Branching Out Secret Mixter Sign Ups
skip
Home » People » Kara Square » Gettin' By » Reviews

Reviews for "Gettin' By"

Gettin' By
by Kara Square
Recommends (21)
Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 7:02 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 8:06 AM
Alt country is one of the best ways to convey a sad message, so I think unreal_dm’s track was an inspired choice to build on.

And this:

Gettin’ by, by until we die
Death is just a part of life
And life is just a part of death
Tears are just part of gettin’ by


May be the most inspired lyric submitted to the event so far.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 8:57 AM
Your words really touched me. Thank you. The lyric wouldn’t have happened w/o the inspiration of unreal…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 10:05 AM
The Admiral is spot on — brilliant lyric!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 10:54 AM
Well geez, thank you so much!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Fri, Nov 2, 2012 @ 12:56 PM
So, i’m not the only one thinking so… that verse is really beautiful.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 10:23 AM
Yes I’d agree with Admiral Bob really inspired lyric thanks for using the track.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 1:08 PM
Thanks, unreal. Thank you, also, for posting so much amazing music to work with… so fine… so fun.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 1:08 PM
Fun traditional country song, MMT. Enjoyed it.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Dec 23, 2010 @ 1:10 PM
Ha! That might be the first time someone’s called something I do “traditional”… but yeah, I agree- it is. Glad you enjoyed it!
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 9:46 AM
love your songs Miz’ Map That -
the poignant lyric, yet not without a sense of resigned humor - the sweet harmonies - a great package.
Cheers and happy New year!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 10:59 AM
Ahhh… Mr. Anchor- Thank you so much. You are so kind. Here’s wishing you an exquisite New Year!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 10:07 AM
This is the best transformation of experience — turn it into a song! And what a super song it is! I am sorry for your loss (know what it’s like unfortunately) and appreciate so much the heart that you share with us. I hope you have a merry, merry.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Dec 24, 2010 @ 11:06 AM
I’m so glad you enjoyed this… Thank you for all of your kind, kind words. (I am very sorry for your loss as well…) Have a wondrous New Year!
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 25, 2010 @ 2:05 AM
Well, thank you for being here, MMT. You know, I really like your lyrics, your crazy avatar makes me happy and you seem to add a very much needed sense of humour and good mood to our community. I love the way you’ve dealt with the subject here. Merry Christmas!
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Dec 26, 2010 @ 6:15 AM
Well, I just come round to Per’s opinion. Great work!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 26, 2010 @ 9:21 AM
Hey donnie- Thank you so much! Happy New Year to you!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Dec 26, 2010 @ 9:20 AM
Well geez, St. Paul… your kind words tear me up a bit. Thank you for so much for your warm welcome in this stellar community! I’m a big fan of your musical contributions and your words are always so encouraging. Hope your celebrations yesterday were a hearty dose of wonderful. Happy New Year!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 27, 2010 @ 6:06 PM
thanks for sharing this, and for sharing the personal story about your mom. may this new year’s eve be healing for you.

great mix!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Dec 28, 2010 @ 7:37 AM
Thank you for listening and reading, snowflake. I hope you have the kind of transition to a new year that you like most. :D
Jeris
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 22, 2011 @ 2:41 PM
Great song, great lyrics. Thanks to you and unreal for helpin us all get by :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Apr 23, 2011 @ 6:08 AM
Thanks for listening, Jeris. It’s always an inspiring treat to work with unreal.
copperhead
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 22, 2011 @ 2:48 PM
The best songs are life experience. May your Mom rest in peace.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Apr 23, 2011 @ 6:09 AM
Thank you, copperhead. Very much.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 2, 2012 @ 12:51 PM
Beautiful deep song, i like it very much. I didnt listened the song until today, i was working on the pella. Well, was surprinsing! i didnt expect this kind of arrengement on that vocal. I loved it. The lyrics are a masterpiece
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Nov 2, 2012 @ 1:53 PM
Thank you so much, DICE. I look forward to hearing your arrangement on the pella! I’m very curious… :) Thank you for appreciating the lyrics… I suppose inspiration is the last gift my mother gave me. (That’s rather sad to say, but I mean it in a happy way.)