Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip
Home » People » jacindae » buttons breaking » Reviews

Reviews for "buttons breaking"

buttons breaking
by jacindae
Recommends (31)
Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 1:42 AM
 
panu
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 2:05 AM
sounds real good, jacinda. oD’s ‘santur’ is a great start & i know it was a lot of work to put all the pieces together. one little tech observation, the kick & shaker seem a little loud & overpower the track when they come in. but it’s a real good track, clean, well mixed, cohesive. p
 
.
permalink   jacindae Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 2:31 AM
Thank you quite a lot for the con-crit, I think that upon listening to it again you are absolutely correct (especially on the shaker oO) and fortunately that should be an easy fix. :)
oldDog
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 3:15 AM
This is great. I’m a real sucker for those kind of dirty textures, and I can imagine it being used as the basis for all kinds of different tracks, from hip-hop to something more weird and experimental (P J Harvey/Tom Waits…)
 
.
permalink   jacindae Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:10 PM
I also love dirty textures (Tom Waits’s Bone Machine is one of my favorite albums of all time) and coming from you this is high praise indeed. Your loop was an awesome base to work from.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 4:12 AM
Now it’s even better with the vocals - shame I can’t give you another recommend!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:17 AM
Hey give yourself a big pat on the back! This is excellent.

The textures are fantastic and the production quality first rate.

Great start! So wake that man up quick now and start singing!!
 
.
permalink   jacindae Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:11 PM
Thanks times a million rt. :D
It helps that I had great recordings to work off of. Oddly, as fussy as putting this together it’s one of the more fun experiments I have done in a bit.
BOCrew
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:26 AM
very Good!!!!
 
.
permalink   jacindae Mon, May 11, 2009 @ 7:52 AM
Thank you so much!!!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:43 AM
You jolly well should feel accomplished - this is terrific, Jacinda! A thoroughly enjoyable listen. Can’t wait for you to add some vocals, as well. I’ll be recommending you when I get to an off-site pc (oldDog’s got there first this time). xx
 
.
permalink   jacindae Mon, May 11, 2009 @ 7:54 AM
Thank you quite a lot. It was fun making this.

Also, don’t sweat the recommend button. Getting a nice review is quite a good substitute I think. :)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, May 16, 2009 @ 3:46 AM
Have just heard this on the Cool Music Show and hadn’t realised before you’d added more. It’s even better! Your singing is always a pleasure and the words, as usual, are so, so good. A fantastic mix.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 9:36 AM
Brava! I love this combo of quirky and melodic. I concur with Ciggi — a well-deserved sense of accomplishment, and OD — this track lends itself to a wide range of musical interpretation. What an exciting offering! Looking forward to what you have up your sleeve next.
 
.
permalink   jacindae Mon, May 11, 2009 @ 7:56 AM
Thanks a bajillion, you’re too kind. I guess that this was more a fun experiment than anything else but it’s good to get positive feedback. :D
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 12:00 PM
That hand stitched rhythm track really grooves, which is the hardest thing to accomplish. You may want to upload just that rhythm track as secondary file upload with type “sample” (maybe after making the small level tweaks you had mentioned above, and just maybe also widen the stereo field a little?). Excellent work! I wouldn’t be surprised if it finds takers.
 
.
permalink   jacindae Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 4:16 PM
Thank you Spin, I appreciate the input. I don’t know if I really have a natural producer’s ear so sharing stuff that I’ve mixed here tends to be extraordinarily helpful for me. Also, I work exclusively in garageband and audacity, so finding out how to do quite simple things can be somewhat of an adventure in itself. I think I will do as you suggest and upload the rhythm separately, as someone who is petrified of programming drums I think it might help some people out there after all… :D
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sat, May 9, 2009 @ 12:10 PM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

used this here—

thanks!
jobob arikan
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, May 10, 2009 @ 3:56 PM
This has a nice vibe to it—very early 70s in some ways, and yet not vintage feeling at all. Thanks, too, for the new recorder sample to play with—I’ll see if I can’t use it in some fun way.
 
.
permalink   jacindae Mon, May 11, 2009 @ 8:00 AM
If you can use the recorder I will be both shocked and impressed. In moving, I found some strange instruments that belonged to various members of my family not the least of which being this cheapo plastic recorder. Considering that I’ve made sounds on other songs out of banging on pans and pitch shifting the sound of birds singing outside of my window, it seemed a crime to not use something that is an actual instrument.

Thanks for your kind words, and I think I kind of see what you mean about the vintage/not vintage sound. My friend called it renaissance blues. I found that description amusing.
Zapac
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 31, 2010 @ 4:19 AM
Great! And such a service! (downloadable files) Thank you Jacinda.