Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Rain Lament (Pretty Mix)"

Rain Lament (Pretty Mix)
by vo1k1
Recommends (26)
Tue, Jan 29, 2008 @ 9:28 PM
 
DURDEN
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 12:00 PM
Good Job. The song creates an atmosphere very slowly and quiet… the voice suits very well even though sometimes it’s loud in the original acapella… I like the arranges to the vocals, the soft harmonies.. a vocoder? or granulizar?… I liked.
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 10:11 PM
Thanks for the review, greatly appreciated :) I used a number of techniques with the vocals, including a relatively straight forward presentation, as well as time stretching, pitch shifting, and general audio cuisinarting with plugins, soft samplers and offline manipulation.
shagrugge
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 8:35 PM
so, so good
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 10:02 PM
Thanks for the feedback! I’ve been listening to remixes from ccmixter for a couple months now, loving what I hear, so the pick is pretty exciting :)
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 11:01 PM
hey you
wow. fantstic. what a coup for you.
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 10:15 PM
Thanks Kaer :) - I’m glad I found your vocal!
duckett
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 12:29 AM
What’s not to love? The tumbling cascade of the strings, the sparse nakedness of the plucked repetitive (in a good way) melody, the sophistication first made evident in the delayed harmonies …”whisked us away”… no wonder it’s an Ed. Pick!
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 10:17 PM
Thanks for all the positive feedback! duckett, I’m glad you mentioned the strings and harmonies, I really wanted those elements to play well with the expressiveness of Kaer Trouz’s vocal.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 7:08 AM
A lovely intro, with a nice feeling of atmosphere. Then the strings wash in very nicely, and sync in a lovely way with the voice.

The use of delay to enhance the vocals works very well. The vocal split and harmonies around 1.20 are heavenly.

I like the guitar-ish addition around 1:35ish. The creative use of shifting to create chorus effects works very well, and the little snippets of morphed electronica are nice.

It might have been fun at 2:15 or so to have a bit of a guitar break, though I do like the way you extend things out a bit at 3ish.

I like the way that you move from a wash of strings to a simpler string arrangement for variation in the fourth minute of the song.

This remix really brings out the virtues in this very nice ‘pella.

I’d like to hear more minor electronica “impurities” in the borders here, to keep things from becoming too sweet, but that’s a statement of choice rather than a critique or complaint about what you have done here.

This mix is a powerful reminder of the wonderful things remix culture can do for a voice, with harmonic planning and the grace you bring to this mix.

bravo!
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 9:12 PM
Thanks for the detailed and thoughtful feedback, greatly appreciated! I like the idea of something happening around 2:15, guitar break or maybe a side-trip in melodic movement to anticipate the change at 3-ish. Near the end of working on this, I had a similar thought about the overall sound possibly being too pure or precious. However, my inclination was that it was finished, so I decided not to overcook.
slumberlords
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 10:18 AM
i like the vocal work very much, this is very nice
teru
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 1:26 PM
Everything about this is gorgeous.
Ruggea
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 8:05 AM
Oh My…
Can’t stop listening to this… beautiful.. just beautiful
ztutz
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 5:33 PM
Very nice technical work! Beautiful.
oldDog
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 1:23 AM
Just to agree with everyone else, this is very classy and atmospheric, subtle treatment of a great vocal.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 6:20 AM
WOW, simply WOW!!!!!!!
AT
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 7:47 PM
Lovely, beautiful and Wow from me as well. Well deserved pick.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 3:24 AM
Magnificent..
..all simply..Magnificent.!!!!
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 5:47 AM
This is very nice.
Songboy3
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 6:39 AM
HOLY SH*T!!! Simply fantastic to the Nth Power!!!
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 3, 2008 @ 2:37 PM
this is great work…
very good.
narva9
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 4, 2008 @ 3:55 PM
Seriously beautiful. It really brings out the drama of Kaer’s powerful vocals….yet still so vulnerable.

Wonderful!

n9
plurgid
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 7, 2008 @ 6:34 PM
good God almighty!
that’s completely masterful.
vitorenes
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 27, 2008 @ 5:44 PM
Excellent work. Extremely visual music, mesmerizing overall effect - just what I was looking for! Thanks… I’ll be contacting this artist(when what I’m doing is finished). I’m so dumb I just posted this review under another work, but hey, these kudos are for you, vo1k1 !!
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 3, 2008 @ 7:38 PM
Great song - I used it in my college internet radio program! Keep up the wonderful work!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 11:30 AM
I am glad to have detected this nice tune after your review. This makes also clear how much good music is posted here without being reviewed.

This is absolutely lovely!

A great composition with these few elements. Nothing is missing to make this remix a fabulous romantic track that touches.

A good example, how an intelligent arrangement can create a very sensitive tune! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   vo1k1 Fri, Jun 27, 2008 @ 3:21 PM
Thanks for the review, appreciated!

I also agree that ccmixter is a treasure trove of outstanding music. Sometimes I listen to remixes randomly until I find some I like, and then start following the related links - like a scavenger hunt. There is so much inspiring work here - in contrast, my mainstream ipod playlists are increasingly sounding safe and boring :)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 5, 2009 @ 10:46 PM
i just wanted to bump this track a little and say how incredible it is. amazing clarity and i don’t think i’ve ever heard kaer sound so good. a really well deserved ed pick. not sure how i missed this the first time around but i guess i’m proof it pays sometimes to go poking around in the deep archives. if you haven’t heard this, i highly encourage a listen.