Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Shifting Junkie"

Shifting Junkie
by simonlittlefield
Recommends (12)
Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 3:58 AM
 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 5:05 AM
This song teleports me to a movie. It’s an action movie in 1973. The chase is on through the streets of Hamburg, a dark Mercedes following an Alfa Romeo at breakneck speed. At some point, the cars get ditched, and the parties slip from alley to alley in a busy market area. Thanks for creating this interesting mix.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 5:14 AM
I think you have just successfully pitched to make the video for this! Thanks for the review.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 5:21 AM
Sadly, with my video-making skills, the chase would either star stickfigure animations or ducks.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 6:43 AM
I would be very happy with that.
 
.
permalink   mwic Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 6:12 AM
Quote: simonlittlefieldI think you have just successfully pitched to make the video for this! Thanks for the review.

You can borrow my Alfa Romeo
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 6:47 AM
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 8:54 AM
The soundtrack to my fears on Artificial Intelligence.
The right portion of distraction, dysharmonies.
I like it….as I am a data junkie.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:04 AM
Thank you!
Apoxode
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 10:18 AM
This is fun! Wild ride from start to finish — it’s raw, it’s groovy, and just when we think we’ve got it figured, you pull the rug right out from under us at at 3:45. Then it gets super psychedelic and spacey. Great mix!
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:06 AM
Thanks! At one point the psychedelic dub ending was much longer than the first groove…
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 12:04 PM
You’ve definitely lit up my sky! This is powerful. I feel it in my chest. I really enjoyed reading about your process too. There are so many incredible sounds in this track (and yes, the guitars are amazing) — you helped me listen deeper. I can completely hear Mana’s style in this, and yet, it sounds like you too. That guitar section at the stop is so rockin’!!! What a crescendo back to the groove. Great mix.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:09 AM
Thanks, Snowflake! Glad you think I’ve struck the balance between Mana Junkie’s excellent grooves and my own musical tastes. I like that guitar section too - but no idea how I did it…
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 2:40 PM
Dig the big guitars. Creates an energy that runs throughout
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:09 AM
Thanks, Scomber.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 4:14 PM
Very cool track. While listening, I was looking at another screen. When the feel completely shifted, I went back to the playlist to see what I was listening. The transition was so seamless but the sections so stylistically different, that I thought I was actually listening to a different track.

Thank you for including me in this creative, groovy and artistic sonic treasure.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:10 AM
Thank you! I have sneakily incorporated two tracks in one. But your vocal really is the thread that binds everything together.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 8, 2018 @ 7:15 PM
Infectious beat and great electro-rock feel, Siimon. Really like the sitar-like timbre and changing the rhythm and soundscape.
 
.
permalink   simonlittlefield Mon, Jul 9, 2018 @ 3:12 AM
Thank you!