skip
Home » People » Snowflake » New Earth » Reviews

Reviews for "New Earth"

New Earth
by Snowflake
Recommends (53)
Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 10:21 AM
 
tigabeatz
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 10:40 AM
catchy. you added some real nice subtle effects that add a lot to the joy of listening.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:40 AM
thank you for taking the time to review :)
Carosone
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 10:47 AM
Seems mono, by mistake. But the song is nice, and I like your journey.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:08 AM
hmmm, i bounced in stereo and used various panning so it shouldn’t be mono. maybe i used too much compression and normalization?
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:56 AM
No it can’t be because of compression or normalization. I don’t know what DAW you are using, but it could be just some setting in the bounce or in the track you were bouncing to or when exporting the final file or in the app preferences (just a guess).
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:57 AM
i use protools. i’ll check it out. thanks!
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 12:12 PM
Ok. I’m no Pro Tools expert. I have Pro Tools 10 also in my puter, but I haven’t used it too much. How about this vid? -> http://www.youtube.com/watc...
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 1:11 PM
I listened the track again and there is stereo information for example in the drum fills, but most of the material sits in the middle. So this is not what you wanted?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 2:51 PM
the lead vox is straight up the middle but i placed the guitars a little to each side. the drums and loops are at the far ends of the stereo field. placed vocal delays panning from side to side, also keyboard glitch parts. i think my individual track compressions and EQs may be the issue. i’m still investigating! your help is so appreciated. i will bounce the pell and maybe you can do some magic with it ;)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Oct 30, 2013 @ 8:33 PM
I’ve spent some time spreading some of the sounds into a broader spectrum and have tidied up the edits and mix. Would love your feedback Carosone and Zep :)
 
.
permalink   Zep Hurme Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 11:51 AM
Sounds much more glued, solid and clearer to my ears.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:22 PM
thank you :) i just did made a few other adjustments to the bass levels given some feedback from Copperhead so i think it should be even a little better now. mixing is tough! thanks for your help :)
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 10:57 AM
Thanks for the earworm! ;) I can’t get that chorus off of me head now, bonnie lass. Really catchy piece and it was worth the trouble to get Copster to create the breathtaking drive with the drumkits.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:40 AM
ah thank you! any suggestions on how to make it sound better sonically? it sounds full and round in my mixing speakers but not great in the bounce…?
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:05 AM
This is extremely catchy after just one listen. I love the glitch feel you have going on. Fantastic lyrics and melody and overall feel. I have to check that book out.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:41 AM
thanks Greg! yea, the guitar and keyboard editing made it glitchy, a new thing for me. any suggestions on why t sounds so boxy in the bounce? it sounded great on my big speakers. mixing is not my forte — too bad you live on the opposite coast!
 
.
permalink   copperhead Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 12:23 PM
It seems to me the guitar is red lining and needs some eq. It was only apparent in the intro.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 8:11 PM
any EQ suggestions? ;)
 
.
permalink   copperhead Mon, Oct 28, 2013 @ 5:53 PM
Can you send me a loop of that guitar by itself?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Oct 30, 2013 @ 8:33 PM
I’ve spent a couple days fixing and tightening everything and have replaced the mix. Would love your feedback Copperhead :)
 
.
permalink   copperhead Thu, Jan 30, 2014 @ 7:46 PM
I just listened to the source files you used and it’s confirmed, you are a genius!
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:22 AM
Reading the other reviews “catchy” seems to be the word du jour here but it really is a very catchy song. Those choruses… Great song!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 11:41 AM
thank you timberman! i really appreciate your feedback. :)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 12:22 PM
Excellent work with the samples.
Yes, the song is catchy and wonderful.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 2:47 PM
thank you!!! i love your track!
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 1:53 PM
I’m also a fan of the glitchy approach. Incredibly catchy.
Regarding mono; sounds fine to me - it plays to the acoustic feel of the song.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 2:49 PM
thanks Scomber! i rechecked my bounces and everything is stereo. i think it may be the effect on the vocals in the verses? i used a “transistor radio” EQ that seemed to fit the glitchy nature of the chopped guitar and keyboards. so i’m glad you think it sounds ok! mixing is the hardest part for me. i appreciate your feedback and encouragement.
reusenoise
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 2:57 PM
only a word:Superlative !
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 2:58 PM
oh, you are too kind!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 3:05 PM
Geezzz… Excellent, excellent work! Upbeat, dancey, catchy, glitchy delicious goodness! Damn, lady! You’ve got insane skills! Love those backup vox… Soooo flippin’ cool. BIG OL’ **HIGH FIVE!!!**
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 5:38 PM
thank you Kara! you are so kind to notice all of those details. :)
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 4:45 PM
New Music
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 5:39 PM
thanks Jeris :)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 7:31 PM
Love the acoustic rocking over Tony Levin style stick playing and a great percussion track, a great blend of techno and rock, with the usual top flight meaningful lyrics.

This is really great stuff. Boy do some people do their best work on Secret Mixters or what?
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Oct 27, 2013 @ 8:15 PM
wow, a Tony Levin comparison? you’ve made my day and possibly year. yes, the Secret Mixter brings out amazing creativity and talent. i look forward to it every quarter. thanks for your review and encouragement :)
stellarartwars
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 28, 2013 @ 7:30 AM
Oddly enough, reminds me of Toxic by Britney with of Avicii thrown in. Super commercial-sounding work.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:23 PM
wow — i did a karaoke performance of that song once — don’t tell! hahahah thanks for the review :D
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 28, 2013 @ 7:59 AM
Excellent crossover rnb pop…very VERY catchy and one that you catch yourself nodding your head way after you started. Very cool
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:24 PM
thanks for taking the time to comment. i really appreciate it :D
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 28, 2013 @ 2:32 PM
Nice combination of acoustic and electronics. Also it feeds itself well and finds itself healthy.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:25 PM
so glad you think it is healthy — gave it spinach and herbs this morning lol ;) thanks for commenting!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 28, 2013 @ 3:14 PM
Music ready for my library, yum :))
Excellent track, Snowflake… really catchy and cool. Congrats for your skills, nice music :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:26 PM
oh so glad you like it! you are too kind ;)
debbizo
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 29, 2013 @ 6:19 AM
Catchy it is! And I love the bass / vocals.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:27 PM
thanks Deb! i’ve been refining the bass part a little. it was clipping. i hope it is better now :)
Javolenus
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 30, 2013 @ 5:06 AM
Cool songwriting skills — thanks for including my stems!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:28 PM
thank you Javolenus! i knew i wanted to use your loops because they really spoke to me — it worked perfectly for this track :) you rock!
Alex
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 11:23 AM
Great song! You really know how to do it, do you?
Sounds very good to me
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Oct 31, 2013 @ 12:29 PM
ah, thanks Alex! you are the real Pro ya know ;) i appreciate your review and kindness :D
CSoul
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 1, 2013 @ 3:04 PM
no need words.,
peace
My Free Mickey
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 2, 2013 @ 3:52 AM
Nice work. catchy lirics
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 2, 2013 @ 10:42 AM
I’m just sorting through some of my old stuff prior to moving house. This process always makes me feel sad. Happily your brilliant track has cheered me up :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 6, 2013 @ 6:44 PM
Once again, you blow it out of the park! I love how you handled the material (I’m sure it won’t surprise you if I say I’ve been thinking about some of these same issues… ) Big ups girlie! (and sorry for the late review . . . )
DJDecay
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 8, 2013 @ 5:16 AM
Totally unexpected timing to the build-ups in this. Amazing. Thank you for posting the full track as well as the vocals!
Citizen C
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:09 AM