Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip

Reviews for "Deep Down with Boddyker"

Deep Down with Boddyker
by remaxim
Recommends (10)
Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 7:40 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 7:48 AM
Yeah, boddyker seems to have really cleaned up his old uploads which is a shame.

This is really, really strong chopping. Love it. My only nag is that to my taste the pitched vocals sound a bit odd at times, and it would have been great to hear the instrumentals pitched instead.

Nice job though.
 
.
permalink   remaxim Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 8:13 AM
Thanks
I wasn’t even finished uploading when I got your review. Just deleted the irritating pseudo intro.

I guess you mean the Clarance pella sounding odd, as the instrumental has some vocals as well. I wanted to create something inspired by the ‘chopped and screwed’ sound, but didn’t want go that far. I am not sure if you re not used to the sound of ‘chopped and screwed’ vocals or if I just don’t hear the odd moments.

Anyways,thanks for the review
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:10 AM
Quote: remaximI guess you mean the Clarance pella sounding odd, as the instrumental has some vocals as well. I wanted to create something inspired by the ‘chopped and screwed’ sound, but didn’t want go that far. I am not sure if you re not used to the sound of ‘chopped and screwed’ vocals or if I just don’t hear the odd moments.
Naah - it’s not the chopped up Boddyker - trust me, I love chopped up Boddyker. :)

It’s more that to me the vocals sounded pitched down a half note or two - and they could pop more if they were at the normal pitch.
 
.
permalink   remaxim Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:21 AM
I didn’t mean chopped up, but “chopped and screwed” …
It’s a hip hop style mostly based on remixing… slowing the vocals and beat down.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wik...

Just listen to some example to understand what I mean.
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:23 AM
Quote: remaximJust listen to some example to understand what I mean.
Thanks! I was completely unfamiliar - will do.
logos
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 8:30 AM
Nice mix.Enjoyed it.I was actually checking out his pellas yesterday cause i have one called the bx but it’s not there anymore either.Cool track!
fourstones
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:12 AM
I kinda like the screwed down vocals.

In many ways this is better than my original. Cool.
 
.
permalink   remaxim Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:34 AM
I love your track and am happy that I finally dared to remix it.

Thanks for the compliment
I just don’t really think it comes close to the original, just taking it to another direction
 
.
permalink   fourstones Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 10:43 AM
I’m using “fourstones formula for music success” as a metric:

funky > not


which puts this mix ahead
 
.
permalink   remaxim Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 3:08 PM
don’t try to make your work smaller than it is. It’s extremely epic and bluesy and will stay in my playlist for years.

Your formula made me laugh quite hard, thank you
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 6:44 PM
Evil!!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 8:34 PM
My first inclination is a superlative explitive in the most complimentary way, but a bit of self-censorship prompted me to backspace and replace with a big YES!!! — in any event, I really, really dug this mix!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 1, 2009 @ 11:29 PM
cool riff and treatment of victor’s source. it’s like a tom waits rap tune. hell, it’s like a tom waits tune period!

makes me wonder if tom waits really invented hip hop. :)
wellman
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 8:08 AM
As my dear friend Jlang says.,. IM diggin this.. Very creative!
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 2, 2009 @ 6:54 PM
Oh S@#$ that’s hot! Nicely done