skip
Home » People » Scomber » Endurance » Reviews

Reviews for "Endurance"

Endurance
by Scomber
Recommends (22)
Sat, Nov 23, 2019 @ 10:05 PM
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 23, 2019 @ 10:12 PM
Magic, still filled with all that pop sensibility. Reminds me a little bit of the way Lisa DeBenedictis used lots of odd little sounds to back a perfectly crafted pop song. And the overall effect is somewhat Roxy Music.

Nicely sung BTW.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:22 PM
Thanks AB, had a blast constructing a song this way. Not sure about Roxy Music, but I did ride on a ferry called Brian the other day !
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 23, 2019 @ 10:16 PM
Gurdonark, Leon and Admiral Bob … clearly an enduring opus

Sensibly crafted of course
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:22 PM
Thanks TRF :))
Apoxode
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 23, 2019 @ 10:17 PM
Nice range of instrumentation, from electric beeps to electric guitar it sounds great with your vocals!
Heavy duty song — persevering together is an awesome way to live :)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:25 PM
Took a while doing it instrument by instrument and then into midi, but meant I didnt have to do much mastering /eq work at the end, with each part already owning its own place in the EQ.
Glad you like the lyrics, something that says something is mostly better than a series of yeah yeah yeahs.
Cheers
Whitewolf
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 23, 2019 @ 10:29 PM
I can only agree with the other reviewers, this is brilliant! I get an amazing sense of nostalgia with your singing, to me it sounds very much like something I may have grown up with in the 70’s, an easy listening vibe.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:27 PM
Thanks dude, can’t help being nostalgic to this period. Listened to lots of radio in the family car with the olds during the 70’s and 80’s, and it must have hardwired my musical brain lol
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 1:03 AM
Very well done. You took the samples and fit them into your style impressively. I like that you took what you could use, and altered freely to reach something fun that is a really good listen. Thanks!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:29 PM
Glad you like it mate. You have a wonderful catalog of samples and moods and it was a pleasure and often a big surprise running through them. THanks!!
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 2:18 AM
Man, you got it.
Really. Endurance….my first days on ccMixter there were you and Loveshadow setting a benchmark. The quality of your mixes were so out of the world for me.
So it were a few people supporting my endurance to remain on ccMixter. You are for sure one of these.
Your extra mile using the samples and creating instruments from that is for something you needed endurance for.
I love the track. Sitting here with my headphones on and thinking back to the years here on ccMixter.. thanks for everything you contributed.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:31 PM
You are much too kind. Glad to be on ccM with such a solid sense of community and unquestioned support from people on opposite sides of the globe :)
Radioontheshelf
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 2:53 AM
In a previous CCM life I once told you to stop uploading so much music.

I am so happy you totally ignored me.

Great work
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:34 PM
It never occurred to me that you maybe a reincarnated early ccM personality.
Now I listen to your voice again and see the joke in your handle its crystal clear that you are the artist formally known as radiotimes????
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 3:22 AM
Great idea to midi convert. Excellent results.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:35 PM
Thanks Speck, it was a real learning experience in shaping the sound so it would sound ok across the different notes.
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:01 AM
++
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:36 PM
Thanks big guy
Stefan Kartenberg
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:54 AM
Perfect
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:36 PM
Thank you Stef
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 8:09 AM
I’m so impressed with this! Creating midi sounds from Gurdonark’s samples is so smart and creative. (everything sounds great btw) A beautiful lyric and vocal performance, as always. Richard’s appearance adds that extra heart tug. So lovely!!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:39 PM
I love how secret mixter stretches creative boundaries - I’ve been on ccm for nearly 12 years, and have never been game to remix Gurdonark.
Thanks Em
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 12:43 PM
YEP. ccMixter gold. BOOM BOOM.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, Nov 24, 2019 @ 4:40 PM
Glad you like it Kara, oh and thanks for the pic, cant stop smiling
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 25, 2019 @ 4:12 AM
This is freakin’ awesome.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Thu, Dec 5, 2019 @ 1:35 PM
Thanks Tim!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 26, 2019 @ 12:27 PM
Fantastic! Sounded familiar … i used one of same samples when I drew Gurdonark somes years ago
 
.
permalink   Scomber Thu, Dec 5, 2019 @ 1:36 PM
Cheers U
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 4, 2019 @ 9:52 AM
Terrific! Lovingly creative, masterfully arranged and produced. Wonderful. You’re a great songwriter. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Thu, Dec 5, 2019 @ 1:37 PM
Thanks S! You are much too kind!