Break the Silence Event
skip
Home » People » Minus Kelvin » 24 hours ago » Reviews

Reviews for "24 hours ago"

24 hours ago
by Minus Kelvin
Recommends (7)
Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 4:58 AM
 
teru
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 11:11 AM
Marco has some good points. I really like the tension the sounds create. Awesome work with the feedback. This is very cool.
 
.
permalink   Minus Kelvin Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 11:21 AM
I generally agree with most criticism levelled at my stuff, but in this case, I can’t disagree more about the drumming. The drums ARE repetitive, no doubt. However, it is done with extreme intention. It takes a LOT of restraint for me to simplify my beats. I can and usually do go nuts with drum complexity. So yeah, this is song that is supposed to be a kind of ambient, simple rock song. A rock beat by definition is pretty simple. I also don’t see how you think the piano doesn’t fit the beat… it’s one with the beat. Though, I noticed you gave it a 5 review… so, I thank you for that! I hope I don’t sound defensive!

About the feedback… it’s actually heavily distorted orchestral strings. I made the track with some nice and clean strings then later decided that heavily distorted strings provided the right kind of tension I was looking for.
 
.
permalink   MarcoRaaphorst Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 9:06 PM
yes, I agree to most what you’re saying but I felt the drums good use some subtleties. and the timing is a bit more speedy than tnhe piano parts. I would make it more laidback.

but this is all very personal… just an opinion. I think this is great work.
MarcoRaaphorst
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 8:26 AM
It’s a sweet track but a little repetitive on the drums (which don’t seem to mix to good with the piano). I like the spareness and unique arrangement.

With a bit of work this might become top work I guess. Well done so far!
fourstones
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 15, 2005 @ 9:39 PM
yea, I wouldn’t change a thing — or get too defensive about a review here ;)
shockshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 16, 2005 @ 10:37 PM
i like this alot. very moody…the feedback part adds just the right touch of emotion to the sublime piano.
sHORT fACED bEAR
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 25, 2005 @ 12:32 PM
beautiful.. drums n all…
slumberlords
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ 5:32 PM
i´ve just discovered this an am gonna use it, really love that piano riff at the beginning and the break down near the end (With the piano solo). Yes, I know im late with the review :)