Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » duckett » Ain't It Funny » Reviews

Reviews for "Ain't It Funny"

Ain't It Funny
by duckett
Recommends (12)
Sun, Apr 20, 2008 @ 7:29 AM

Uses samples from:

 
beckfords
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 20, 2008 @ 11:32 PM
yo! jus woke to start ma early shift work ting ”yawn”,tuned into cc wid ma late’an now have got da biggest f@**in grin on ma face! lovin what youve done here D, absolutely buzzin!!!!respecktin ya vision.:-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ 12:49 AM
Thanks! It’s always a real pleasure to have the original artist give a thumbs-up :-)
 
.
permalink   beckfords Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ 1:43 AM
glad the vocoder didnt scare you off..i see that you’ve worked around it really well ,nice 1.
teru
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ 9:01 PM
Killer low end.

This with the new software? It sounds crisper to me. Not that it wasn’t crisp before…..Mmmm crispy duck. ;)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Apr 21, 2008 @ 9:36 PM
Thanks! LOL Actually, no- I was starting to worry that it might be a bit too loud/simple, due to lack of reviewage ;-) I just bumped the low and high end, and goosed the limiter slightly more than usual; I figured the lack of many tracks would survive a little more “oomph”… I’m about to upload a “test drive” remix though, heh.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 5:46 AM
Lovin’ the funky but restrained bass.
Really, the whole mix is exactly what is needed…nothing extra to distract. Very tasteful.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 9:12 AM
Thanks! When I heard this pella, I couldn’t resist making a track where the hypothetical video would probably involve candlelight, silk, and writhing of some sort- the kind that has the woman placing her fingertip on the man’s lower lip, etc. ;-)
 
.
permalink   beckfords Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 10:08 AM
so it was you peeping through my window over the weekend!:-)
bento box
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 8:59 AM
A crispness and separation I strive to achieve. Nice work!
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 9:14 AM
Thanks! Trust me, I strive to achieve it as well, I just get lucky once in a while ;-)
Stxle
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 9:20 PM
i am in love with this mellow synthi - great contrast to the dark groomy moody bass line …

Just like “light” and “shadow” form a depth to an object, this soundlines do add depth to the piece …
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 11:36 PM
Well, thanks- glad you enjoyed the contrast of the languid, stretched-out keys to the bassline!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 4:35 PM
Nice job.

Keeping it simple really works, the splash cymbals felt a bit out of place possibly some sort of phased sound might have been better, but the half time feel works nicely.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 7:09 PM
Thanks- I figured with the vocoder/production already on there (as well as the nature of the pella), keeping things uncluttered would work; sometimes a track needs to reinforce a mood, not distract from it ;-)
I wasn’t totally happy with how the splashes came out, but it was the closest I had at hand, for the feel I was going for.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 6:48 PM
The simple approach suits this style really well but I agree with LS that the cymbal does feel a bit strange. But you know sometimes its good to put odd bits in here and there to stretch those musical barriers. Still strange though!!:)
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 7:12 PM
Thanks- I was wanting something a bit more subtle and “sizzly”, but didn’t have it at hand, and just didn’t have the patience to trawl for something I’d have to tweak anyway. Plus, I’m weird like that ;-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 5:18 AM
Loving that LOW END. This is hot, very Hot !!!! Nice mix Duckett.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 5:37 AM
…Now why am I not surprised to hear that from you, sir? ;-)
I was hoping you’d like this…
DURDEN
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 8:32 AM
Hey Duck! The bass in here is awesome, love that sytnh that vibrate all around. I like the fresh style, a mix with room between sounds.

Good Job!
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 1:09 PM
Thanks; I tried to keep things well-defined, while still keeping some insistence to it.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 11:08 AM
Quote:”Not perfect, I know someone like J.Lang, LS, TheJoe, etc. could take this idea where it should go, but here ‘tis anyway”

Hey,…LOL, that_s unfair business practices!! :-) talking only for myself.
My subwoofer is jumping, cool bass sound and playing. Don_t believe I could do a track like this. Every single note and drum element is perfectly done. This is some cool slow headbanger track.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 2:04 PM
Wow, thanks! Now if I could only have the patience for the more complex, subtle arrangements, and judicious balancing of more than 4 or 5 tracks, I’d be getting there ;-)
shagrugge
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 11:22 AM
ill bass work I’m listening on headphones and it still sounds sic
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 2:12 PM
Thanks- my ideal would be to have everything sound equally tight on either cans or speakers; maybe when I get some decent monitors and some better mastering software, there’ll be less “Sounds tight on cans and smaller speakers, but like doo-doo on house speakers or my car’s system”, or vice versa… Therefore, positive feedback always helps the learning curve…
;-)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, May 5, 2008 @ 11:26 PM
sorry to be late to the reviewing party to this one. This is a great groove. Downtempo, yet heavy and every thump and smack means something. And yes, subwoofers jumping with joy here, too :-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 12:12 AM
Thanks! Glad to hear it- I myself have yet to hear this on anything more than 4” woofers ;-)
rifft
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 2, 2008 @ 8:30 AM
This one has a nice groove. I notice that you arpeggiate all the chords. I suspect that this remix could benefit from the introduction of some full, short chords (with a delay) played along with the arpeggiation. Maybe this could begin somewhere in the middle of the song.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Jun 2, 2008 @ 12:44 PM
Thanks!
Hmmm, like Dre- or reggae-style short chord hits w/ delay? I’m not guaranteeing anything, but the idea’s worth playing with…
Scolder
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 23, 2008 @ 10:11 AM
respect