New! Amplifiers Remix Event
skip
Home » People » spinmeister » Unforgiven » Reviews

Reviews for "Unforgiven"

Unforgiven
by spinmeister
Recommends (45)
Mon, May 5, 2008 @ 8:21 PM
 
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, May 5, 2008 @ 10:19 PM
Wow, Spinmeister!

This is what I call a real refining of a track. This is such a great surprise to hear all the different added instruments that suit so well and support in a sensitive way the very wonderful vocals of Kaer Trouz. I think and hope she will forgive you all manipulations on her vocals (I didn_t heard them), because it all sounds so natural and really like a little jazz band.
You don_t have to be a jazz musician, you put in here all your great production and musical skills to offer an overall very enjoyable song that sounds like a jazz standard of the Real Book.

This is a great work and I thank you so much for making this and also thanks a lot for the “How I did it” notes. Very interessting how managed it to melt the different tempi, Bravo! :-)

Btw., the piano chord structure /harmonisation is going well to many vocal pellas here and also on RWR (S.R.I.P., Servers rest in peace) e.g to one of your AMT songs, Songboy3, Zae and much more.
Maybe you will recognize one of my old (RWR)remixes in there? ;-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 4:30 PM
thank you for your kind words, TJ! And thank you again for uploading that midi file. I’ve always loved those crazy 7-9-13 chords you play!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 7:30 AM
This is really incredible on a few levels- the ambient, emotional cup that holds it and technically. I heard it before I read about the Melodyne shifts, and honestly at first I was confused because that is definitely my voice but I definitely did not sing those notes. So I am completely impressed with the shifts because they are so natural sounding.
Also, personally, this takes me back to a time in my life when I played with a jazz combo.
Also it just feels so up close and intimate- mixed very very well.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 4:42 PM
thank you — you are making be blush, KT! You have no idea how much I have fallen for your voice during working with this track. And thanks for your forgiveness ;-) for having changed some of the notes around a little. I really tried hard to avoid strange sounding artifacts - but I wasn’t sure how successful that was, because after so many hours one’s own ears can’t be entirely trusted anymore.

Also I hope you don’t mind, that I did add a little reverb, because when I closed my eyes I saw you on a concert stage with TheJoe on the grand piano. Two single spot lights on both of you and the rest of the band in the shadows around you.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 2:39 PM
Absolutely great - incredible production. The Joe’s piano and Kaer’s vocal sound like they were made especially for this track. Its beautiful.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 4:52 PM
thanks, AM! Isn’t it amazing how these two tracks from different lineages seem to be made for each other? My jaw dropped at my mixing desk when I took a chance and loaded them up at the same time. After that, I almost felt more like an archaeologist, carefully removing the excess dirt from a special treasure, hoping not to drop it.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 3:17 PM
I agree with the people, INCREDIBLE. Incredible music, incredible production, incredible jazz, incredible………………
Very useful also “how i did it”, I work with cubase but Melodyne isn´t a plugin of my arsenal ( I´m going to change this). Thanks for a very pleasant listen.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 5:06 PM
Thanks for your kind words, OM! And also for mentioning that you found the “how I did it” useful. If you are considering Melodyne to be used with Cubase, I would recommend the plugin version over Melodyne Uno (bought before the plugin was published). Now that I have both I pretty much use the plugin all the time.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 6:53 AM
Nice use of Melodyne on this fits the arrangement very well. As a regular user of the “Magic Melo” I know what it takes to get it to work. Its a great tool but it needs a good driver!

Well done!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 10:13 AM
thanks so much, RT - yes, Melodyne is a a bit like a scalpel: a powerful tool, but a slip can cause quite a bit of bloodshed :-)
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 11:51 AM
This is a shining example of what is possible on the mixter. Sublime tune, my man.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 12:05 PM
thanks FB! Yes, isn’t ccM amazing? I’m humbled by the talent of the community here and grateful, that I get to play along :-)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 2:43 PM
ah spin.. you big ol softy …imagine… up there in those woods, view of the valley and the lake, log fire burning , fizz in the champagne glass, flutter of snow against the windows and the distant call of an owl outside,….
and you sitting there in your sweater and silk cravat, glasses tilted down knowingly like in your picture, and shes waiting a shadowy silhouette of negligeed woman framed in the doorway purring for your attention and you oblivious reading the melodyne manual.

priceless
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 3:05 PM
oops … did I leave my webcam on? :-)
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 3:10 PM
(chanting) Ed Pick! Ed Pick! Ed Pick!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 5:19 PM
shhhhh - there’s a lady singing here ;-)


… thanks D !
shimoda
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 4:59 PM
I’m quite happy to hear the number of ‘jazzy’ pieces, as one who loves and plays jazz. It’s great to hear an idea taken from one context to another as it is so often done here. It breathes many lives into what would otherwise be a solitary existance and it is so interesting how different two takes can make the feel of the words. Just last night a group of people I was playing with, along with a singer, were reading charts and played ‘It could happen to you’. First we played it ‘up’ and the lyrics really had a fun and hopeful meaning along with the swing of the piece. Then we played it ‘ballad’ and the melody really shined adding a whole different flavor to the lyrics and harmonies. CC is like that kind of chart reading session. Wonderful:)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 5:25 PM
to be honest, I’m a very modest pop player. My love and appetite for music is miles ahead of my instrumental skills. So playing Jazz live would be a rather shameful embarrassment for me. However I sure would have loved to play the jazz triangle at your reading / jam session. It sounds absolutely wonderful to go after the same piece of music with different moods. And yes, ccMixter is the best place I know to cater to that particular music addiction in a long distance sequential kind of way.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 5:14 PM
Now this is SWEEEEEEEEEEEET. I’m really impressed with what you did with the melodyne plug in. I have the melodyne demo in Protools but wasn’t impressed with it, till i heard this. Hmmmm i may have to get the plug in and the Melodyne for dummies book.
REALLY REALLY NICE work.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 5:35 PM
thanks so much, JL - yes I have become very fond of Melodyne. Like with any tool, one has to get used to what kind of things one can realistically do well/transparently vs. which manipulations are creating undesirable artifacts. And let’s never forget the wonderful source track by KT, which was mesmerizing to work with.
AT
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 8:08 PM
Brilliant Spin, so very laid back, lovely mood. Wonderful vocals. Just lovely and a well deserved pick. Your how I did it was great by the way—good read.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 12:36 AM
thanks AT! It’s impossible to keep up with you, but I keep trying :-)
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 5:17 AM
O yeahhhh!
What can i say silky,smooth,sexy
very,very well done Spin
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 10:09 AM
thanks, George! the sexy comes from KT, the smooth from TJ. I’m just in the audience, cheering them on :-)
Surveillance_Party
.
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:21 AM
I really rate this :)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 10:10 AM
thanks kindly, SP! Love your handle and image by the way!
Lasswell
.
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:17 PM
How the hell did I miss this?!!! Wow! Spinmeister you’ve really created a gem here. Love the live jazz ensemble vibe. Kaer’s voice really sits well in the mix. I feel like I’m in a jazz bar right now…I just need a drink (gin and tonic) and I’ll be set! Really, really great job my friend!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:39 PM
thanks for your kind words, CL! I just came back from listening to your latest and am still trying to pick my jaw back up from the floor.
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, May 10, 2008 @ 8:03 PM
Stellar work, absolutely… I was stunned the first time I heard this and that’s part of the reason it took me so long to write this review.

I take issue with the mixer’s statement about his playing ability in the jazz vein, there’s some real nice playing on this one, even considering that a little bit is borrowed (and here that’s legal, and that’s a beautiful thing).

I always expect you, good Professor, to get your chords and your tech stuff just right, but this time you have packed in one heck of an emotional wallop inspired by that siren KT.

This is another level entirely for your musical development, which was already already quite impressive.

A virtual rose for you sir to lay atop your keyboard rig.
(it won’t drip water on the gear, much safer - and it won’t make the missus jealous either ;-)).
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, May 10, 2008 @ 9:03 PM
heck, with a review like that, it’s me who’s jealous of that person you are describing, because it couldn’t possibly be me :-) Thanks for the virtual rose, and fortunately - the virtual variety can be shared with KT and TJ, who provided the emotion and the talent. This remix felt more like a discovery than like a creation. Thanks again, essesq!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sat, May 10, 2008 @ 9:17 PM
oh sure, just cut and paste the rose and send it to whomever you like, with my compliments of course ;-).
Gotta love computers :-).
beckfords
.
permalink   Sun, May 11, 2008 @ 12:50 AM
now thats smoooth
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sun, May 11, 2008 @ 10:21 PM
thanks Mr. B!
shagrugge
.
permalink   Mon, May 12, 2008 @ 4:24 PM
rumor has it this was recorded live at the blue note…can you confirm?
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, May 12, 2008 @ 4:31 PM
psst. don’t tell anyone, but, there’s a recording session in progress right now :-)
Doghouse Riley
.
permalink   Sat, May 24, 2008 @ 9:14 AM
Yea, and it was about 2:00am by listenin to it and everbody was flyin perfectly high. Oh my. Very nice, ol pal. Sorry I’m just gettin around to hearin it. Excellent work and great idea. It was like a good tummy scratchin. Woof!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, May 24, 2008 @ 10:42 AM
thanks DR! there’s nothing like a little howling at the moon at 2:00 AM, is there? :-)
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, May 31, 2008 @ 12:55 PM
Considering the DNA of the remix, it’s amazing to hear how everything fits together so well, making it one fantastically wonderful song. What a way of spending ones saturday evening. Far better than trying to create something myself.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, May 31, 2008 @ 7:59 PM
Thank you so much for your kind words, Sir S.! But please don’t ever stop creating yourself. I know myself it takes a rather long time for each remix, but I try to keep going at it anyway. So I really hope you will, too! Thanks again for stopping by for a listen and your kind comment.
vo1k1
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 3:03 PM
Refreshing, personal, and very live vibe. I could have easily been nursing a single malt in a Chicago Near North club on a weeknight. Nice.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 4:07 PM
thanks vo1k1! You’re talking my kind of language - a smooth single malt is a very apt choice!
Cezary Ostrowski
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 2:52 AM
Astonishing work. Wet - as one of my gf’s said :)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 2:57 AM
Thanks CO! I guess “wet” is a good thing? ;-)
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 2:58 AM
Wheeeeew…this is nice, man. I feel like Joel from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, only able to say “nice,” but, wow, this is…what “nice” is. Spectacular!
G_Storm
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 10, 2008 @ 1:26 AM
Bloody nice! The piano, bass, vocals and everything work together really really well. Fantastic melody for the singer too.

It’s unreal that the melody wasn’t written and sung for this track. She has a great voice and you did a brilliant brilliant job on this.

You can really be taken away to that smokey jazz/blues bar.
Kudo’s.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Fri, Oct 10, 2008 @ 2:29 AM
Thanks for your kind words, GS! Don’t tell Mandyleigh she’s a grandmom … of this remix of course :-)
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 9:25 AM
oh my… I am in jazz lounge heaven. That was phenomenal!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Sat, Oct 2, 2010 @ 6:09 PM
thank you CS! And welcome to ccM - good to have you join the fun!