Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Help » how to be a professional musician?

how to be a professional musician?

Chandan Boruah
permalink   Thu, Nov 29, 2007 @ 8:18 AM
My father literally jumps with anger when I sit to make music.He thinks I cant make it in this field. He wants me to do well in studies(which I am already doing) .It is becoming very difficult for me to work in these circumstances. What do I do? Please help. I want to become a professional singer and musician. (I have three of musician friends but they are not very interested except one of them.)I am new in this ,do I have to go make records to make a living or is there any other way out? I think if I can make some money with songs I make then my father will be happy and allow me bit.
plurgid
permalink   Wed, Dec 5, 2007 @ 1:44 PM
Well … being as I work in the Information Security field professionally, I can tell you it’s 5 billion percent more likely that you’ll end up finding gainful employment as a result of screwing around trying to figure out how computer viruses work, than by screwing around figuring out how Ableton works.

That’s just the way it is, one industry (information security) is swimming in cash right now, and the other (music industry) is trying to figure out how to co-exist with the internet and survive into the next decade.

Do this. Go to amazon and look at the CD selection. There is a nearly infinite selection of professionally produced music out there. Most of it took mountains of cash to produce, involving really expensive equipment most of us will never touch, professional producers, and entire buildings full of marketing people, and this industry is fighting to stay alive (at least in it’s current form).

It’s like this. Do music because you love it. Because you love the art. Because it’s something in your soul that needs to come out.