Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » SackJo22 » After the War » Reviews

Reviews for "After the War"

After the War
by SackJo22
Recommends (45)
Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:22 AM
 
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:46 AM
Well you are creating your own sounds through remixes which isn’t easy lol. I bet I can pick you out of a line-up now lol. Nice job :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:19 PM
Thanks copperhead — I’m a firm believer in being true to your own voice. I’m glad that comes across.
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:53 AM
I’ve no wordz…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:20 PM
…and I have not enough words to thank you.
jacindae
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 2:14 AM
Just beautiful. Very nice work.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:20 PM
Thanks Jacinda. It means so much to know you listened and enjoyed.
bigbonobo_combo
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 2:25 AM
Brillant.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:21 PM
Thanks so much!
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 3:20 AM
You’ve created an almost haunting and rather edgy b/t to go with those beautiful vocals. It feels as if you’ve stepped out of your comfort zone this time and I love that. A strong and intense but very beautiful song.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:22 PM
Thanks Per. I did not step out of my comfort zone conceptually, but in terms of the production, that was definitely a stretch for me.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 3:37 AM
It’s amazing! Well done.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:23 PM
Thank you so much deb. I sure appreciate the kind words.
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 3:46 AM
It’s a very very nice surprise!!!
I love what you did Susan! And your singing is gorgeous!!!
Thanks for the remix! Beautiful!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:25 PM
Alex, I am so glad you are pleased — of course it was most important to me that you would be happy as your source is the foundation and inspiration for the track. Thank you so much for all the fine music you share with us!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 3:56 AM
Powerful and hugely impressive, woven together with real skill. Your singing and harmonies are out of this world; strong and beautiful, a brilliant contrast to the b/t. I love Alex’s work too and he contributes so much to the site. Lovely work from Mr J on guitar. Susan, this is a magnificent piece of work. xxxx
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:26 PM
Thanks Ciggi. You always know exactly the right thing to say!
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 4:45 AM
Oh My God!! Am I actually hearing this. This is amazing. Please, Please, Please, can you up the vocals. You go girl!!! You are truly amazing and the track in general is so powerful it’s unreal. Brilliant work!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:30 PM
Thanks Mykle — props from you are the best! I did upload the vocals but was unable to get the effects off. (I’m going to see if I can fix that soon — but it may be a day or two.)
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 5:16 AM
Susan
what an amazing concept - and wonderful potent lyrics.
A powerful offering and message!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:32 PM
Thank you Anchor. I appreciate your words so very much.
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 6:13 AM
Susan you’ve done really well with this mix. Love the vocals and the way the music flows as if they were made for each other. It’s a wicked and wonderful sound and I must have it! :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:32 PM
I’m so glad you like it! And you can have it, for free!
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 6:40 AM
this is a beautiful piece of work, SJ. starting with a great song &
brought to life by great timbre & precise cut ins of your samples. and a big nod to Haskel for one of the best guitar solos in recent memory.
894 ’s UP.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:33 PM
Thanks Panu! I don’t know where I’m going to put all those thumbs…but I’ll figure that out (I think I can probably stash a few in Haskel’s guitar case). Thanks so much!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 7:15 AM
Very nice. Excellent use of source materials, and great additions.

I wish the vocals were more centred in the mix rather than being panned to the side - it’s the highlight of the track and to my ears should be more prominently featured right in the middle.

Excellent work.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:36 PM
Thanks Mikael. I certainly value your feedback and opinion, and look forward to having a moment to tweak the mix according to your suggestion.
error404
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 7:18 AM
Awesomely jóóó:D
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:37 PM
Thank you so much — your thumbs are most appreciated!
Zapac
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:33 AM
You have sense of creating drama. The music is great, the vocal is amazing. But the vocal reinforced by music, completed by effects, that is a really performance. I can see, what you sing about.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:39 PM
What a terrific review — thank you so much.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 10:07 AM
Very powerful mix Sackjo22—it hits me in the chest—makes me sad, and a bit hopeful at the same time.

After the War is a beautiful combination of lyrics, melody and soundscape—a post-apocalyptic feeling of disoriented relief. We can make the world a better place better—this mix is a good first step.



Jason
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:42 PM
Thank you so much Jason — as an artist to know my work had an emotional impact is really rewarding, and that the feel and intent of this song was experienced by you means a lot.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 10:09 AM
Love it! Definitely different for you. Fortunate of you to be paired with Alex.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:42 PM
Thanks so much! I was lucky!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 11:17 AM
susan. this is profound, beautiful, haunting, a piece pointed for the heart (and incredible guitar solo!). this is a true piece of art. i am sooo impressed. your vocal work is spot on.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:47 PM
Thanks so much — it really means so much to know what I do is being felt.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Mar 23, 2010 @ 10:42 AM
we listened again last night in headphones. this is an incredible track susan. truly. the lyrics are moving, emotional, poignant….the guitar work piercing. the overall attention to detail and quality of the mix extraordinary. i am so utterly impressed!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:28 PM
wow - an artistic side of you worth much further exploration. And Mr. H. adds the finishing sparkle. One of your most impressive works yet …
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:48 PM
Thanks so much — you know how much that means.
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:58 PM
Love Haskels guitar and well, great concept and execution. I’m with Colab, vocals deserve front and centre. Perhaps double track with one doing the panning - The other with not much on them?
Just a thought, not that it needs anything else.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:50 PM
Thanks Scomber. When I have a moment, I’m going do some tweaking pursuant to your/Colab’s suggestion. Sure do appreciate your kind words!
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 5:14 PM
Hey Susan, fantastic work.
Excellent also the guitar, a great contribution to the sense of remix.
I like this very much.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:50 PM
Thank you so much — it pleases me to know you like this track.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:02 PM
Epic, smooth and Intense at the same time.

Great production and sweet mix.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:51 PM
Thanks so much Jay.
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:56 PM
Great ideas here. Thank you falettin me be mice elf, but I do agree that there should me more vocals and less freakin’ guitar in the mix.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:58 PM
As I indicated to Scomber and Colab, when I have a moment I will fix it in the mix!(And you’re funny!)
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:13 PM
Thematic and involved, with an intensity and depth that makes it impossible to not feel something. Very well done.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 8:49 PM
Denny, thank you so much. It is always my intention to make the listener feel something — I’m so touched that you shared that you did.
Anomaly_Jonez
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:21 PM
Listening to your music is like listening to a tutorial in the art of mixing and tranisition sounds. I love the melodic tempo of the drums, they grab hold of you right from the start and that running piano melody, running very so gently inches below the surface. I really like the way you use silence and space.

Then that guitar kicks in and it transforms and trancends, great job.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 8:53 PM
You give me way too much credit! I lucked out with such great source material from Alex. I’m definitely a newbie. But I sure do appreciate your kind words. Your mix rocked too AJ! And yeah, Haskel kicks it!
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 3:46 PM
Move everybody-this stuff is hot!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 8:54 PM
Don’t worry Hektor — I’ve got you covered! :-) (Thanks!)
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 23, 2010 @ 4:23 PM
pure sophistication - goes all the way and reaches far beyond - thrilling, astounding and f… great!!! wow!!!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, Mar 23, 2010 @ 4:37 PM
thanks b.k. — I’m so happy to see you! makes me realize how very much I miss you! Big hug!
 
.
permalink   AIR_LOMEG Tue, Mar 23, 2010 @ 5:30 PM
miss you too! and hug you back :) greetings from moi too - we talk soon again!
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 24, 2010 @ 2:40 PM
Wow this song Kicks Ass(tm)

The remix and arrangement was well done, and the vox put it over the top. Any plans on uploading the acaps? Just wondering :D
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 24, 2010 @ 5:08 PM
Thanks PapaZ — so glad you felt it! The acaps are uploaded on my page here. I hope to upload better quality stems — I haven’t had a chance to get to it yet this week has been crazy
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 2, 2010 @ 9:20 AM
Outstanding. The mix, the interpretation. The kick-ass guitar sounds like it was made for this mix. Really, really love this. BTW your vocals reminds me of the female vocalist in Andre Vollenweider’s “Eolian Minstrel”. Her name’s Eliza Gilkyson, if I’m not wrong.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Apr 2, 2010 @ 11:30 AM
Ivan, I am so glad you had a chance to listen, and sure do appreciate your kind comment. The guitar actually was made for this mix — so I’m glad it sounds that way!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Fri, Apr 2, 2010 @ 11:43 AM
Quote: SackJo22The guitar actually was made for this mixaha, OK. Read your “how I did it” part and you only indicated “vocals” as original stems :) Still, this doesn’t make your remixing skills any less. Listened to it again and woo, really solid stuff.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Mon, May 17, 2010 @ 4:28 PM
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 7:51 AM
Thanks Jobob. I really enjoyed the story — now I better get off my duff. I want to get in some skeet shooting before it’s too late. ;-)
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Tue, May 18, 2010 @ 3:36 PM
ah ha ha ha I use a 12 guage!!!
 
.
SmoJos
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 9, 2012 @ 3:32 PM