Ocean Dreams Music Event
skip
Home » People » teru » Ballistic A » Reviews

Reviews for "Ballistic A"

Ballistic A
by teru
Recommends (14)
Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 3:03 PM
 
fourstones
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 3:47 PM
you are one funky teru - awesome.

you know, another 1:57 you’d get a free mc jack review ;)
 
.
permalink   teru Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 3:51 PM
Thanks V. On the review preview page it cuts off at - “another 1:57 you’d get a free mc….”

I thought it was a burger. lol.

Anyways MC Jack in the Box is always awesome to me. I thought I’d cut down his workload. ;)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 7:09 PM
well, since it is teru, the king of the mixter, the reigning supastah from afar, i’ll start a little early. i mean if someone’s gotta start this party, it might as well be teru.

sweet DnB indeed! the choices for the vocals for this work really nicely. the rasta vocals give it a nice dancehall feel, but you definitely put your own spin on this, with typical tight production.

wow, i gotta check out these samples….

get ready. victor and i are gonna be the siskel and ebert of ccmixter this weekend. :)

b
 
.
permalink   teru Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 8:29 PM
Thanks for the review. I’m looking forward to the review-a-thon. (link for those who missed the forum thread)

“wow, i gotta check out these samples”

Oh yeah. You do. Big time. : )
 
.
permalink   fourstones Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 8:37 PM
Quote: MC Jack in the Box
get ready. victor and i are gonna be the siskel and ebert of ccmixter this weekend. :)


My favorite thing about this comment is I think you just scared off the world ;)

Quote: MC Jack in the Box
wow, i gotta check out these samples….


um, yea… don’t make me build around a contest around this thing, I’m hoping we can get a ton of remixes without that…
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 9:17 PM
oh yeah, the b is a thumbs up. :)
 
.
permalink   fourstones Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 10:49 PM
gurdonark
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 31, 2007 @ 9:37 PM
The way the percussion and the vocals begin the piece is really effective. Then the little keyboard loop fits very nicely.
I like the sense of building instrumentation.

Those vocals are interwoven very nicely. Although this is “dub influenced”, it’s not strictly speaking so much a “standard” dub song as a kind of blend of Carribean-inflected styles. I suppose dub is awfully adaptable.

The thing that makes this so appealing is the spareness of the instrumentation. It would have been so tempting to get greedy with a sound here, or to wash things up in too much electronica, but you stay loyal to the minimal ideas that make this kind of music work.

This is after-dinner music for a cool night in Savannah.
oldDog
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 4:09 AM
Really enjoyable. As always, you seem to use just the right amount of material so that nothing gets in the way of anything else, and it all just blends as if it was always meant to be that way!
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 1, 2007 @ 6:33 AM
I love it teru! A real head-bobber. I have to agree with gurdonark as to the “spareness”; restraint in quite a skill in and of itself. 5 stars from me!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 2, 2007 @ 1:12 AM
..and, as usual, “a super rythmn”. Facing my screen, listening you mix, my head moves all alone, beating times..beating times…
tripledoubler
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 5, 2007 @ 3:12 AM
This is just GREAT, I really like the smooth but danceable vibe of the track and the GREAT arrangement, too.
shagrugge
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 6, 2007 @ 11:41 AM
ill…love that dirty base after bout 2:15…the beginning might be filled out with some reggae-dub-style pitched-echo-fade drops. All in all excellent track that left my ears tickled the whole way through.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 7, 2007 @ 8:33 PM
nice work T.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 9, 2007 @ 11:33 AM
this is very very cool..
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 9:37 AM
i’ve been on a journey of discovering this morning that led me here to your track. what a pleasure for my ears and soul…..