CC Community Music Awards
skip

Reviews for "Sleeping Gods"

Sleeping Gods
by Scott Altham
Recommends (30)
Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 12:34 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Zapac
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 12:47 PM
Yes, I already know what is the trance.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:12 AM
…good good. Thanks for stopping by Zapac ;-)
musikpirat
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 1:42 PM
Mh. I can’t hear any splutter. The melody at the end reminds me a little bit of “Insomia” by Faithless. Very nice variation of your older mix!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:13 AM
Hey. It’s near the end as chord section breaks back into the final stretch of rhythm.

Yes, those chords are very ‘insomnia’ line, thanks for the comparison, I love that tune.

Cheers
Scomber
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 3:23 PM
LotsOf nice little variations
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:13 AM
Thanks man
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 4:22 PM
Lovely song, like MP it reminds off faithless!!
Shame about the glitch, can’t you cut that piece out and replace it with a reversed crash?
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:14 AM
Hey - Yeah, i might try and give this another go today to cut it out.. or go buy a new PC with 2 cores or something. Thanks for listening!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 6:57 PM
Tight, make you move, but never boring, with all of the breaks and mood changes. As to the pella, you’ve used Loveshadow like an instrument, playing him in sixteenth notes… that’s creative enough to be worth another go. :)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:16 AM
Glad you’ve spotted the vocal chopping into sixteeth’s Bob, it’s a technique i’ve just come up with so it might appear in future mixes too.

Thanks for stopping by
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 8, 2011 @ 10:22 PM
Ah, technical difficulties. I have spent many hours getting quite frustrated over that. The multiple-bouncing-technique is no stranger to me (as is freezing the hell out of individual tracks).

Anyway, a pity about the glitch. It’s a great tune though, full of energy and a top-notch production.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:18 AM
Hey Sub. I think its time I got myself a new PC. With this much going on and this track being quite VST heavy, my CPU has a heart attack. In the state the mix is in now, I had to bounce certain VST riff’s into WAV just to release some load from the CPU.

Anyway, thanks for the continued support.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 12:44 AM
MASSIVE”

Very Solid intro ! and that break with the plug chords it’s all there !!!

Deeper variation than the first mix you did for LS vocals !
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:19 AM
Great comments from the master of this genre!

Cheers
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 3:42 AM
Large Soundscape
Huge Club Beat
Mad Rhythmic Syn-The-Sizers
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 4:19 AM
Cheers TRF. Nice colourful review!
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 5:27 AM
ditto all accolades and observations of preceding reviewers …
you’ve got the knack and groove Scott!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 5:29 AM
Anchor!, well hello sir, how are you?

Thanks for stopping in and lending one your ear.
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 11:06 AM
Hey Scott!
Nice one man! Pity for the glitch, but it doesn’t really spoil the joy
I had a lots of cpu problems with my old pc too… But sinds I got my multicore, I can go with vst’s EQ’s and EF’s very very far!
Great mix
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 9, 2011 @ 10:25 PM
Despite your technical probs, a fantastic, rich and powerful production that kick-started my week.
As a future bloodpressure insurance, may I suggest a Mac.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 10, 2011 @ 11:47 AM
Consider the Gods woken.

Here’s a tip not widely publicised till now ( well not by me anyhow )on PC `maxed out’ glitches.

` NV Grace Notes ’ check all your midi tracks for non velocity key strokes. If it’s all clean and not that try moving the clock position a few clicks on a few notes stacked on the beat to stop the bottle neck.

Other than that, stick to an acoustic guitar version.

In any event this’ll do fine :-)

Interesting timing to see these words come up again on the eve of yet another tragedy in the news.
axmodan
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 22, 2011 @ 7:27 AM
no kidding here m8 .. i’m from Brasila nd i kinda bump on that sound and maaaaaaaaaaan it was AMAAAAAAZING … 1 of the best mixes and song combined i ever hear. Gr8 stuff.