skip

Reviews for "Someone's Heart is Broken: For Fireproof Babies"

Someone's Heart is Broken: Fo...
by SackJo22
Recommends (44)
Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 11:36 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Alex
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 12, 2011 @ 11:53 PM
It is very sad…
Glad you did this Susan.
He was a good man. We’ll miss him.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 2:36 AM
He’ll be hugely missed here.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 3:35 AM
Frankly, I am in shock.

This is a lovely tribute - lovingly done in Joe’s style, even the deadpan drawl.

Joe said once ” I have a notion, or belief that this is not the end. I can’t prove it, and it is my own fancy.” By channeling him so effectively as you have, I think maybe he has his proof.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 4:13 AM
Very saddening news I’m sure we’ll all miss his musical contributions here, a very fitting tribute.
Jeris
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 4:37 AM
Susan, this is the first time I feel I have lost a friend I never met in person. Thank you for bearing the bad news with song, it’s a great tribute and somehow makes it better.
CSoul
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 5:04 AM
I’am in shock
He wrote me at a his review ”You surprised me with this, CSoul. In a good way :)”.
I am just working with his ”My Brain Doesn’t Work” and I was getting ready a new surprise to him but
He surprised me with his death,in a bad way.
This is the first time I feel I have lost a friend I never met in person as Jeris wrote.
Thanks Susan for sadden news .I am going to miss him and his music.
This is exactly his style and the great tribute for him.
peace
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 5:20 AM
So sad to hear this news. A very good tribute mix for Babies.
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 5:58 AM
A good tribute. Thanks for sharing the sad news, Sackster.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 7:09 AM
This is incredibly good. Musically it is the best thing I’ve heard in a while; and also seen as a tribute, well, it’s perfect.

Thanks for sharing this one.
 
.
permalink   colab Thu, Sep 10, 2015 @ 10:42 AM
I’m on a bit of a FPB nostalgia trip lately, and came across this again.
it’s still one of the best pieces of music I’ve heard, and just an amazing tribute to FPB.
just wanted to let you know this track still matters, and thanks for sharing in the first place.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sat, Sep 12, 2015 @ 10:29 AM
Thank you for sharing your thoughts — it means a lot.
Benjamin Orth
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 8:49 AM
This is a great tribute, Susan. For the first time I’m feeling sad while visiting the ccMixter page.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 8:56 AM
thanks for doing this Susan.
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 9:30 AM
Joe as FPB was an unrelentingly brave and creative individual. he never swerved and he never pandered, he just WAS an original. this is a great tribute to him.
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 9:39 AM
Yes thanks Susan. You very much captured this artistic voice now gone, but never silenced. He lives on here.

If only we could mend hearts before they broke completely.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 9:59 AM
thank you Susan. moving. difficult for me to listen without tears. a beautiful tribute to Joe. your vocal style is channeling FPB. still in shock. peace and love to all on ccM and Joe’s family.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 10:04 AM
a true gifted spirit - an innovative and inspired collaborator with a deeply insightful world-view…he will be missed.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 11:16 AM
I am lost for words, really. I just noticed that my last review before this one was for one of his percussion pieces. Just being grateful for his presence in this community and in some of my music.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 11:44 AM
I was talking with another remixer the other day and we were saying one of the reasons for wanting to upload is that by contributing freely we somehow hope to leave a permanent mark that in a small way represents our lives a little.

And that’s just what FB has done.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 13, 2011 @ 1:43 PM
Thank you for creating and sharing this, Susan. I couldn’t bring myself to listen until now. It is a beautiful, heart-wrenching tribute.
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 14, 2011 @ 3:29 AM
Beautiful.
debbizo
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 14, 2011 @ 4:15 AM
I’m still in shock and will miss Joe’s contributions and collaborations.This is such a fitting tribute Susan. So sad :(
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 14, 2011 @ 12:19 PM
This moved me. Well worthy of the ed-pick.
Carosone
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 14, 2011 @ 1:30 PM
Big emotion, with that distorted guitar long.
HEJ31
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 14, 2011 @ 9:24 PM
Truly touching.
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 15, 2011 @ 12:33 PM
What an impressive performance, your way to express your feelings with such beautiful music just makes me breathless.
Really!
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 15, 2011 @ 3:06 PM
What More can I Say? this is cool.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 15, 2011 @ 10:51 PM
I too feel like Jeris, that I lost a friend that I never met. Music is a superpowerful connection, and this mix shows how deeply felt these connections are. Thank you.
copperhead
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 16, 2011 @ 4:34 PM
Beautiful tribute to Joe Susan! I like the way you even sung it like him at times :)
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 13, 2011 @ 3:09 PM
Simply beautiful. Thanks…
SmoJos
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 22, 2011 @ 11:22 AM