Rise from the Ashes Event
skip

Reviews for "What I Used to Be"

What I Used to Be
by Scott Altham
Recommends (31)
Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 3:59 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 8:04 PM
Nice piece! Really dig that distorted bass. Reminds me of a Muse song. What are you using?
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 4:26 AM
Hey FB,

Yeah i was quite pleased with the end result of the bass. Its a bit of a mix of effects actually. The original sound is a standard saw wave bass and its passed through the following device chain -> Low pass filter (to take the sharpness off) -> medium distortion -> guitar rig (can’t quite remember which preset). Sounds cool though.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving some words!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 10:45 PM
I agree on the Muse reference. That Trifonic album is great and has given us some very good source material to work with. You gave the original a completely different vibe that I like a lot. Splendidly done!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 4:27 AM
Cheers Sub, nice to have you back.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 5, 2010 @ 11:34 PM
very cool. this pella is the utmost favorite of the two little girls in my house…..and they are very picky about the mixes that accompany it….this one is, well, hot!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 4:27 AM
If its passed the flakeletts review board, then I’m happy
electricfunfactory
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 3:49 AM
Nice work scott
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 4:27 AM
Cheers bud
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 6:00 AM
Took me back to my “Sunscreem” days -
wonderful beat and sense of Dervish dance fun - those vocals are perfect -
Love your music Scott!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:14 AM
Hello boss, thanks for swinging on by ones page. What’s the ‘sunscreen’ reference? - Cheers
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:24 AM
Quote: scottalthamHello boss, thanks for swinging on by ones page. What’s the ‘sunscreen’ reference? - Cheers

Sorry a Mis-spelling mistake (typing without glasses again!) -
I meant “ Suncreem
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:27 AM
Ah gotcha. Thought you where mentioning your cruise days ;-)

(the boat sailing the sunny seas, as opposed to your wild days with Tom).
oldDog
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 6:14 AM
Yes the pella is a classic - it’s good to hear a different take on it, and this has a great feeling of energy, almost enough to get an old dog on his feet.

Sorry, Ciggi got to the recommend button first - and thanks for stopping by to review my recent efforts.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:16 AM
Hey thanks OD, not quite on your feet?… right…. must.. work.. harder… ;-)
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 9:15 AM
:0
that’s more of a reflection on my feet than on your work!
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 8:06 AM
This is a fabulous mix.

I don’t know you at all but I’ve noticed you’ve got a brill sense of humour so I figured I could write this: This mix reminded me of something else I’d heard a long time ago. Had to think for a while until yes, Alvin Stardust 1974 hit My Cookachoo (not sure about the spelling http://www.youtube.com/watc... Your mix is obviously more 2010 and cooler (and completely flawless, as usual).
I wouldn’t dance to Alvin’s song but I would to this. Also, your hair is so much nicer.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:17 AM
Thanks for that - I tell you what though, I’m loving those monster side burns Alvin is fashioning… Scotts 70’s revival look starts here!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 11:05 AM
This is fantastic! What a great sounding wallop of energy!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:18 AM
Aint it just, they should perscribe it to couch potatoes. Cheers Susan.
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 2:40 PM
Lots of fun listening to this. My head was bopping the whole time…
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:19 AM
Mission accomplished ;-)
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 6, 2010 @ 9:58 PM
I like the tensions and releases, especially in the middle. Of course that bass hook is awesome! Definately fresh.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 6:19 AM
Thanks Papa Zulu (cool name by the name).
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 7, 2010 @ 7:23 AM
Ooh yessss. This kicks ass.

I love the core beat, and as usual absolutely excellent build-up and variation. So many small details. The sort of ghostly pad that drifts along in the back. The guitar strums that enter giving the track a moment to rest before it kicks into full gear again.

Yeah - this is great.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Feb 11, 2010 @ 3:42 PM
Cheers Colab
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 6:07 AM
Really a different approach!!! Can I take this for my gym time?? :P (it’s my way to say this is pretty pretty good!!)
Sassygal
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 8, 2010 @ 10:44 PM
Very nice Scott :-). I’ve had a secret crush on you and your music for a while now - don’t tell scomber xxx
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Feb 11, 2010 @ 3:41 PM
Cheers Sassygirl - your secret’s safe with me ;-)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 9, 2010 @ 7:39 PM
not what i was expecting but you didn’t disappoint. it’s an interesting juxtaposition to take such a sad vocal track and bounce it around like you have. sounds like you threw some minor chords to give it some angst too. cool and different approach to like you said, a pella i’ve heard many times before.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 22, 2010 @ 3:10 PM
Excellent shaffel mix scott. I like a lot.