skip

Reviews for "fun FUN fun (w/ Anchor Mejans)"

CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 21, 2009 @ 2:34 PM
If I’m having a party, you two are definitely invited. In fact, why bother with any other guests?
 
.
permalink   John Pazdan Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 7:59 AM
Mz Moira,
ok, look-a-here toots..I am not “the sort” to be in that corporate outsourcing creative thing you have rollin in Hackney, but, I DO know Simon and George at the BBC, and I have been to and performed as a trained bass playing flea at The Borderline (in SOHO!!) on a dismal is there any other kind? Whitsun’s Eve blablabla, and Mr Dog and I have even communicated through carrier pigeon, so, umm, can I please be invited, PLEASE?
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 1:57 PM
Possibly - if you promise to dress up as a tart and bring along 1960s party snacks like cheese and pineapple chunks on cocktail sticks.
teru
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 21, 2009 @ 4:44 PM
Whoa. Very, very nice job. [insert applause, and a couple of whistles]
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 21, 2009 @ 8:36 PM
Youse guys, man. Youse guys.

You’ve created a very special thing here. I started out a long note which became rambling, so I decided to just say this instead: tack. Ni är djävligt bra, båda två.
 
.
permalink   panu Sat, Mar 21, 2009 @ 8:38 PM
that’ll work. thanks!
 
.
permalink   colab Mon, Mar 23, 2009 @ 5:36 PM
Quote: panu moonthat’ll work. thanks!
Whar’s the pella, mah young’un?

Quickly now. Your fans are waiting.
 
.
permalink   panu Tue, Mar 24, 2009 @ 4:27 PM
we’ll have to wait ‘til Anchor gets back, the vocalese is all his voice.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Mar 31, 2009 @ 10:45 AM
Panu - here are the lyrics for this!

the mayor & the taoist monk
were in an all pervasive funk
it just ain’t workin’ said the one
me too, said two
let’s have some fun
let’s pack the car & chase the sun
and it’ll be fun, fun, fun
‘til the tao take your t-bird away

the waitress at the sad café
turned in her badge and walked away
she thumbed a ride to Shangrilah
she forgot all beck and call
to toast and omelet said farewell
her boss left in a private hell
and it’ll be fun, fun, fun
‘til they take your t-bird away

The advertising man eschewed
What little wisdom he’d accrued
He took up with a local hunk
The same guy he had once debunked
The happy pair Nirvana sought
But some things just can’t be bought
and it’ll be fun, fun, fun
‘til somebody take your t-bird away…

So if life leaves you high and dry
And guru’s axioms pass you by
Don’t get your panties in a wad
The heavenly powers don’t down-trod
Remember that this too shall pass
And tell those clowns “to kiss yo’ ass…”
and it’ll be fun, fun, fun
‘til somebody take your t-bird away….
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Mar 31, 2009 @ 10:54 AM
Quote: Anchor MéjansPanu - here are the lyrics for this!
Yes yes yes - but where’s the pella?

It’s really quite good, you see. :)
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Mar 31, 2009 @ 11:16 AM
O Tay! pell is up my page -
Mr. Mejans
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Mar 31, 2009 @ 11:18 AM
Quote: Anchor MéjansO Tay! pell is up my page -
Mr. Mejans

Thanks. Ah’m as pleased as a lickle bunnyrabbit.
Scomber
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 21, 2009 @ 11:09 PM
I can picture Anchor on his Caribbean cruise doing the soft shoe shuffle with a Sofia Loren clone and a pina colada in the other hand before dining at the captains table. Great musical picture you’ve created here Panu
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 22, 2009 @ 5:43 AM
What Scomber Said ( Anchor on his Caribbean cruise doing the soft shoe shuffle with a Sofia Loren clone and a pina colada, Having FUN FUN FUN )
Nice Panu Very Nice
AT
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 22, 2009 @ 6:45 PM
outstanding—-if you two are playing at any parties can I come?—I’ll do the dishes.
love those lyrics.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 23, 2009 @ 11:49 AM
This is beyond cool. This is close to absolute zero. So I’ll give you both this , one of these and a couple of these .
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 30, 2009 @ 12:30 PM
Panu - your skill as a jazz guitarist
really shine in this one. It was actually more than “fun fun fun” to do this number with you; glad we added it to our repertoire. Thanks for mastering this and posting it!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 30, 2009 @ 5:41 PM
I missed this one whilst travelling but it was worth the wait!

I Think Brian Wilson would have a smile on his face on this one. Me? I’m just amazed at the quality and the feeling evoked.

Goes to show that great music always comes from the soul.
John Pazdan
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 7:42 AM
Free Tibet? No…Free Detroit!!

Outside Dearborn, actually inside Oak Park, the Ford team was..well they were sorta down if you want to know. “What can we possibly do now that GM is bankrupt…we are surely next..right after Chrysler..and the Futura, and “Escape” and Tangerine Methamphetamine and F 150 Diesel 4x4 DeLuxe with the Allan Jackson Greatest Hits loaded mp3 promotion…. DON’T mention that mess again, ok? Just what were you thinking Buzz? What will we do? I cannot speak Chinese, and the sub continent looks too crowded..”

Down in the parking lot, in the back seat of a 1936 Bugatti Grand Royale, Anchor and his friend Panu were fiddling with the volume control of their Space Beam Broadcaster that was tuned to their latest creation, a sub Taoist (ok ok Buddhist, but see that first verse said The Tao, but he sings The Buddha or maybe reversed but it’s still way too early for an atheist like moi’) jazzbo inflicted (sorry, inflected) smasharoo called Fun Fun Fun, in which there are more oblique references to the decline of the sub working class and their eternal struggle with restaurant service work and ultimate release from the Wheel of Fortune I mean Illusion, though Fortune fits pretty good too, no? then you can shake a poorly written, hungover review at. “Panu”, quipped (?) Anchor, “Point the invisible speaker death ray light bridge at that office window, the 10th floor corner one, and turn the volume up to 540.” (540 being the Hello Dolly Lama’s, (not to be confused with the Tibetan one, this is the Pigeon Ford one), optimum gain setting for disturbing all WASP ‘merikkanski ruling class white menz official “train of thought” as it were..). Panu questioned the veracity of this bold, yet semi practical statement, but did as his friend requested. “Anker, ol’ bud, ah thank thar’s a bit of whaaat smoke a’ pourin’ out yondur winda”, Panu remarked, using a voice/vernacular appropriated from a truck service repair person straight outta Aurora, Illinois. “Yepper, somethin’ up thar is a…it’s a..changin!”

…to not EVER be continued…

When Anchor gets back from sailing the 6 seas, you two are invited over for libations..I have secured a jeroboam of absinthe recently “liberated” from Pau Casal’s own “stash”…. and oh yeah, great tune dudez, it’s like jazz and stuff.
 
.
permalink   panu Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 8:01 AM
we’re THERE!
 
.
permalink   John Pazdan Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 8:04 AM
No, Panu, I’m there, you and Anchor..it’s complicated..
 
.
permalink   panu Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 9:41 AM
whatEVER! get the hell over HERE & gimme some love.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sat, Apr 4, 2009 @ 3:49 AM
Whenever Pau Casal and Absinthe are involved I cannot refuse an invite.
* (your review itself is like written-jazz)
Thank You John!
Anomaly_Jonez
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 10, 2010 @ 11:11 PM
This is a really good tune, I love the mood it creates, just kinda wanna through you head back and bask in the sun and have fun fun fun…good job.
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 17, 2010 @ 6:32 PM
Sounds like a live jam in somebody’s split level. One I sure would have liked to have been present for.