Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Ishtar (The Art of War and Love)"

Ishtar (The Art of War and Lo...
by Subliminal
Recommends (27)
Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 8:52 AM
 
Alex
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:25 AM
A VERY beautiful piece…
I just hope the ed-pickers will do it a justice!
Love everything from the first till the last second!
BEAUTIFUL
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:09 PM
Thank you very much, Alex. I saw that you have been pretty busy during my absence. I will try to catch up later today.
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:31 AM
Gorgeous composition. Gorgeous sound quality too.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:14 PM
Thanks! It took me some time before I got to this version, so it’s nice to read that people like it.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:01 AM
exquisite offering Michel!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:18 PM
Thank you, Anchor. Always good to hear from you. I wish you all the best for the new year.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:11 AM
Anchor has said it already: exquisite. This is just heavenly, Sub - incredibly beautiful. I feel honoured to have been allowed to sing Panu’s mini masterpiece in the first place and then to be included in your matchless composition. Thank you! xxxx
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:26 PM
And thank you for your very kind words. As I already said, using one of your pellas was on my wishlist and this seemed to be the right opportunity. It wasn’t until later that I found out that it is an original Panu lyric.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:07 AM
This is thinking music. Flowing out and receiving….. the cochlea. The little hairs are seduced by this. It’s hard to miss with Ciggi as the centerpiece; Although I’m sure some could, but not you. Thank you for your music :)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:31 AM
Thanks, Joe. Your words are very much appreciated.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:10 AM
Exquisite seems to be the word of the day dear Michel! What a gorgeous composition — each element of this track equally emotional and beautiful. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:34 AM
Thank you, Susan. I am also working on a remix containing your Hope For The Best spoken word piece. If only a certain guitar player would send me his solo…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 9:53 AM
I venture that I could coax a certain guitar player to do so. :-)
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:30 PM
You self indulgent barstard Sub!
No not at all, everything is tasteful and in its place, should be more oboe in this place oh and cowbells….Happy new year mate!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 6:43 PM
Ha! Your review is crackin’ me up! I needed a laugh…. It is a great song, though :)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:36 AM
I agree on the oboe and even more agree on the cowbell. A very underrated instrument. Maybe I will include it on a future remix. Thanks for the comment and a happy new year to you and your family too.
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 1:09 PM
Very nice indeed. Great ancient feel and very ambitious and tricky composition, I can imagine. Timeless music that could have been in the charts 300 years ago (but without the great recording and mastering quality, I imagine) and in 2011. It’s beautiful!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:40 AM
Ah, 300 years ago, when a chart position still meant something. ;-) Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It means a lot to me, especially from someone who I consider one of the best around here.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 2:28 PM
This is truly extraordinary. The oboe and percussion is like something Bear McCreary might come up with, and the melancholy vocal alighting on the track truly sets it afire.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:47 AM
I am not familiar with Bear McCreary, but I will be soon when I will start watching Battlestar Galactica. Thank you for your kind words.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:15 PM
beautifully conceived, plsyed & mixed, Sub. all the best in the new year!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:48 AM
Thanks and all the best to you too. And also my compliments for the lyrics. I only found out later on that the lyrics were yours. Great!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 2:24 AM
Well done
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:38 AM
Thanks!
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 7:00 AM
Oh brother.

I thought the track was rather nice in the intro up to the mid-point, but when Ciggi’s vocals enter it literally blew me away.

You have such a good ear for both harmonies and production. Beautiful track.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 8:50 AM
Thank you very kindly, Mikael. Like I said in the description, the oboe solo (or better said, the whole intro) is maybe a bit superfluous. But I left it in because I liked it on it’s own and it led the way to the second half.
AT
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 5:29 PM
outstanding work Sub, nothing about this self indulgent to me, the oboe is a great introduction. yes—couple of listens and a download for me, great feeling and emotion. well done Sub.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:04 PM
Thanks, AT. I am still wondering where that oboe solo came from all these years ago.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 1:08 AM
The union is perfect. The choice of voice, for me, which is an unconditional, is quite in the tone of this melody. Really excellent ….
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 6:05 AM
Thank you. Of all the possible pellas that I tried against the backing music, Moira’s sounded the best, though the others didn’t sound bad either.
rocavaco
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 2:38 AM
A wonderful masterpiece - agree with all reviews before. What did you use for the duduk? It sounds very natural - I played a bit with the Kontakt4 duduk, but yours is much better. (I also have a real one but the training is very hard … will take years until I can upload something)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 6:19 AM
Thank you very much for your compliment.

The duduk is from the Woodwinds & Brass section of Ethno World 4 Pro. I purchased it as a download, together with the Stringed Instruments section, from Best Service’s Sounds On Demand download service. I also own Kontakt 4 and if I remember correctly, the duduk indeed didn’t sound so good. I understood from someone who has also bought a real duduk that it isn’t exactly easy to master. But it does have a fantastic sound, doesn’t it?
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 1, 2011 @ 8:12 AM
Excellent Sub.

This really shows your versatility as a musician. Great acoustic work that brought a fresh sound to Ciggi’s pella, which I mixed a year or so back.

The supporting cello sounds super. Hat Off!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 2, 2011 @ 7:48 AM
Hey, a new avatar. And you’ve grown a beard.

Thanks for the kind words. I guess you are referring to the duduk when you say cello?