skip
Home » People » TheJoe » LS vers. SOS » Reviews

Reviews for "LS vers. SOS"

LS vers. SOS
by TheJoe
Recommends (30)
Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 5:06 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 5:20 PM
Joe i am just freakin knocked out by this man. I just uploaded a mix i was really pleased with and then seconds later this drops in on top.

Its everything we have talked about in terms of the quality of those old songs and sounds.

By the way the bridge chord choices are inspired .

Big thanks for the time you took on this, i adore it. :-)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 1:43 PM
LS!

Thanks a lot for the review and I am very pleased that you like what I have done. And I have done it with all respect for your work that you have contributed here and for the good old times which influenced me and it seems some more people here.

I wished I had more time to work it out more professional and with more variations.

Thanks again and long live (80s) retro! :-)
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 6:19 PM
Whoa Joe, now that’s something else. Great job. I’d say just copy me on LS’s comment, but I don’t talk like that :-).

I can’t seem to find the words I want … guess I’m kinda speechless. Way to go, Joe. :-)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 1:45 PM
Thanks essesq!

It seems here are a lot of people of one generation around who remember this kind of music. Glad that you are part of it!! :-)
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 4:12 PM
I also feel 80s :-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 6:26 PM
J -
this is simply perfect. Delightful audio treat…beautifully crafted. Love it!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 1:48 PM
Anchor,

thanks! I am glad that you join the club of 80s retro music.
DURDEN
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 7:03 PM
Great Remix.
You used this pella in the right way, like if It belongs to this song.
I like also the work in the vocals and the fills in that jazzy guitar.
Great.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 1:51 PM
Thanks Durden,

First time I heard the vocals I had this sort of style in my mind.
The jazzy guitar riff is part of a loop that I used. I pitched the vocals one halftone downwards as it was easier to play epiano in that key. I am sort of lazy guy though! ;-)
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 9:23 PM
Well done Joe. Everything just fits perfectly in a space that is so mellow 80’s. Reminds me of some of that 80’s white soul like wet wet wet.
Any chance of uploading the instrumental - I would love to have a croon to this :0)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:27 PM
Thank you Scomber!

Another person who joins the club which is surprising and amazing. Wet Wet Wet, I nearly forgot about them, yes they were smooth.

Re- instrumental: Give me a few days for overworking some parts as there are too many wrong notes in there and I feel a bit shame for ;-)! I will give you a note when it_s done. I am looking forward for some crooner stuff of you even more if you would give some of your awesome guitar contribution to it!

Cheers and thanks again.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:41 PM
Thanks Joe, Looking forward to it. :-)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 10:26 PM
OH yessss. This should be on MTV! ;-)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:29 PM
Quote: spinmeisterOH yessss. This should be on MTV! ;-)

hehehe,…do they have a senior_s corner there as I don_t know, didn`t had a look there for years….
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 10:42 PM
Oh my… your treats are well worth the wait
Just sumptuous.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:31 PM
Hey duckett, thanks for the review. Glad you like and I hope not to disappoint to also next time :-)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:10 AM
Inspired, delicious, just perfect, sumptuous. I´m repeating what has been said, but it´s really true. Congrats and thanks for this.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:33 PM
Thanks onlymeith, glad you like it!
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:23 AM
I’m between meetings so I’ll keep it short, but just wanted to say that this is a treat. Thanks for sharing.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:35 PM
Quote: colabI’m between meetings so I’ll keep it short, but just wanted to say that this is a treat. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks colab!

Even a short note between two meetings is a nice one!! ;-)
wellman
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:11 AM
WoW Joe!! u took me back in time with this song… This remind me of those inmortal song from the 80’s. Nice bass line and very nice vox treatment… Love the delay u used in this one…!!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:42 PM
Thanky you wellman!

You said it “immortal”, some of the old stuff is like that. I can listen to Stevie Wonders album “Songs in the key of life” afer 30 years and everything is there. Music that has no limits in style and time.

The credits for the bass line are going to Zero G. Against my usual behaviour I didn´t played the bass this time myself. I found this loop which seemed to be perfect for the track. I have tried to pick up the idea and make some variations but I was in sort of time issue and so…
I think the vocals are already made with this fx as I can_t remember to have added some extra fx on the main vocals.

I am sorry not having had reviewed one of your remixes yet. I am not so often here and it seems I missed you till now. But this will change.

Cheers and thanks!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:18 PM
Songs in the key of life = classic (Amazing album).
mullion
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 3:22 PM
You’ve really done a great job here, Joe! I like the whole feeling of it, especially all the funky guitars.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 11:38 AM
Thanks mullion!

All guitars are samples/loops as I can_t play any string instrument, so I will forward this compliment to Spectrasonics and Zero G for their guitar sample contributions ;-).

But sometimes you find a lot of loops that go together well. Next time I will more give hand craft ;-)

Thanks again and cheers!
 
.
permalink   mullion Thu, Jan 15, 2009 @ 2:33 AM
(psst…I wdn’t talk too loud about loops and stuff if I were you. I mean - gee man, what on earth were you thinking?! samples and loops…here..at cc? Uh..you’re in for a rough ride if they find out!) :-)
The.Spirit.Of.Light
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 6:49 PM
so what can i tell, everything sounds here great.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 11:39 AM
Thanks TSOL!

For me you are the real master of funky retro sound and remixes, detecting now, that you have uploaded new material. Review soon!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:18 PM
Well I don’t like it!!

Its sound is dated, the instrumentation is contrived and predictable. The production lacks originality and to make matters even worse you’ve got that old geriatric Brummie crooning his heart out.

Now that should bring the balance back into the reviewing!!

But you know what Joe that balance is not needed!! As everyone has already said, this is some great mix and something to set the standard for all the other beaty boppers out there!

Excellent work!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 11:51 AM
LOL and Thanks RT!

Don_t know what is stronger in your personality, your always extraordinary musical style or your humor. However, this is what I like on you. You are a good soul here!

One thing: you talked about the standard. This time I used (except the epiano) only preproduced loops/samples from here and there. These loops already sound good and mostly professional. Combining a few can cause a high level sound without any personal/individual work (despite of the choice and the mixing).
This track was produced in (for me) a short time and therefore it is okay to use loops. This track was fun though while producing and I had to admit that everything sounds as I wished. So here it is and I am surprised that so many people like it as it_s sort of old fashioned music (not your vocals LS!)
I just wanted to mentiion it….
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 4:31 PM
Understand what you are saying about the samples but they still need talent to make them work.

When making a live take all you are really doing is producing a sample!

I recently worked with a great session guitar player but he still took a lot of takes to get things right.

After he had left the studio we spent another hour with Melodyne and other effects making what he played fit exactly what the producer wanted.

For me now even with live players we very rarely record to track everyone at the same time. In the past a take was choosen from however many were recorded and cut and spliced together with masking tapes and knives. Now we just cut and paste with a mouse. Same thing really just a lot easier and more creative.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 1:44 PM
Bravo!!!!!!!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:28 PM
Thanks DJ Lang!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:17 PM
Wow man, this certainly has style. You two certainly work well together. I can see LS is happy with it and I can see why. Love that bass by the way, its very 80’s.

I’m sure ill be seeing this in the Cool Music playlist this week
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:32 PM
Thanks Scott!

Yes it_s very 80s. I can_t forget my main influences. As reference for the bass, it_s a loop from a RMX file. Not original from me, but could have been mine if I have had the idea for it :-)

By the way, did you see that we both just do a race of reviewing the last mixes..??? :-) Funny!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 3:34 PM
I did… viva la reviewing revolution… Anyhoo, I’m done for the night now, the wife wants a cuppa :-)

Thanks for looking at my latest stuff too
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 28, 2009 @ 4:42 PM
GENIUS!!!!!
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 4, 2011 @ 3:07 PM
Excellent!
Rizkey G
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 18, 2012 @ 1:08 PM
HA.. Joachim… YOU KNOW IT MAKES SENSE !! :-)