Robot Attack, Site Sluggish
skip
Home » People » Subliminal » Blind Date » Reviews

Reviews for "Blind Date"

Blind Date
by Subliminal
Recommends (23)
Mon, Feb 23, 2009 @ 6:52 PM

Samples are used in:

 
ScOmBer
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 3:03 AM
Love the build up Sub, and when Kaer’s voice floated in I was hooked.
10/10 for the kalimba and the guitar (and everything else for that matter!)
Certainly worth the wait.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:00 AM
Hey Scomber, thank you very much!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 5:54 AM
This swirls through so many different moods … all of them exceptionally good.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:02 AM
Funny you should say that, because the number of themes were rather limited, which made me fear that it could get a bit boring in the end. Anyway, thanks for stopping by.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 6:53 AM
Thanks Sub, for using my gtr. I love the song, however, I’m biased. Looking forward to workin’ with you again.
PS- I’ll post the gtr when I can find it in my giant stack of stuff.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:05 AM
Nothing wrong with being biased, especially when your contribution is as good as for this song. Let me know when you have uploaded the lead guitar, so I can add it to the sources.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 9:19 AM
The time signature/rhythm is really smart - kept me focused throughout.

Really nice work - but especially the last third of this track is just brilliant - stunning soundscape and harmonies that come alive beautifully.

 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:07 AM
And I even thought of leaving that last third out. Not that I don’t like it myself, but it stands a bit on its own. Thanks for the review!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 2:35 PM
I am really glad you remixed this- it has always been one of my favorite vocals simply because it was so freaking hard to phrase! It’s strange too, to go back to a time when music came so quickly and effortlessly, in my old apartment in the city. It’s beautiful!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:13 AM
Thank you! The main theme consists of constantly changing time signatures (between 5/8, 6/8 and 7/8), which makes your and FB’s contributions even more impressive, because you both had to play it by ear, so to speak.

I have to admit that I was pretty excited about both your contributions. One of my personal musical highlights of the last year.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 3:07 PM
As the instruments are emerging in the mix, the interest and pleasure to keep listening grows. Suddenly only kalimba, after Kaer, and so until you reach a musical climax heady and pleasant. Uf, thanks.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
Well, thank you very much for your kind words! Much appreciated.
The.Spirit.Of.Light
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 24, 2009 @ 7:20 PM
i like the general ambiance and mood you gave to it
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:16 AM
Thanks! Much comes down to the fantastic contributions.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:33 AM
Very Impressive track.
I Love Kalimba. Kaer’s Vocals are Wonderful.
I take my hat off to all that are involved.
100% on point.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 8:41 AM
Thank you! Also on behalf of the contributors. I cannot stress enough how important they were in the creation of this track.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 10:38 AM
damn man, this is one incredibly cool track.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 11:14 AM
Thanks! When you have lived with an idea for as long as I have lived with this one, you tend to lose interest in it a bit. Your kind words bring back a bit of the enthousiasm I felt when I started working on it.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Feb 25, 2009 @ 11:48 PM
When Sub asked me for the drum files from a previous mix I had done I had no hesitation as I knew he would use them well!

Wonderful feeling of movement created in this track and I am very honoured to be part of it.

NB
The drum files would have been uploaded as samples to CCM but I am travelling at the moment and do not have them with me.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 10:51 AM
The funny thing is that when I asked you for your percussion track I was referring to the one from your original version. In the end this one turned out to be perfect for this song, because it very much set the mood for that middle part. Again, thank you very much.
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 4:10 AM
Sub-
this is one of my favorite pieces of my many faves of yours… a great sense of drama - wonderfully mixed and truly engaging musically.
(we need to revive djrkod - don’t we? where’s he been?)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 10:58 AM
To be honest, it’s one of my favourites too, and that is for a large part due to the way this song came to be. I don’t want to sound overdramatic, but this site with all its possibilities and supportive community gave my creativity the necessary boost it needed. Thanks for your continuing support.

And yes, where is DJ Rkod. He made a small reappearance not so long ago, only to disappear again. I was an admirer of his work, so his absense is a real shame.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 8:55 AM
used this wonderkind
here http://jobobarikan.devianta...

thanks,
jb
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 11:25 AM
Cool! The first time one of my tunes is used for a piece of visual art. Thanks for that!
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Thu, Feb 26, 2009 @ 2:04 PM
honored to “discover” you!
ha ha am already workin on another—
best,
jb