Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip

Reviews for "Ishtar (The Art of War and Love)"

Ishtar (The Art of War and Lo...
by Subliminal
Recommends (27)
Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 8:52 AM
 
Alex
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:25 AM
A VERY beautiful piece…
I just hope the ed-pickers will do it a justice!
Love everything from the first till the last second!
BEAUTIFUL
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:09 PM
Thank you very much, Alex. I saw that you have been pretty busy during my absence. I will try to catch up later today.
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 9:31 AM
Gorgeous composition. Gorgeous sound quality too.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:14 PM
Thanks! It took me some time before I got to this version, so it’s nice to read that people like it.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:01 AM
exquisite offering Michel!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:18 PM
Thank you, Anchor. Always good to hear from you. I wish you all the best for the new year.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:11 AM
Anchor has said it already: exquisite. This is just heavenly, Sub - incredibly beautiful. I feel honoured to have been allowed to sing Panu’s mini masterpiece in the first place and then to be included in your matchless composition. Thank you! xxxx
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:26 PM
And thank you for your very kind words. As I already said, using one of your pellas was on my wishlist and this seemed to be the right opportunity. It wasn’t until later that I found out that it is an original Panu lyric.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:07 AM
This is thinking music. Flowing out and receiving….. the cochlea. The little hairs are seduced by this. It’s hard to miss with Ciggi as the centerpiece; Although I’m sure some could, but not you. Thank you for your music :)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:31 AM
Thanks, Joe. Your words are very much appreciated.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:10 AM
Exquisite seems to be the word of the day dear Michel! What a gorgeous composition — each element of this track equally emotional and beautiful. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:34 AM
Thank you, Susan. I am also working on a remix containing your Hope For The Best spoken word piece. If only a certain guitar player would send me his solo…
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 9:53 AM
I venture that I could coax a certain guitar player to do so. :-)
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 12:30 PM
You self indulgent barstard Sub!
No not at all, everything is tasteful and in its place, should be more oboe in this place oh and cowbells….Happy new year mate!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 6:43 PM
Ha! Your review is crackin’ me up! I needed a laugh…. It is a great song, though :)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:36 AM
I agree on the oboe and even more agree on the cowbell. A very underrated instrument. Maybe I will include it on a future remix. Thanks for the comment and a happy new year to you and your family too.
timberman
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 1:09 PM
Very nice indeed. Great ancient feel and very ambitious and tricky composition, I can imagine. Timeless music that could have been in the charts 300 years ago (but without the great recording and mastering quality, I imagine) and in 2011. It’s beautiful!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:40 AM
Ah, 300 years ago, when a chart position still meant something. ;-) Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It means a lot to me, especially from someone who I consider one of the best around here.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 2:28 PM
This is truly extraordinary. The oboe and percussion is like something Bear McCreary might come up with, and the melancholy vocal alighting on the track truly sets it afire.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:47 AM
I am not familiar with Bear McCreary, but I will be soon when I will start watching Battlestar Galactica. Thank you for your kind words.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 29, 2010 @ 5:15 PM
beautifully conceived, plsyed & mixed, Sub. all the best in the new year!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:48 AM
Thanks and all the best to you too. And also my compliments for the lyrics. I only found out later on that the lyrics were yours. Great!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 2:24 AM
Well done
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 3:38 AM
Thanks!
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 7:00 AM
Oh brother.

I thought the track was rather nice in the intro up to the mid-point, but when Ciggi’s vocals enter it literally blew me away.

You have such a good ear for both harmonies and production. Beautiful track.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 8:50 AM
Thank you very kindly, Mikael. Like I said in the description, the oboe solo (or better said, the whole intro) is maybe a bit superfluous. But I left it in because I liked it on it’s own and it led the way to the second half.
AT
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 5:29 PM
outstanding work Sub, nothing about this self indulgent to me, the oboe is a great introduction. yes—couple of listens and a download for me, great feeling and emotion. well done Sub.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 10:04 PM
Thanks, AT. I am still wondering where that oboe solo came from all these years ago.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 1:08 AM
The union is perfect. The choice of voice, for me, which is an unconditional, is quite in the tone of this melody. Really excellent ….
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 6:05 AM
Thank you. Of all the possible pellas that I tried against the backing music, Moira’s sounded the best, though the others didn’t sound bad either.
rocavaco
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 2:38 AM
A wonderful masterpiece - agree with all reviews before. What did you use for the duduk? It sounds very natural - I played a bit with the Kontakt4 duduk, but yours is much better. (I also have a real one but the training is very hard … will take years until I can upload something)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Dec 31, 2010 @ 6:19 AM
Thank you very much for your compliment.

The duduk is from the Woodwinds & Brass section of Ethno World 4 Pro. I purchased it as a download, together with the Stringed Instruments section, from Best Service’s Sounds On Demand download service. I also own Kontakt 4 and if I remember correctly, the duduk indeed didn’t sound so good. I understood from someone who has also bought a real duduk that it isn’t exactly easy to master. But it does have a fantastic sound, doesn’t it?
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 1, 2011 @ 8:12 AM
Excellent Sub.

This really shows your versatility as a musician. Great acoustic work that brought a fresh sound to Ciggi’s pella, which I mixed a year or so back.

The supporting cello sounds super. Hat Off!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jan 2, 2011 @ 7:48 AM
Hey, a new avatar. And you’ve grown a beard.

Thanks for the kind words. I guess you are referring to the duduk when you say cello?