Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Not Like That (Duckett Mix)"

Not Like That (Duckett Mix)
by duckett
Recommends (6)
Sat, Mar 31, 2007 @ 4:27 AM

Uses samples from:

 
DJ.E-State
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2007 @ 7:14 AM
true rnb.. especially the moment ‘i remember all the times i held your hand…’ - sweetest thing! …
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Mar 31, 2007 @ 2:38 PM
oh, no- not another 5!
seriously, much thx but them gorgeous vocals just didn’t need much help from me; keys, beat, sax, guitar, done.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2007 @ 12:46 PM
Pretty…
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, Mar 31, 2007 @ 2:32 PM
Quote: J.LangPretty…
thx for the review- I see you’re out of CT too- 860 here…
Songboy3
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 3, 2007 @ 10:11 AM
I get such a kick of listening to how different folks hear the same tune. That’s why I LOVE the club/house/electronic community!!! I’m diggin’ this, Mr. Duckett.

Coooooooollllllllll.
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, Apr 3, 2007 @ 8:12 PM
Quote: Songboy3I’m diggin’ this, Mr. Duckett.

Coooooooollllllllll.

Why thank you, sir.
The song immediately took me back to when I would have had my eye on a female at the party and thinking, “what’s the jam to knock the knees out this girl?”
 
.
permalink   iluffchinchillas Wed, Dec 19, 2007 @ 9:36 AM
Quote: duckettI’m diggin’ this, Mr. Duckett.

Coooooooollllllllll.
Why thank you, sir.
The song immediately took me back to when I would have had my eye on a female at the party and thinking, “what’s the jam to knock the knees out this girl?”


I really love it! I’m only at the first part and it’s so pretty! I love it. :D
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 19, 2007 @ 7:34 AM
Well this remix is tearing me apart.
You have some really nice ideas that go well on some places especially on the verse parts. When the chorus came in, I did expect something different e.g., a different harmonisation and probably a change in drum pattern.
So this is for my taste on some parts too much “copy and paste”.

The chorus is like hanging in the “air” cause your nice background arrangement doesn_t follow the vocal melody in my understanding.

Wonder what it would have sound like, if you had invested a bit more time in finding a different “setting” for the chorus! ;-)
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Nov 19, 2007 @ 9:48 AM
Oh, believe me, I didn’t send you over this-a-way for “looky how good this is”! ;) I did this what feels like ages ago, and was only ever partially satisfied / it; being a self-taught “by-ear” kinda guy makes for hit-or-miss remixes as you can see here- I remember liking the descending line going into the first “not like that” of the chorus, but quickly feeling like I had painted myself in a corner, tired-ear syndrome kicked in, and I uploaded it as it stood- I figured some c&c would help, but people either liked it or ignored it. I’ve been away from it long enough not to be either too attached or too frustrated by it, I may re-do it soon. Thanks for pointing out what wasn’t working for you, rave reviews are always nice, but I would always rather have thoughtful, honest criticism than deafening silence… some tracks I’ll never know if they’re disliked, or just unnoticed. OK, that enough rambling from me…