Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » So how do you pay the bills?

So how do you pay the bills?

Clarence Simpson
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:50 PM
I’m curious of the other mixers in the community and what you all do as your “day job”. I’m sure we have a handful of music professionals among us, but I’m guessing that for most of us this is just a hobby for now.

I’ll start. I’m currently a domestic engineer (AKA - stay-at-home dad). Until June of this year I had been a software engineer for a video game company, but then we had a round of layoffs and I’ve been home ever since. So, technically, to answer my own question, right now I don’t pay the bills, my wife does. :)

So, anybody want to satisfy my curiosity?
Admiral Bob
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:52 PM
Software developer.

I was once a professional musician, as in that’s all I did.

But I like eating.

permalink   Abstract Audio Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 12:37 AM
And what do you develop?
Abstract Audio
permalink   Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 12:36 AM
No I can’t I’m unemployed. And the problem is i’m not really the only one. A lot of people lost there job after the crisis and now the goverment has to econemize, so there will be more people fighting for the same job.
And without a finished education or a drivers license I’m not the most first choice. Thank god i’m living in holland with a reasenable benefit system.

permalink   Snowflake Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 9:27 PM
These are tough times all around. If time is being given to you to make music, perhaps that is a gift wrapped in strange, albeit trying and difficult, circumstance?

permalink   Abstract Audio Sun, Nov 14, 2010 @ 5:42 AM
Yes you’re right and the fact of the matther is I have around 50 years of work ahead of me (I’m 26). So at the moment I’m enjoying every free moment, feels a bit like i am subsidized musician.
AT
permalink   Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 10:57 AM
I work in design for the Smithsonian. Interesting place to work.