Snow & Sleet Secret Mixter Upload Day!
skip

Reviews for "Never Heard a Rhyme Like This Before"

Never Heard a Rhyme Like This...
by Scott Altham
Recommends (66)
Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 11:01 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Subliminal
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 11:57 AM
I can not remember ever having inspired someone, not even partly, so I feel honoured. But this is a totally different beast. And sonically far superior to my attempts. Again there are a lot of details present, so the amount of work put into it really shines through. And I sympathize with your feelings about trying to get yourself back to work. I have been there too.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 5:33 PM
Sub, your Eve track is most excellent, probably the best ambient piece I’ve ever heard on cc, so stop being so humble! :-)
BOCrew
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 12:10 PM
luv this Dark vyke on it

Great soundTrak
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 12:18 PM
Wow, this is HUGE sonically. I really like what you’ve done here, and I definitely do get that “punched in the chest” vibe from some of these hits - pity I’m on my little Sony headphones and not in a movie theater :(

I’ve got some crazy writer’s block or whatever you’d call it at the moment - trying to get back to work, too. I’m having a hard time getting songs off the ground. Ah well.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 12:31 PM
Hey man, I got some good advice once… Intentionally write for the trash can, you’ve got more of a chance of developing something great.
Johnny SockHead
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 1:03 PM
WOW! Unbelievable atmospherics. Pure ear candy. The intro is SO GOOD!
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 1:26 PM
Excellent track Scott. Not merely dark but with plenty of drive. I’ll give you another round of sympathy on the work front :-). At least you are channeling some of that energy into something positive. None of us have to look too hard to see something to get gloomy over, and some of us have it all handed to us on a silver platter (laughing).

Great work, keep em comin’ :-).
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 3:20 PM
What impresses me more than the track is your move to try a new avenue based on material you hear.

This online stuff should be a progression to attempt other styles. I dont know if you have done stuff like this before, it sounds like it and it, but for sure it will all be useful one way or another.

You will soon enter the Valhalla of `no comment ’ as to your abiilites as its all been said.

Time to upload a few Turkeys. :-)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 3:45 PM
this is really cool and really well executed. love the orchestra stabs and subtle timpani shots. really excellent depth to this mix.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 4:02 PM
Wonderful, dramatic - a fantastic sonic palette - Kabuki and Kongish -
somewhere and something else - so very far from the mundane…love it.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 5:08 PM
This really needs better quality than an MP3 can deliver to get the most out of it but you have still put across a very cinematic multi layered piece that works really well.

Another genre to cross off the list!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 5:41 PM
You’re not wrong RT, the original has certain tracks recorded in surround and my Sony Surround kit delivers this is a massive way. Ofcourse, I’m just waiting for the neighbours to knock, I’ve been playing this for the last few days. Even the wife is giving me evils
Alex
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 7, 2009 @ 12:28 AM
It feels and sounds GREAT!
I love it!
Great job, Scott!
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 7, 2009 @ 8:28 AM
Oh man; you’ve created a terrific soundscape here. It’s absolutely stunning.
I absolutely love the rhythmic elements - the single hits and how the beat interplays with the vocals.

I’m less in love with the orchestra hits (overdosed on those in the 80s) and the arp - but trust me when I say that those are minor points compared to this most outstanding track.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 5:39 PM
Thanks for your review Colab. If I remember right, you’ve commented on my arp’s before :-) I am a sucker for a nice arpegio. I always revert to them when i need a small piece of musical space filling with a not too heavy synthetic sound.

Good to know its not everyones cup of tea though. I get in this silo’d mind set that ‘surely everyone digs a good arp’.. but clearly that ain’t so and its good to know that :-)

Thanks again bud!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 7, 2009 @ 7:08 PM
Drones make me happy. The intro to this makes me a happy man, because it’s got drones and an xciter effect. I can never get my xciter to fit with the drone. Vincent Price would love this, because if he could get into a film like this it would be Sweden and Bergman and Vincent always wished he could play chess on film.

They should invent instruments to play songs like this because it takes from the fun to think that instruments already in existence make these sounds.

The beats come just to remind us this is not a comic book, but a graphic novel. Then the vocal sample begins, because if you didn’t have the vocal sample then you’d have to have a voiceover saying “this is a special news edition” and nobody really wants that.

Quirky is a good thing, sometimes.
The bells, the beats, the Art of Noise wall-of-noise (a bit too “up in the mix” for me), the vocals—all quirky fun.

I like the little whirring synth melodies. I like the drones and wind-bells. I like the fullness of the mix.

I think that I’d like to hear a change of pace in mid-section, all cinematically, like an unexpected burst of cocktail jazz, the kind of thing that pops in, quick-cut to show the versatility of the spies on screen, all .38 and dinner jacket and women with very long cigarette holders.

The mix overwhelms, a bit, but it’s supposed to, and, as they say—crash, boom.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Thu, Jan 8, 2009 @ 5:35 PM
I’ve always wanted a lengthy Gurdonark review on here and now I’ve got one… great!. Very intelligently and eloquently reviewed. Thanks G!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:52 PM
The second surprise for an exciting soundscape. Are you a film music director or something??

Really tasteful and excellent mix!
These rolling toms, are they from VI?
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:53 PM
Thanks man and thanks for checking out my recent work :-)
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 5:59 PM
I would luuurve to be a film music director… Thats my ultimate goal!
dydjej_inja
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 13, 2010 @ 2:37 PM
Spine. Everything is where it should be. Individual audio levels fused into a beautiful compact unit. Readable, clear, concise. I have this feeling often. I’m going to listen again … and again…
inconnu
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 11:49 AM
great stuff, i like the slow intro, it fears a little bit.

thx for such arrangement

i’ve used this as theme at my website (2moons.allis-in-butter.de)
coruscate
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 4, 2011 @ 12:32 PM
An absolutely stunning masterpiece of hip hop composition! My ears thank you! Your piece will be feature in Healthy Insanity Magazine’s Issue 1 music CD 8^)
algainst
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 16, 2015 @ 10:07 AM
heard it, loved it, used it:

Although i have no 7.1 speaker and the videoeditor does reduce the quality it is still a earworm.

Used in a video out of a series on modern torture methods like gangstalking, zersetzung (stasi), electronic harassement and similar (and no, no conspiracy theories but fact´s). For those who are interested here the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRP93RGU1Jw
robomoon
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 23, 2016 @ 2:24 PM
Dramatic track. With a nice extraction of Moe Train’s rap Hit the Floor (Acapella), also on ccmixter.org. Great percussion, therefore it got mixed into Life Looks Like http://soundcloud.com/robomoon/life-looks-like-r-r which includes an additional extraction of the acapella.