2008 @ 8:12 AM
I’ve always loved your lyrics and poems - and now you seem to be branching out into rock star vocalist as well, and i love that too.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Oct 22, 2008 @ 9:27 AM
Thanks- I don’t expect to be selling out stadiums anytime soon, but it’s good to know you enjoyed this ;-)
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 28, 2008 @ 4:28 PM
hey.. tis is really nice man, i’d love to do some work whith you..
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Oct 28, 2008 @ 8:47 PM
Thanks! Sure thing, just let me know…