Early Birds Begin Nesting in the Tree
skip

Reviews for "Ana (cinematrik's smooth dub)"

Ana (cinematrik's smooth dub)
by cinematrik
Recommends (61)
Wed, Mar 7, 2007 @ 8:47 AM
 
AnotherAudioAmateur
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 7, 2007 @ 2:07 PM
I don’t like Reggae. Don’t ask me why, but it’s one of the few musical styles I don’t like. For that reason, the “Ana” Contest wasn’t something I was monitoring very much.

And then HBE comes along and saves the day: what a brilliant mix! What an unexpected way to use the samples! Well structured, this mix never gets boring. I wouldn’t know anything to change to make it better.

BTW: it’s good that it’s not “super chill”. :-)

Easy 5 stars!
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:16 PM
Hey man thanks for the kind words - glad you like it!
plurgid
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 7, 2007 @ 6:52 PM
Oh wow.
that’s just straight inspiring, man.

this one’s going to be in heavy rotation for a while on my playlist.
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:17 PM
Thanks for the props!
chola
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 7, 2007 @ 8:54 PM
All I can say is WOW! This has got hit written all over it. I could see this being played by progressive dj’s the world over. I can hear the “Proton!” :)
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:19 PM
I hope you’re right :-) Thanks for the great review.
Nickleus
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2007 @ 1:46 AM
a really strong, moving song. great job! added to my favs.
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:20 PM
Thanks man! Glad you like it.
Vidian
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2007 @ 2:15 AM
Wow…
I’m listening to it now, Its really amazing…

Very nice, this music genre is more my style :) More like this should be made..
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:21 PM
Glad you like it - thanks for the compliment! Hopefully I’ll put some more mixes up here that are more uptempo like this…
The Hexyl Circle
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 3:51 AM
Brilliant, hisboyelroy, I’m playing it on my podcast Friction Fiction Show 34. Many thanks.
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:22 PM
Thanks for playing it on your podcast! Glad you like it.
tacet
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 3:17 PM
Cool man! Reminds me very much of a lot of those really obscure dance mixes of African artists.

You obviously put a lot of thought and time into the process and for such a great reward! :)

Awesome that you explained how you did it too, I enjoy reading how others work and their secret tricks ;)

Cheers! :D
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:23 PM
Thanks man - and thanks for reading the “how i did it” - I didn’t know if anyone reads that stuff or not - nice to know at least you did :-)
shockshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 8:05 PM
i love this elroy. seriously. truly a contemplative trip of monumental proportions. you are skilled my friend.
:)
 
.
permalink   cinematrik Fri, Mar 9, 2007 @ 11:23 PM
Thanks for the praise man, glad you like it!
cdk
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 12, 2007 @ 3:04 PM
this is really well done, and the mastering on it is great…
 
.
permalink   cdk Tue, Mar 27, 2007 @ 2:45 PM
congrat’s man, good job!!!
subpixel
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2007 @ 8:49 PM
Love your work man - was blown away last year by your Copyright Criminals track, and this one is also killer.

I’ve made a little film clip (an experiment), now playing on YouTube. Check it!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=...

This is my first clip. Let me know what you think and if you’d like me to make some more. :o)

subpixel
Sydney, AU
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2007 @ 11:26 PM
WoW !!!!!!
BRILLIANT.
A pure delight to the ears.
Great Mix!!!!!
sankey
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2007 @ 11:50 PM
I AM HUMBLED, CRUSHED AND INSPIRED!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 28, 2007 @ 5:02 PM
Congratulations! I’m glad you won, and I hope your version helps spread the word about this fine artist from Mali.
scmodstyle
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 13, 2007 @ 12:42 AM
Hey hisboyelroy, your stuff rocks. This track was PERFECT to use in my latest film as the backdrop for an informative narration. The segment that uses this song begins approx 50 seconds into the film.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HI4-eDG3Bb0

Proper credit was given in the credits of course.
Luke Tripp
.
permalink   Wed, May 23, 2007 @ 10:32 PM
Thanks so much for putting up the ‘How I Did It’. Definitely some helpful tips in there that everyone should check out. Thanks!

And congrats on the contest!
DURDEN
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 11:48 PM
Very cool atmospheres created with the delays. Comes in one side, then in the other and fades… that give the track a mystical reinforced by the voice. very very good!
Andrew Maze
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 4, 2008 @ 3:28 PM
Amaizing track, with great atmosphere. And Vieux Farka Touré’s vocal sounds like it has been made for this track. Just cant stop listening to this one!
You’re so talented maaan! :D
disaac
.
permalink   Wed, Aug 19, 2009 @ 7:27 PM
Awesome!
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 9, 2010 @ 10:06 AM
Love the atmosphere and mood of this one! Makes me want to lay outside in a hammock and just close my eyes
mazinga
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 12:11 PM
Hi, i used your song for a personal video, you can check it at:
http://vimeo.com/17080043

Thank you