inTENtions Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "April (shockshadow's Zen remix)"

April (shockshadow's Zen remix)
by shockshadow
Recommends (14)
Wed, Aug 1, 2007 @ 9:24 PM
 
teru
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 2, 2007 @ 11:10 AM
This track makes me forget to breath. I love that bass. Love the piano, strings, pads and of course the vocals. All kinds of beautiful.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Thu, Aug 2, 2007 @ 5:59 PM
breath! BREATH! hehe…thanks teru.
:)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 2, 2007 @ 9:25 PM
Beautiful.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Thu, Aug 2, 2007 @ 10:15 PM
thank you j.lang, glad you enjoyed it
:)
oldDog
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 5:04 AM
subtle, restrained and very beautiful
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 9:24 AM
hey thanks olddog. “restrained”…i like that.
:)
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 10:52 AM
another perfect atmosphere and way to get those vocals just right , this is for the lack of a better word, RETARDED!!! and by that i mean awesome, this has some great chemical influences, i’m going to add to this this week!!! reeeemixxx
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Aug 4, 2007 @ 8:52 PM
lol, thank you cdk.
:)
fourstones
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 1:35 PM
awesome, that piano seers my soul. remarkable discipline in this one.
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Aug 4, 2007 @ 8:53 PM
hey thank you Victor. I appreciate the visit!
:)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 4:18 PM
very understated and beautifully done.

Simple and effective
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Aug 4, 2007 @ 8:55 PM
thank you Loveshadow. i find that the more complex life becomes, the more beauty i find in simplicity.
:)
businari
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 3, 2007 @ 7:53 PM
Very beautiful. Kinda bossa-nova vibe mixed with cybernetic ballad, in my impression. And the vocals…they made the character seem to be worried and bored at the same time! Like the droid that escapes with the character from Harrison Ford at the end of Blade Runner’s movie. Great for my ears!
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sat, Aug 4, 2007 @ 8:56 PM
hey thanks businari! great analogy. Bladerunner is one of my favorite all -time movies.
:)
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 5, 2007 @ 3:26 AM
..waoow..what a trip..!..what a good trip..!
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sun, Aug 5, 2007 @ 6:18 AM
thanks ditto!
:)
AlisonPublic
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 12, 2007 @ 5:53 PM
This is soooooo cool. I listened to 3 other remixes and I thought, no, shockshadows is the best, it’s a simple case of liking what one hears first. Then, after hearing Vanchy’s Remix, I thought that he was the topdog of the month, but upon hearing yours again, and frankly also after reading the rave reviews here, I am torn.
The piano is beautiful, I must admit. And the best integrating of her beautiful voice with the music.

The only minor point is, that I am so in love with that voice, your long intro is a tat annoying when cycling & listening on a iPod , with a lot of background noise. I can’t hear it, and it has the effect of pause. In quieter surroundings, your intro is verreee pretteee :)
Your best work (here) sofar, by far!!
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Sun, Aug 12, 2007 @ 7:24 PM
Thanks Alison! :)
 
.
permalink   AlisonPublic Wed, Aug 22, 2007 @ 11:54 PM
I wonder why you’re missing at her homepage?

http://staging.calendarsong...
Your mix is still one of the best, if not the best! :) :( ?
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Thu, Aug 23, 2007 @ 7:15 AM
hmmm…no idea. maybe she hasn’t heard it yet. i know ccmixter sends an email whenever someone remixes you, but maybe it slipped through the cracks. it’s really no big deal though. i’ll probably send her an email just in case.
thanks for the head’s up!
:)
 
.
permalink   calendargirl Thu, Aug 23, 2007 @ 7:29 AM
hello, cgirl here. my staging site is confusing people, i should take it down! this great mix is indeed up at csongs, check it out here:
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Thu, Aug 23, 2007 @ 10:43 AM
aw, thanks for the quick reply cgirl! i like your site design by the way…to me it’s got this cool 60’s modern-retro feel to it.
:)
 
.
permalink   AlisonPublic Wed, Aug 29, 2007 @ 8:08 AM
yah, those clunky colours sure make it feel like that. cool that I could help, if ever so limited to get this mix out. See my comment on Alive and kicking too, please ;)
spinmeister
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 13, 2007 @ 9:02 PM
this is sooo up my alley. Haunting, understated, minimalist, but above all just beautiful. Wow!
 
.
permalink   shockshadow Mon, Aug 13, 2007 @ 11:15 PM
hey thanks spinmeister, i’m happy you enjoyed it!
:)
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 14, 2007 @ 4:28 PM
Nicely deep