Time of Terror Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Recommensolar - GurdonEsqE Dissolution Faction"

Recommensolar - GurdonEsqE Di...
by shimoda
Recommends (11)
Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 6:21 PM
 
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 6:56 PM
Well first the confession… I was listening to this like a parent who’s gone to see her child in the school performance…Where’s my mix… hey there it is! Doesn’t it sound neat? He he, I’m mostly joking, and very very honored to have two of my pieces picked up although Gurdonark’s piece is the backbone of one of my mixes and DJ Rkod’s is the backbone of the other.

Anyway, your notes hint at the fact that this is a bit of wild ride but it certainly maintains interest and actually I think the samples are well woven together. They do have places both horizontally (eg in time) and vertically (eg in sonic space) so they don’t obscure each other. With music as with gardening I like to see the elements and not have them hidden in wild herbaceous borders where they get lost, so I appreciate this quality very much.

I imagine you’ll get a lot of comments with all these people you sampled. Nice marketing ;-)! Nice job, Shimoda.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 7:07 PM
Thanks for the listen. I think with my notes I try to prepare listeners not familiar with my few mixes to not have expectations. I, too, like to see my child in the performance, but here it’s on a stage I’ve no control over. Here comes the son…
 
.
permalink   essesq Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 7:19 PM
Hey the goal is to confound the expectations or exceed them. I don’t honestly think you can prepare your audience, you can only pray that they arrive receptive :-) and leave happy. And if they don’t, hope they can offer something constructive or, in the alternative, keep their mouths shut. I’m still working on those skills as a listener :-(. There is always room for improvement :-).
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 8:16 PM
Thank you very much for remixing me in this one. I like it a lot—
it reminds me of the amazing work of the artist Clutter from http://www.earthmp.com
His “shopping in a shipyard town” album was one of my favorite mp3 plays for some time. Like Clutter’s work, you manage to make a mash-up of seemingly very disparate media work. I’m not sure if all the sample attribution is there—I hear my “longing for home” and also that vocal track “into the sun” that earlier Old Dog turned into a great ‘pella chorus. I’m impressed with what you’ve done—and of course flattered that you’d add me into the title. This kind of thing is a part of remix culture that goes beyond the dance-oriented, and yet the seeds of this kind of mash-up had a dancefloor component. It’s fun to see what cuurious places the sounds can go. Thanks.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 3:42 AM
Yes, I forgot I added C Layne late, thanks for the remind. I don’t believe anything else is in there, but your other piece might have been mixed into essesq’s remix that I mashed for this. I’ll have another look. Really appreciate the listen and I’ll have to check out Clutter. I’m not sure if this is really where I’m at as far a remixing goes, but it certainly hits the spot where arranging and composition of pieces hits me. I like to see disparate things gel, clash collide and fuse into new structures. It’s like musical atomics. Otherwise known as fusion.
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 22, 2008 @ 11:47 PM
What a fun journey- I couldn’t help but enjoy this, and being included “samplistically” makes it a special treat.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 2:55 PM
Thanks for the listen, it’s not the last, wait till I the Duckett and Cover version! And don’t anyone take the name!!!!
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 8:36 AM
very nice to your continued expanded experiments into sound-collage and soundscapes yield such dramatic results….enjoyed the journey.
 
.
permalink   shimoda Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 2:56 PM
Thanks for the listen. You managed to find yourself into this one. I actually sampled myself, but can’t cite that so had to recite some other pieces. It also won’t be the last time your samples are used…hmmm….
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 6:38 PM
Your developing these type of ideas really well and they do come across as more than just a thrown together bag of samples.

Personally I would have liked to see you combine these type of sounds with some more musical passages to emphasize the work.

Still very interesting stuff!
 
.
permalink   shimoda Wed, Apr 23, 2008 @ 6:43 PM
Your last comment is interesting as it hits upon something I was thinking before uploading. I had considered adding some piano or guitar, recorded specifically for this to bring in some wandering melody to accomany or even direct the tone of things. Alas, I wasn’t sure how it’d work in. I feel that I should go for adding that the next time I do another soundscape. Hopefully, people won’t get too tired of hearing these, at least enough for me to develop some feel. However, I really do think at some point I’ll do another more melodic remix ala A.D. Who knows… Thanks for the listen.
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 6:55 AM
The samples in this are all fantastic in their own right (I’ve used quite a few of them myself!) - but you combine them into a whole that really works - it has a a feeling of a ‘journey’, a direction where it’s all heading…
 
.
permalink   shimoda Thu, Apr 24, 2008 @ 1:52 PM
Thanks for the listen and the comment. Hopefully I’m working my way, slowly, into an area where I can bring the disparate together. Thanks again oldDog and everyone for listening.
BOCrew
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 26, 2008 @ 9:48 AM
Thanks for this rmx !
I’m proud to be in your samples.
Do you understand french lyrics ?

Regards

Miel of the BOCrew
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 1:12 PM
Thanks for the samples and the listen. I am proud to have used such a great sample.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 10:47 AM
Ooohhh! Another terrific soundcollage from you. At least you are one of the “crazy” contemporary famous music componists and use this community before performing it on the international stages? ;-)
There is so much in this remix that it is hard to describe and to review.
And yes, I like it!
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 1:14 PM
Thanks for the great review. I would love to be doing just about anything internationally, and since this is the internet, I guess I am. Just you wait, I’ll be mashing you up before you know it. Seriously though, I’m just getting started here and I hope I really am finding a voice, even though I keep saying I’ll make a dance mix one of these days. I’ve been downloading public domain stuff, including old time radio shows, to put into remixes from archive.org, the internet archive. I have wayyyy too much to work with, way too little time.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 29, 2008 @ 2:57 PM
It´s difficult to make interesting music on chords and more difficult without harmonic line.
Congratulations, you are on right.
This mix is fresh air for the site.
AT
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 29, 2008 @ 8:54 PM
I can only agree with all before me on how good you are at making these collage of sounds. Interesting work.
I do like audial indigestion :)
vo1k1
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 9:10 PM
I love this kind of thing (sound collage, mashup, noise jazz, …), and this is fantastic. Very inspiring. The end also closes nicely, harmonically – really nice blend of chaos and intention, Kudos!