One Love Event Extended!
skip

Reviews for "Under my apple tree"

Under my apple tree
by Donnie Drost
Recommends (24)
Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 5:27 AM

Uses samples from:

 
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 6:53 AM
Wunderbar!
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 9:42 AM
Danke schön!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 7:49 AM
Fabulous! Emotional chord choices, delicate, lovely guitar picking, nice build, and of course, the sublime voice of Ciggi (who I could listen to ad infinitum) — what a wonderful way to start my day!
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 9:43 AM
Hey Susan, hope your day was ending in the same way. Thanks for this nice words.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 8:05 AM
The first time I listened to this, I had quite a few problems playing this, it did this weird thing like a tape slowing down. Thought maybe that was the intended effect.

This time I downloaded the file, and listened again. What a lovely treat - the slow and languid beginning, the hint of a blues shuffle, and the string section - it is all an awesome setting for Ciggi’s great vocal.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 9:45 AM
Hmm, curious case. The wav File was encoded with the Standard lame encoder, no idea what happened. Main thing is, that you like it, thanks.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 10:07 AM
You take my breath away, Donnie, this is so very lovely. It’s as if the b/t is wooing the vocal, tentatively at first, then growing in confidence and with hints of passion. I’m sorry about the bad recording. My sister thought I’d done it deliberately to give it a vintage feel. The truth is: I’m inept! But this is just beautiful. Thank you, D. xxxx
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 9:52 AM
Ciggi, I’m so glad you like. Don’t excuse the quality of the recording. Event if there were some noise road works while recording, your outstanding voice would exceed all. Please keep on making such nice music. I agree Susan, could listen to you ad infinitum.
Darkroom
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 11:57 AM
Gorgeous track all around. The vocals work perfect with the backing track. I couldn’t ask for a better combination.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 9:52 AM
Such nice words, thank you very much!
timberman
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 4, 2010 @ 3:36 PM
So gorgeous, lush and lovely. This arrangement is so right for this pella.
I really connect with your stuff, your two latest uploads here are outstanding. Keep up the good work!
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 10:01 AM
Thanks for such great compliments, Per. I’m afraid, I think will be do more experiment stuff soon, let’s see.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 1:42 AM
Great job really beautifully done.

 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 10:03 AM
Thanks unreal. You always encourage me with your excellent works.
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 2:31 AM
great atmospheric offering…
enjoyed it!
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 10:04 AM
Thanks Anchor, glad you like it!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 5, 2010 @ 12:36 PM
A great pop melody gets us going, with the guitar fitted nicely in.
Your melody really makes the words shine. Perhaps one way to deal with the bit of noise would have been to add a freesound field recording, so that the noise might blend into very light cricket and birdsong or some such.

The blues run that begins at 2;00 is a nice chance-of-pace, because it’s so unexpected. Ciggi’s voice is great for blues, and this change of approach really works.

I am of two minds about the violin swells. They work beautifully, but part of me wants a more stripped down sound, with perhaps a little
backing pad of some sort, because the guitar and voice interplay is just so nice.

I love your pop sensibility here—it’s radio-ready and yet not at all canned or virtual or boring. It’s a great remix.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Jun 6, 2010 @ 11:09 AM
At first, thank you for spending time in your detailed and informative review. The idea with birdsound is great. Has matched to the song and overlay the noise. Also with the orchestral swell your absolutely right, I hat the same problem in my previous remix, I’m still trying to let it sound more genuine (with more or less success).

Fine ears, appreciated your comments, thanks again.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 6, 2010 @ 9:24 PM
Great soundscape. Well done, D.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Mon, Jun 7, 2010 @ 11:26 AM
Thank you very much.
DURDEN
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 27, 2010 @ 10:32 PM
Very nice sound of that acoustic guitar, very intimate. The guitar and the voice melt very well together, and I love the strings, very good job.

I like the second part too, a little agrresive guitar and then again softness… very good.

On the tech aspects, you have a little click annoyng over here and there, maybe is in the guitars? seems like the record was affected by the lattency of your soundcard or maybe not too much buffer size, anyway, you could manually clean those clicks and the improvements will be hughe.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sat, Aug 28, 2010 @ 4:38 AM
Hey, thanks for this detailed review. I had a bit troubles with Ciggi’s vocal, there is some crackling in.

But perhaps you’ve right with the latency. Recently, I bought an EMU 404 interface and used it.
I’ll test it with a higher buffer size, too. (Asio4All 512 standard size at the moment).
BarryMorgan
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 28, 2010 @ 11:14 AM
Beautiful treatment on this one. Well done.