Come Together Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "You Do You, Mana Junkie"

You Do You, Mana Junkie
by essesq
Recommends (20)
Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 4:24 AM

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 4:35 AM
very creative idea, produced beautifully… 914 3/4 ’s UP!!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 1:59 PM
Thank you so much, panu. I really appreciate your taking the time to listen and leave me your review.
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 6:14 AM
Thanks, essesq! I really needed that. Beautifully down and well answered.
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 6:26 AM
You’re welcome. I really would love to do an extended remix of “frog in a blender”, but that will have to wait… That pell was really well done. There were many things I could have run with, but I’m feeling fragile these days :-).
Whitewolf
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 6:33 AM
Brilliant!
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 1:59 PM
Thank you, Whitewolf!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 7:03 AM
Truly well done. It has something of a space oddity vibe about it.

You took a simple conversation and made it your own .
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:04 PM
Thank you very much. Being all too acquainted with your mix of this pell I was a little afraid to take it on, but when my take revealed itself to me, I knew it would be ok.

Funny what you say about the vibe because the hubby just finished reading a Bowie biography. I’ve been getting random facts for the last few weeks. But that’s another conversation :-).
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 1:30 PM
There’s a beautiful tenderness here… it spoke to me. It actually made my eyes water for a few seconds… Thank you for sharing your truth. Please take care.
 
.
permalink   essesq Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 1:56 PM
I suffer from dry eyes…not for lack of emotion, mind you…but it is part of my hidden agenda to keep everyone’s eyes free of debris :-)…

Seriously though… Thank you so much for taking the time to listen and leave this review. This place can be intimidating at times for some of us who aren’t musical geniuses, or people who devote a lot of time to music and to whom it comes naturally. I transcribed all the words in Mana’s pell and then thought about what I could do and what message I could send. His words about not knowing how to write a song went straight to my heart, and being worried about having the voice to pull it off. I’m there all the time. This was for me, and for anyone else who needs to feel a little ok, at a time when none of us feels ok.

If I can make a little something and it can be useful to someone I am deeply gratified. Many many thanks. And best wishes to you and all those you hold dear during this time. And thank you for all you do to keep this place the special place it is.
Scomber
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 5:12 AM
Very creative!
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:05 PM
Thank you Scomber. Hope all is well with you. Something about that continent makes me nervous.
Kraftamt
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 1:33 PM
Very nice combination of synthesizer sounds. Sounds very warm and atmospheric.
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:07 PM
Thank you Kraftamt. I take a long time to pick my sounds, so it make me happy that other people like them as much as I do.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 2:01 PM
This is so incredibly creative!! Inspiring editing and concept. (I love Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself). If only every therapy session were this creative and comforting. Thank you for that hug I just gave myself, I feel more hopeful already. xxx
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:13 PM
Thank you so much Snowflake. You are truly a force of nature. As you know, I love Whitman also. I am glad you found the notes helpful. I can’t seem to just drop a piece without an editorial :).
Carosone
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 1:06 PM
The colder synth is gorgeous. When the sequence comes out, voice is chopped and that is wonderful. You made it, go on.
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:16 PM
Thank you Carosone. My tools are pretty limited but I do my best. I love playing with sounds and could just mess around forever, but luckily these Secret Mixter things have deadlines :-).
DJ Nicodemus Alora
.
permalink   Tue, May 5, 2020 @ 1:29 PM
This felt really private, almost like I was listening to something I didn’t have a right to. I like the idea of the imagined therapy session, and I think that’s where the sort of private and intimate feeling comes from. I really appreciated this, thank you.