skip
Home » People » Benjamin Orth » Dyeing » Reviews

Reviews for "Dyeing"

Dyeing
by Benjamin Orth
Recommends (45)
Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 8:22 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 8:49 AM
Well conceived and well executed. Great sound quality too. Really excellent piece.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:19 AM
Thanks Speck.
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 9:40 AM
This was too cool! I have been rocked. Would type more but dizzy from the headbanging ;)
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:21 AM
Thank you Clarence! I know this dizzy feeling after headbanging very well, especially the pain in the neck on the following day. ;-)
Alex
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 9:45 AM
This is really good Benjamin!
I love everything about it!!! Great playing and composing
… and I agree, he was a metalhead :)
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:22 AM
Thank you Alex.
musikpirat
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 11:21 AM
No need to listen to today’s other uploads - this one is the Catch of the Day!

http://musik.klarmachen-zum...
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:22 AM
Danke sehr. :)
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 11:22 AM
You didn’t promise too much, Ben. Excellent arrangement!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:22 AM
Danke Donnie.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 1:13 PM
OK - when did Nightwish put out a new album? :) This is awesome goth metal, with the interplay between guitars, organ, and arp strings pitch perfect. :)
 
.
permalink   Clarence Simpson Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 6:42 PM
Glad you ed picked this. I would’ve picked it myself if I hadn’t just done one.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:23 AM
Thanks a lot for the ed pick, Admiral! :)
Zapac
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 1:26 PM
Hey, Benjamin! Do you work as composer on Broadway ? It’s a stage-ready, fantastic production!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:26 AM
Thank you, Zapac.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 2:10 PM
Top notch, Great Mix
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:26 AM
Thanks. :)
phasenwandler
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 2:16 PM
Masterpiece! If this was playing at my local church, I would definitely visit the mass more often :)
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:27 AM
:-)
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 2:23 PM
Uff. Extremely exciting here.
I agree, the sound of the organ conveys a feeling very close to the metal. Wonderful your lunatic brain.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:27 AM
Thanks onlymeith. :)
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 2:32 PM
This is very clever.
Jacinda’s vocals work so well.
Her neo-classical voice matches perfectly with the way the band ebbs and flows around her goth like angst.
Best I’ve heard for a long time!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 2:59 PM
That’s what I’m sayin….you know what I’m sayin?
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:28 AM
Thanks Scomber!
copperhead
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 5:25 PM
About time a heavy tune was an Ed Pick! Definitely Nighwishish lol. I am convinced Ben is really 3 people!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:30 AM
Hmm, let me think… Me, myself and I… Yes, we are three actually! ;-)
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 8:48 AM
Brilliant stuff. I’m extremely impressed. Bach is my favorite composer, bar none. There is a connection between his music and metal. I’ve noticed it before. The mix is excellent as well as the overall mood. Bloody well done!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 9:30 AM
Thank you FB.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 10:18 AM
Oh yes, this is bloody brilliant. It’s pretty obvious that you are a very talented man (if that wasn’t already clear) by pulling this off. I for one welcome this more heavy stuff.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 1:24 PM
Thanks a lot, Subliminal. :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 11:08 AM
Brilliantly conceived and executed! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 1:25 PM
Thanks, SackJo.
rocavaco
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 1:12 PM
Wow - Metal ist sonst nicht so meine Sache, aber großartig in dieser Kombination!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 1:26 PM
Danke! :)
Carosone
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 1:45 PM
It seems that the odd vocals by jacinda finally found a proper companion! Bach organ + metal is brilliant, neither of them is trivial and this is definitely good music and original. Thanks for the how-I-did-it and for giving the stems of this little gem.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 10:36 AM
Thanks Carosone.
jacindae
.
permalink   Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 8:44 PM
Holy moly I love this!!! I love those nasty guitars and the gorgeous classical instrumentation…I like Nightwish a lot and this is somewhat reminiscent but definitely it’s own animal. Thank you so much for this extraordinary remix.
 
.
permalink   jacindae Wed, May 4, 2011 @ 8:46 PM
Also I’m a sucker for ending on the root major. Nice.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 11:15 AM
Thanks, Jacinda. Nice to hear that you like it. :-)

In the tradition of baroque music a song has to end on the root major (minor keys counted as imperfect, so they needed to resolve to major on the last chord). In that point of view there is no need for an interpretation…
But of course later in the Romanticism it was a stylistic device. There are nice examples in the “Winterreise” of Franz Schubert where the music differs from the lyrics.

So you can choose if the ending on the root major encourages interpretations or not… ;-)
 
.
permalink   jacindae Tue, May 17, 2011 @ 11:08 AM
I am definitely familiar with all the very strict rules surrounding Baroque music…part of what made JS Bach such a revolutionary… definitely great use of the device here. :)
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 1:37 AM
Outstanding classic rock!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 10:36 AM
Thank you trf. :)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Thu, May 5, 2011 @ 3:23 PM
Superb arrangement and execution. Kate Bush has a new album out soon, and this is like a sneak preview.

Knowing Jacinda I think this suits her very well.
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Fri, May 6, 2011 @ 9:20 AM
Thank you, Loveshadow.
Succumb2 The Nite
.
permalink   Fri, May 13, 2011 @ 11:13 AM
wow this is sick!!Congrat.
S2Tnite
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Tue, May 17, 2011 @ 11:25 AM
Thank you. :)
pyrex
.
permalink   Wed, May 18, 2011 @ 1:53 PM
Wow, das is ja schweinegeil, das teil. Fettes kompliment!!!!!!
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 18, 2011 @ 11:52 PM
Danke, pyrex! :)
3rd attempt
.
permalink   Wed, May 18, 2011 @ 2:31 PM
Haha! Ja, saugeil!!

War auch an dem Acapella dran, aber jetzt kann ich das Rummachen damit meinerseits einstellen ;-)
 
.
permalink   Benjamin Orth Wed, May 18, 2011 @ 11:58 PM
Vielen Dank! :-)
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 8, 2011 @ 8:54 PM
Great arrangement man! Metal and classical go so well together!
Realist
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 11, 2011 @ 12:41 PM
Hi Benjamin,
super Arrangement und ein wirklich klasse Mix.Die Vocals von Jacinda passen perfekt.Der Song ist echt Hammer.
Ihaveriffs
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 2, 2011 @ 9:05 AM
Good thing I didn’t hear this before doing mine :( Great job!!!
VickyDan
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 11, 2012 @ 2:44 AM
I discover, and I’m conquered ….