Break the Silence Event
skip

Reviews for "Days and Nights (Vincent's Song)"

Days and Nights (Vincent's So...
by Subliminal
Recommends (16)
Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 12:01 PM

Uses samples from:

 
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 12:04 PM
Jumping junipers, Subman. This. Is. Stellar.

You’ve a hell of a job here - the intro and build-up is very well thought through - and the break at the mid-point is terrific.

Man - this is a great track. Nice job.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 1:10 PM
My goodness that was quick. I was adding Anchor’s lyrics to the song and I noticed that you had already left a review. Thank you very much (and sorry for bringing up Fat Tuesday in my comments to your track Happyhappyrainbows). I cannot stress enough (and I’m afraid that I didn’t do that enough in introducing the song) that this was a joint effort together with Anchor.
 
.
permalink   colab Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 7:45 PM
Quote: SubliminalI cannot stress enough (and I’m afraid that I didn’t do that enough in introducing the song) that this was a joint effort together with Anchor.
Then I suppose I will just have to hold both of you responsible for me coming back to listen to this over and over again when I should be doing some serious work.

I like this track very much. Did I tell you already? :)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 9:07 AM
I believe you did. :-) But it is always nice to hear it twice.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 2:27 PM
Deep and exciting, yet ploughs on inexorably. Anchor sounds impressive and the whole thing’s bloody wonderful, really.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 8:55 AM
Thank you very much. Yes, Anchor sounds great. I am glad that he was willing to re-record his vocals. The original recording, which was also very good, needed quite some manipulating, because it wasn’t sung against a steady tempo.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 6:16 PM
Brilliantly beautiful. You brought out the Bowie in Anchor, in the best possible way — and while I generally try to refrain from references to other artists when leaving reviews, my intention is completely complimentary. This mix is creative, congruent with the subject matter, and a beautiful collaborative effort. Kudos to you and Mr. Mejans.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 9:01 AM
Ofcourse I cannot speak for Anchor, but there are worse things than being compared with Bowie. Anchor’s voice and lyrics are always a great inspiration, although it took me quite a lot of time before arriving at this version. But that was completely down to me, because nothing I worked on in these first couple of months seemed to work. Thanks for the kind words. I appreciate it.
Scomber
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 3, 2009 @ 9:01 PM
This is pretty slick Sub. Anchors voice fits beautifully and you build the track very nicely. Good idea basing the “time passing” theme around the clock sound. Cello parts are great Anchor.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 9:03 AM
Thank you, Scomber. The clock sound is maybe a bit too obvious, but I like the sound of it and it really adds to the song.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 11:07 AM
just a really great mix all the way around. original, brilliantly executed, and very cool. very Floydian. :)

anchor fits the bill so perfectly, it’s as if this was all preconceived and meant to be.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 9:10 AM
Well, he did re-record his vocals for this version of his song and the re-recorded vocals are different from the original ones. Thanks for the comment/recommends/airplay and ofcourse for choosing the hornet sample pack for remixfight.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 12:14 PM
Sub, I’m continuing to love the more experimental / live approach your taking on your mixes. I gotsa get that clock ticking sample of you too…

There’s something special about this mix, I can’t quite pin point what I like so much about it - but I suppose I don’t really want to… The vibe you create is good enough for me.

Love the crispy crunchy drum fade at the end.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 9:13 AM
Hey Scott, thanks for the kind words. That grandfather clock sample is indeed pretty cool. DigifishMusic did a splendid job on cleaning up the original sample. I believe I haven’t done anything else then loading it in the project and moving it to the right position within the song.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 4, 2009 @ 6:21 PM
I agree with everything above…

But more so!!

Fantastic!!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 9:14 AM
Everything above? That’s quite a lot. Thank you very much, RT. Much appreciated.
AT
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 9:11 PM
Oh my—-guys you have just blown me away—I really like this—-I’m tempted to create one of the new fangled playlist thingies just to put this on it. Vocals and treatment are brilliant.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Fri, Jun 5, 2009 @ 10:25 PM
And thanks again! (I got to your e-mail message first.)
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 7, 2009 @ 9:49 AM
I probably say this a lot but this is definitely one of the very best Anchor collabs I’ve heard. It sounds/feels like the events and inspirations surrounding it have led to an inevitable integration. Flawless.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Sun, Jun 7, 2009 @ 10:18 AM
It took me a while before creating this piece, so I am very pleased to read your very kind words. Thanks!
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 10:22 AM
Michel- this song meant allot to me…and having you as my collaborative partner was worth waiting for. Appreciatively - Anchor!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 10:32 PM
Thank you, Anchor. The pleasure was all mine.