Dig The Soundtrack 2017 Remix Event
skip
Home » People » cdk » Summer Time » Reviews

Reviews for "Summer Time"

Summer Time
by cdk
Recommends (11)
Tue, Jan 1, 2008 @ 12:58 PM

Samples are used in:

 
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 1, 2008 @ 8:59 PM
Warms me up on this cold cold night. Great work with Sax and Guitar. Sounds like the original vocals on this mix. Great work Guys. Top Notch Production.



 
.
permalink   cdk Mon, Jan 7, 2008 @ 7:30 PM
yeah those are the original vocals, i’ve had them saved on a cd since “the beat”. very good acapella, and great job on i tunes..
shockshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 2, 2008 @ 7:23 AM
Very nice guys! I love the ‘smooth’ feel of this whole piece. I only have two suggestions:
1. The lead vocal needs just a tad of reverb to fill it out. It sounds kinda dead. You can do this without losing the ‘warmth’ or ‘closeness’ by using just a smidgen of small-room reverb, and an almost imperceptable amount of stereo delay.
2. There’s a part toward the end where the lead vocal is repeating the same phrase for a few frames. I would add some X-delay (aka “ping-pong” delay) just to those vocal parts alone to spice it up a bit. Not too much, just enough to make it clever.
:)
 
.
permalink   cdk Wed, Jan 2, 2008 @ 11:55 AM
good idea, my comp is is crash mode right now and i gotta back everything up quick, but i will take your suggestions an apply them..
teru
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 2, 2008 @ 7:19 PM
Wow. It’s not visible in the description but stefsax on the sax, fourstones on guitar and CDK producing. This is a treat. And those vocals DJLang put up here long ago are used perfectly. Lots of great collaborating happening on this one.
 
.
permalink   cdk Mon, Jan 7, 2008 @ 7:32 PM
thanks teru, it makes it allot easier when you got these guys on the job.. i hope to do more mixes like this
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 5, 2008 @ 3:47 AM
Excellent, very cool, very hot, very beautiful..The vocal parts are really great, and each instrumental part too. I’m just less convinced by the balance..but..why not..
 
.
permalink   cdk Mon, Jan 7, 2008 @ 7:33 PM
thanks man, i really should do something more with the vocals,
i will have to do it over the next weekend.. thanks for checking it out.
Darkroom
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 12:35 PM
This is a nice smooth track. Great work!

p.s. I also dig your avatar animation.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 10, 2008 @ 4:09 AM
I like the way we ease into the intro, and then the vocals really are smooth on top of it.

The guitar is really cool. I wish it were a little more “up” in the mix, but the mix as is works because the mix really makes the vocals stand out.

This one is really smooth. It definitely feels very Summer-y, or as Summer-y as I can feel on a cold dawn in Texas.

That sax line is very nice.
The song is graceful and a really good listen.

Y’all are a great collaboration team.