One Love Event Extended!
skip

Reviews for "His Mirror Sees ("Reverb is My Friend" Mix)"

His Mirror Sees ("Reverb is M...
by essesq
Recommends (18)
Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 7:45 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Lasswell
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 8:30 PM
Really nice job Essesq! I’m hoping very much that you have more time to do some additional remixes here…and elsewhere for that matter! Keep it up!
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 9:42 PM
Thank you Lasswell. Your encouragement is much appreciated.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 8:53 PM
In 1984, when I was a young lawyer just out of professional school, the Dallas music scene and the Austin music scene spontaneously generated dozens of bands and myriads of audiences for their work.

We gathered in clubs like Tango, where huge statues of musical frogs graced the rooftops (those frogs now are located atop a truck stop town called Carl’s Corner which I believe Mr. Willie Nelson has purchased with bio-diesel intentions), and where I saw the Dream Syndicate perform live one of the very best concerts that I have ever seen.

When I wanted to see a new band I might love, I would go to an unassuming bar called Theatre Gallery in the jazz-historical Deep Ellum region, which had become a place of what had only begun to be called “alternative music” and which we might instead call by more specific genre names, like “post-punk”, “Americana”, “new music”, or even “synthpop”.

I love the way the years blend impossible things into the mix, as in my mind I’m wearing a hand-painted Victoria Henshaw shirt I got years later to the show, and
every band could do synth work like this without a Fairlight, which I do not now believe could be done in 1984.

I particularly liked that our local scene, rather than merely scenes in NY or London, generated lots of bands which “got their hands around” the tremendous evolution in sound which the passing of the punk phase would bring.

My friends and I loved bands that could combine synths, rock stylings, and a sense of non-trite irony to the post-rock era. I still love songs that can do that.

In 1985, I would have loved to go to Theatre Gallery to hear this played, and would not have complained about the thick haze of clove cigarettes I’d have to endure to hear it.

I love the synths here, and the way you’ve gotten a full production sound without it feeling too overdone. I’m never much of a pitch-matching remixer in my own right, so I think it’s very impressive what you’ve assembled, despite your creditable self-effacement.

This is well-done, and it’s going to be downloaded and enjoyed by many.
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 9:26 PM
Thank you very much for your review, Gurdonark. I should explain my notes a bit for the uninitiated. I began my mixing journey with a personal mandate, to prove that anyone could learn how to produce music through the vehicle of remixing. My learning process began with a forum thread I started on another website which was titled “Anyone can do this, right?” I started out asking for advice on which free software to download. The first piece of serious technical advice I got was how to divide samples using a menu item called “split item at cursor.” I want everyone to know that with enough attention, desire and the help of a few good mentors this stuff can be done by anybody.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 9:20 PM
very cool - a remix in the original sense of the word; love your alternative sound textures, and the stuff you’ve done around the bridge. Really gives it a different feeling.

Both of my thumbs way
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Apr 6, 2008 @ 9:41 PM
Thanks Spinmeister. It is worth noting here that I did not play a note or a beat of this myself. This is pure deconstruction and reconstruction (and a little midi reassignment). So when I say it features A Minor Theory, I mean it!
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 12:23 AM
Nice n’ hooky… I’m not going to get all quibbly with the technical stuff, because it’s minor, and the overall sound works very well- plus it’s a definitely thought-out, full-fledged remix!
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 7:01 PM
Say whatever you want to D. I got the review notification and all I could think was “awesome I have that dancing duck on my mix :-).” My daughter tried to steal it!

Seriously thanks a bunch, and quibble all you want, I’ve got plenty of my own, but hey I’m still pretty excited about dancing to my own beats (sort of). If you want to fill me on your critical points privately feel free to e-mail me. I’d be interested to see if we agreed on what was off.

Thanks for calling it “hook-y.”
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 12:29 AM
Well as someone who really prefers to take a vocal and add to it I must say you have done a really nice job on this. At first I thought the percussion hits a little too overpowering but as the mix progressed I came to see this as a great idea. It really makes the mix special.

You’ve come a long way girl so make sure you keep the mixes coming.

Well done!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 7:05 PM
Many thanks RT and see below…
shimoda
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 5:54 AM
This is a great feel for remixing this piece. I particularly like the way the equalization and effects bring the mix ‘closer’ at points but bring it back, making me feel that I’m going to be able to ‘grab’ the piece, then it simply folds away… Like looking in a mirror, it’s only an image. Very Nice:)
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Apr 7, 2008 @ 7:04 PM
Thanks Shimoda. There’s something very special when you know that someone else heard what you were actually doing. I fiddled a lot with the eq on this one trying to get the sounds in their own places. The last move on that was punching the drums up. Spacing is a big thing with me, although I still have a lot to learn in that regard. Your review means a lot to me.
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 5:44 PM
Thanks for the Avatar! I don’t know how to credit you more generally but I really appreciate it!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 8, 2008 @ 2:38 PM
Hey essesq! Could you please add a “real” avatar or just a pick of a landscape on your profile?
I have overseen you and your new opus between all the coloured and artful pics of different members.
This remix is surprising, not only because you have used the first time drums and a conventionell song structure. I like the more “agressive” sound you have used for it. Nice flange/phase fx on the core sound. Always good to try new recipes and even if you spent a lot of time for producing it, it is fully worth it!

My respect, Madame!
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 8, 2008 @ 7:23 PM
Sorry about the avatar but as I cannot possibly top Duckett’s duck I am at a loss for what to do :-). Perhaps a kind soul could design one for me. Y’all know where to find me.

Thanks for the compliments on the mix. It was a more aggressive sound I was going for. I love the original version but I wanted to see it with just a bit more edge to it. If I had any quibble with the original it was that it was too tidy and neat. I am many things but tidy and neat are not two of them :-), so I was eminently qualified to disorganize the mix a little ;-). Glad you picked up on that, Joe.

Finally, if you don’t want to miss another of my mixes I think Fourstones and company have handy features on the site to make sure you won’t. I think you can subscribe to an RSS feed of my stuff, but don’t think it’s not working if it’s another 6 months before it feeds you anything. I’ve got a snail orchestra working for me, and a couple of slugs in the control room. They’re slimy but very smoo-oo-the :-).
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ 9:47 AM
RSS feeds, yeeeeaaaassss! That_s agood purpose. I hope my brain can make it!
You can draw your own pic, you don_t have to wait for a kind artistic soul here! ;-)
6 months? What are you planning? Okay, I can wait.
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 5:45 PM
Hey look, a kind soul did make me an avatar!
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ 5:14 AM
The first remix of yours with beats!!!
Keep them coming Essesq!
Respect from all the way my friend!
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ 7:37 PM
Ah yes George, but there are beats and there are beats sir :-). Many thanks for your continuing kindness and support.
AT
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ 7:26 PM
I was suprised as soon as the first note hit!. I know theres lots of discussion on what a remix is but to me this is a true remix, hats off to you for just using samples to create something new. I know I joined up well after you first post over at the “other place” but its been a pleasure to hear and see you get just better and better.
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Apr 9, 2008 @ 7:46 PM
Well AT truth be told, this isn’t entirely made of “samples.” I was very kindly given a few of the original midi files to work with so some of the stuff you hear is those files re-voiced with different vsti’s. One very surprising result came from reassigning the e-piano file (if you remember the mix pack) to a weird synth. This was my way of getting around having to actually compose notes but still changing the sound of the piece.

It’s been suggested to me that I can’t call myself a beginner anymore. There’s something a little sad in that. Kind of like watching your kids grow up. Tonight my husband took our play kitchen out of the house to be sold at a consignment sale. While it was time for it to go, I’m sure I will miss the playful innocence it once witnessed.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 4:53 AM
I heard this mix the day it was uploaded and waited a while to see what would be said.

The reason being is a lot of people commenting here know your mixing history and where you began from.

In many ways its like when you comment on a young child’s drawing. It is the achievement of just making the marks on the paper not always the artistic quality that you are enthusing over. The praise leads to confidence and so to more drawings.

There comes a time though that ability and age or practice no longer count. Say when the child shows elements of perspective and scale , the judgement moves onto a more critical aspect of the work rather than just support and an encouraging pat on the back.

You are at that point with this mix. It does not sound like a beginner. It has form , thought and musical progression and is a seriously good mix.

For me you sound like you are not climbing the novice ladder any longer but you are on the bottom of another more challenging climb.

You have come of age and from now on Ess the steps are steeper.
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 7:22 PM
What can I say sir… I bow humbly …
AndreasF
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 4:29 PM
I wonder if you really know how high you are on that musical ladder Jay is talking about. You have got a deep feeling for music, you have got taste, you have got style, you have got passion and now you took the extra time to learn the last things how to create wonderful music with your own two ears and hands. I think ‘How to handle’ was the last brick, from now on the sky is the limit. No surprise for me, I knew it would happen and I was very sure on this. And I was waiting for this one for some time and I’m very happy that I accidently found it over here just in time.

There is only one thing I wish for now: Please open the cellar-door and free your kids!! ;-) OK, and another wish: Keep on running!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Thu, Apr 10, 2008 @ 7:21 PM
How kind of you to travel so far to leave this comment, Andreas. (ok so it’s a few keystrokes but we all know you are the retired “headphone soldier.” Did they give you a nice retirement package? :-))

I really appreciate what you said and I hope future efforts won’t disappoint you ;-). You are a very kind and generous soul. Many many thanks.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 16, 2008 @ 3:06 PM
I am simply seconding all thats been said to you! Its a great joy to make music and creative discoveries. Keep up your explorations!
 
.
permalink   essesq Wed, Apr 16, 2008 @ 6:33 PM
Many thanks Anchor. I think I’ll be at this for quite a while longer so there should be more to share. Don’t know how soon though ;-).

And a big global thank you to all who have turned up and listened and commented. It means a lot to me. You’ve all put me in some pretty impressive company in that “what’s hot now” list. Comical really, but I’ll take it for now ;-).

This is a great community and I’m proud to be part of it.
slumberlords
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ 7:42 PM
welcome to the world of remixing! For a first time, this is really really good. That bass riff is killer for starters and the use of effects (particularly the flange) is very expertly overlayed and not easy to manipulate the way you did. You also seem to have mastered some audio mixing complexities. Its clear you put a lot of thought and effort into this and I think its fabulous!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ 7:58 PM
Thanks a lot slumberlords - but not first remix, just first remix with beats :-). 3 mixes total here and a little collection elsewhere. Still I’ll take the compliment :-). The world of remixing has me in its sway rather firmly - and much moreso with a community like this one. Many thanks for your review.
 
.
permalink   slumberlords Fri, Apr 25, 2008 @ 8:33 PM
you are welcome :)
Songboy3
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 2:36 PM
MAN! That f*ckin’ groove is ssssssssooooooooo WICKED! I must’ve played it 6 times before I got to this review! Anyway, as you can tell, i’m loving this! It’s got this new wave-vibe but it’s got the single most important thing that all songs should have: it’s got a feel, a vibe, a groove. I’m waiting for the 14 minute remix! Excellent!!!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 3:49 PM
Quote: Songboy3MAN! That f*ckin’ groove is ssssssssooooooooo WICKED!

WOO - HOO it’s my first review with a bleeped-out expletive - a true landmark in my musical career :-).

Quote :I must’ve played it 6 times before I got to this review!

- There’s your 14 minute version, Songboy!

Quote: Anyway, as you can tell, i’m loving this! It’s got this new wave-vibe but it’s got the single most important thing that all songs should have: it’s got a feel, a vibe, a groove.


- Thanks Songboy, it means a lot coming from you because I truly believe that you know what those things are and how to make them happen in your own stuff.

I may just one day feel confident enough to tackle one of your pellas. I can only pray you’ll be as happy with the result.
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 3:54 PM
Someday I’ll understand the formatting on this site…:-)
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Tue, Apr 29, 2008 @ 6:15 AM
Please essesq: tackle it, push it, pull it, do whatever! Only good things can come from it! Please check out ROSSI’s mix of ‘Magic’ and you migfht see what I mean…