skip

Reviews for "Hey, Are You Here?"

Hey, Are You Here?
by Kara Square
Recommends (23)
Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 7:38 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 8:03 AM
I absolutely love this. So relatable. I see so many people who aren’t where they are. And it doesn’t even always involve a screen. Great song, great production.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 3:48 PM
Thank you, Speck. Like many of the social observations I throw into songs, I’m also guilty as charged. Sometimes these songs are pleas to myself… and so… I’ve been forcing more awareness… I don’t think this aspect of modern society is a positive thing… we’re always distracted… we’re losing empathy and it terrifies me.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 1:51 PM
The delicate air in your voice is breathtakiing. Reminds me a bit of PInk Floyd (I love them). Beautiful lyrics and vocal performance. And I agree with Panu, you’re one of the most powerful songwriters of our time!!

**Shooting stars are magical**
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 3:52 PM
Thank you, Emily. Funny, Katie also heard Pink Floyd & this wasn’t a conscious conjuring… but yeah, they’re certainly an influence. And geeeezzzzzz… I dunno about you and Panu, but I feel incredibly humbled and flattered.
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 2:07 PM
oh wow…Kara…what an assignement…and multple super WOWs for what you made of it.
I will spend extra time to digest what you did and the stems you have produced.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 3:58 PM
Thank you so much, Siobhan. I’m so happy that you enjoyed this. πŸ’—
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 3:50 PM
Well deserved Ed Pick. This is truly beautiful.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 3:59 PM
Thank you kindly, J. Lang. I appreciate it! πŸ’—
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 4:21 PM
I second Snowflakes Pink Floyd reference. Spectacular
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 5:54 PM
Thank you so much, Scomber! 🌟
Whitewolf
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 5:27 PM
Congrats on the Editors Pick, very well deserved! What a wonderful tune! I third the Pinkish Floyd sound, quite an inspiration!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 5:55 PM
Thank you so much, Whitewolf. I truly appreciate your kind words.🐺
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 11, 2019 @ 9:51 PM
Atmospheric phenomena of the sublunary sphere seem magical indeed!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 5:56 PM
Oooooo… Thank you, TRF! 🌠🌠🌠 (Those are shooting stars?)
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 8:19 PM
Yep
Bluemillenium
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 12:35 AM
C’est excellent, quel atmosphΓ¨re !!
Une ambiance musicale exceptionnelle.
J’aime beaucoup votre travail.
Bravo
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 5:57 PM
Thank you so much, Blue! You’re so kind! πŸ’™πŸ’—πŸ’™
Stefan Kartenberg
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 1:46 AM
Fantastic mix, Kara. I’m excited. You did a very well job here. Nice build up and use of my sample pool. Great performance by your vocals. Makes me proud to be a Mixter member.
Thank you so much.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 5:53 PM
Excellent! I’m so pleased that you enjoyed this. You have such an amazing catalog on ccM. It makes me proud to get to work with such talented musicians like you. Thank YOU for all that you share on ccMixter!
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 2:37 AM
Simply awesome. I couldn’t help but think it’s the perfect musical answer to “Wired but Disconnected”! (There’s a ccMixter-scored musical somewhere in this…)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 6:01 PM
YES! I totally thought of your song when I was writing this one. I often think of “Wired but Disconnected.” It continues to be such a poignant theme… and I just looked… you uploaded that 11 YEARS AGO! Whoa. So cool.

Also, thank you! I like the idea of exploring this sort of theme for a project… hmmmm…
Dysfunction_AL
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 12:11 PM
Perfect combination of artistic qualities. The music and the voice marry perfectly. Kara did a great job on the magical and dreamy composition of Stefan. There is a great quality in every aspect
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Aug 12, 2019 @ 6:03 PM
Ahhhh… you’re so kind! Thank you so very much for listening! I’m happy that you enjoyed it!πŸ’—
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 13, 2019 @ 8:12 AM
When I saw the title, my first impression was that this would be a song about losing a loved one to dementia (perhaps because that is on my mind these days)… but then I read the lyric further and saw…not dementia, just demented.

Great social commentary. Gorgeous music.

Thank you for sharing your prodigious gifts with us so generously Kara. You rock. Bravo on the well deserved ed pick.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Aug 14, 2019 @ 1:31 PM
That’s certainly a reasonable initial impression with my songwriting history! And yeah…

Thank you for all of your kind words, Susan. Your support means the world to me.
Nickillus
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 13, 2019 @ 1:32 PM
This is glorious. An utterly enchanting arrangement, full of mystery and charm. Sound balance is fantastic too.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Aug 14, 2019 @ 1:33 PM
Ahhhh… so kind! Thank you so much Nickillus! I’m so happy you enjoyed it!
Apoxode
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 15, 2019 @ 9:07 PM
Wow, just wow, Kara!
Love your vocal work here, and this song is sweet and touching.
Great choice of material to build around, you and Stefan sound wonderful together.
I’m telling you, that’s what I love about the Secret Mixter is when it’s two great artists coming up with something new, when only one of them knows about it :)
Super star!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Aug 20, 2019 @ 6:25 AM
Hello Apoxode! Thank your for listening and for all of your kind, supportive words! Yes, I am soooo with you. Secret Mixters are such an exciting creative artistic adventure!