Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip

Reviews for "Lady Mercy Huckleberry"

Lady Mercy Huckleberry
by spinmeister
Recommends (32)
Sun, May 3, 2009 @ 9:10 PM
 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, May 3, 2009 @ 10:00 PM
Women swaying gracefully through gardens, carrying gifts to the evening — blossoms that release delicate perfumes, and their song.

What a beautiful arrangement — a glorious vision indeed. Thank you for a very special listen!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 12:42 AM
Thanks so much for your kind words SJ!
p.s. I’m glad you came out of retirement!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 12:00 AM
well anything with “gregorian” as a tag will surely spark my interest. great framework for the intro with narva 9. man, i do love that lord have mercy track. love how you build the churning sexy mix behind kaer’s part. and is that the reappearance of the morricone guitar back there somewhere? :P

really great mix here spin, it chugs along really nicely with the glitchy beats, the chants are awesome, and all the vocal and spoken word parts flow together very fluidly.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 7:16 AM
Thanks MCJitB! Can’t hide the Morricone guitar from you, can I? :-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 2:22 AM
A gloriously sinuous, sensuous and luxurious treat for the ears. I wish it could go on for hours as I daydream on a mound of embroidered cushions and loose a few white doves from my tower casement. Mmmmmm xxx
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 7:44 AM
gentle tap, tap… “wake up Ciggi, wake up! It’s time for your Monday ccM upload.” … pauses … “oh - you just finished it? - Never mind then. - Go on dreaming, princess!” — Thanks CB!
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 5:57 AM
Fantastic creation Spin!
Probably one of the most alluring recent listens on CCMixter. Of course this sort of thing appeals to me deeply, so I may be somewhat prejudiced. An exotic and warm journey into imagination. Thank you.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 7:51 AM
Thank you so much, AM! This means a lot to me coming from the quintessential trouvère in our midst.
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 9:07 AM
Now that’s what I call a remix :-). There should be more blending of cultures here (on the site, not in this mix). Very impressive working in of the rhythms.

People often forget that it can take three times as long to decide on the elements to borrow as it does to decide how to blend them. Choosing isn’t cheating…and you have chosen very well :-).
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 9:34 AM
Thanks Ms. E! And you’re right, come to think of it, there’s surprisingly little geo-mixing in the musical culture sense here. (Exceptions being the proof of the rule.) We have a remarkable width of genres, and the odd world music instrument, but not that much experimentation with different scales and feels.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 10:33 AM
This is the third remix in a row that is going to end up in my favourites playlist. What a sonic treat to listen to. Magnificent.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 11:44 AM
Thanks, Master of the Lowlands! It was a good stretch for my favorites list, too - including your epic!
colab
.
permalink   Mon, May 4, 2009 @ 12:01 PM
Hey now. This is terrific. You’ve done a very special thing here blending these three sources so seamlessly while putting a personal touch on it.

I like this so very much. Thanks for sharing.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 9:36 AM
Thanks Mr. C.! It took a while but the sources were so inspirational, I couldn’t stop!
panu
.
permalink   Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 9:28 AM
Spinmeister, this is shimmering, misty, magical, spellbinding. hopefully that’s enough multi-syllabic adjectives to excuse my getting here so late. but i mean it, this is truly all of the above.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 9:37 AM
Thanks PM - that’s more syllables than I can count! :-)
jacindae
.
permalink   Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 11:06 AM
I’m late to the party too, but I couldn’t go without mentioning how gorgeous this really is.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 1:12 PM
It’s never too late for saying nice things. :-) Thank you so much, JE!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 4:33 PM
It’s ALWAYS a pleasure to listen to what your imagination is up to.
Another Fine Creation.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 6:05 PM
Thanks for your kind words, JL! And thanks for calling it “imagination”, rather than “a dirty mind” :-)
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 4:37 PM
This is really good. So I think your version is in aeolian mode, and my original was in A Major. So did you pitch shift the whole thing or did you do it accordingly, each line at a time? I love the Dr E stuff, I had downloaded the other piece and have been playing around with it.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 5, 2009 @ 6:46 PM
Thanks KT! I may not have made it quite pure, because the scale I used was E F G# A B C D, in the key of E — so I’m not sure what that represents (I thought maybe dorian, but the A# doesn’t belong into dorian).

I mapped your notes pretty much individually into the scale - attempting to preserve the direction you were taking (i.e. up stayed up and down stayed down). Keeping the directions intact seemed to keep the integrity of your performance regarding emphasis and drama. The big difference is that your melody started and built from the root of the key while my version starts and builds from the V (or 5).

I’m glad, relieved and grateful you approve, and also very happy to hear you are scheming with the other Dr. E upload. Your voice and vocal performance style really works incredibly well with that type of choir - and puts you into a musical neighborhood slightly less traveled here at ccM (at least so far).

Thanks again for your wonderful pell and your kind tolerance for the musical liberties I’m taking with your performance!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 11:28 AM
oldDog came to the rescue figuring out the mode/scale. See his answer just below this thread. It sure is cool to have him around! :-)
oldDog
.
permalink   Wed, May 6, 2009 @ 3:50 AM
I love the way all the ingredients seem to blend so seamlessly - as if they always belonged together.

(ps can’t ‘recommend’ because Ciggi got to the computer first, but definitely a )
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 6, 2009 @ 10:12 AM
Thanks so much OD! You wouldn’t happen to you know, if the scale E F G# A B C D (in the key of E) has an official name? It’s a 7 note scale with three semitone steps in it. I’ve been looking around, but haven’t found the right answer yet.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 7:54 AM
It’s a very common mode in central European music (Macedonian for example, and kletzmer). I don’t know if it has an official name - I suppose you could think of it as a harmonic minor scale starting on the dominant, but the effect is more “Phrygian” because of the initial semitone. Perhaps ‘harmonic Phrygian’ would be a good name??
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 8:02 AM
Oh, just found it here

Seems the name is “Major Phrygian (Dominant)”!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 9:29 AM
ohh yess! Thanks for figuring that out, OD! As far as I’m concerned, you’re still TD (TopDog)! Thanks again!
Dr. Emiliyan Stankov
.
permalink   Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 1:58 AM
Great track! A true musician at work. Thank you, and I would be glad to work with you virtually again!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 7, 2009 @ 2:16 AM
Thank you so much for your kind comment Dr. ES! Your uploads have given me renewed musical inspiration. Thank you for sharing your stunningly beautiful music with us!
AT
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 7:59 PM
really brilliantly done spin, cant think of anything to add other than repeat the “sexy and sinuous” comments, love how you used the Lord Have Mercy, key changes in that part work really well. Very well done Sir—-I like your new S :)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 8:53 PM
thanks so much, AT! You had set the bar really high with your Lord Have Mercy remix, so I had work at it a little longer - even had to learn a new mode/scale! :-)
narva9
.
permalink   Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 8:25 PM
What a stunning exotic piece. Sexy, sinister, sensuous.
Bravo!

n9

PS - thank you for including us :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 8:34 PM
Thanks so much for your kind words, n9. At first I was worried, that maybe you hated it, since you hadn’t stopped by. But then a little birdie told me that you were otherwise occupied. By the way, how are the new wheels?
 
.
permalink   narva9 Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 10:57 PM
Sorry about not commenting earlier. I just wasn’t in the right state of mind. It has been a stressful couple of weeks. But it’s over, finally. The new car is great. A bit of an upgrade really… but I still going to miss my old baby.

n9

PS - as an aside. guess what I found in the trunk of my old car. A B&O BM5 ribbon mike. Not sure how that got there. T tells me you’re a equipment expert. Would you happen to know anything about it?
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 12:16 AM
not sure about being an expert - but here’s my take on it: If it works, the B&O BM5 has the potential of being a very lovely mike. It’s a stereo ribbon mike. And ribbon mikes can have busted ribbons, if not gently cared for.

However, a mike like that needs a decent pre-amplifier, and may also need a custom cable, since it’s stereo.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 28, 2009 @ 1:24 PM
What have I done on May 3th? I don_t know but I missed one of your greatest tracks Spin!
I just had a listen to Sackjo_s mixing kitchen where she gave me a note that she included a song from me too.

Spin, you can not deny… this has a real Enigma feel and mood. I know that M.Cretu is one of your favorates and with this track you have given him and yourself honour.

Really cool track on all these efx and the melting of the vocals. Straight to my playlist!!

I also missed to wish you and yours a merry christmas. Now I wish you a splendid happy new year 2010 with all the good things (including nice tracks like this one)and so much more.

Warm greetings from the other side of the planet!

TJ
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Dec 28, 2009 @ 1:35 PM
Hi TJ! Thank you so much for your kind review. It is an honor to be in the same mixin’ kitchen as you! And you are the first one to notice, that this remix is little bit of a tribute to one of my favorite producers! Thank you for that, too!

And of course I also wish you a very, very happy and successful 2010. And I hope that you will have enough time and energy to upload a little of your good music now and then.

Warmest greetings to you, too from 9 time zones away!
german_mix
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 16, 2010 @ 7:29 AM
I had goosebumps all over when I first heard your track. Very evocative, very nice sound design!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Jan 16, 2010 @ 12:54 PM
Thank you for your kind review, GM! And welcome to ccM. I hope you’ll enjoy yourself here for a long time to come!