Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip

Reviews for "Gonna Love You More"

Gonna Love You More
by Ivan Chew
Recommends (47)
Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 3:55 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 5:17 AM
I think the Bee Gees might be envious of your melodies and tone. This is very lovely, and I of course am very flattered to have been able to contribute to this. :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 5:46 AM
Quote: Admiral BobI think the Bee Gees might be envious of your melodies and tone. LOL, surely you jest! Thanks for your original upload. I couldn’t match your original emotion and the singing, and thought a rock remix would not quite be the same. So ended with this. Cheers
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 7:11 AM
the harmonies and overall sound on this track are gorgeous. one of the best things i’ve heard lately.
999 3/4 ’s UP! congrats on the well-deserved Ed Pick.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 7:23 AM
Thank you, panu. A little bit of the *ahem* gorgeousness came from a mixing tip, which you so graciously shared to this padawan a few seasons ago :)
TheDICE
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 12:14 PM
i enjoyed this, really pleasant.
Grats!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Tue, Jan 24, 2012 @ 6:44 PM
Thanks! I’ve so missed the love from ccM, LOL
coruscate
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 25, 2012 @ 12:14 PM
It does remind me of some classic light rock flavors but the Bee Gees don’t come to mind. I don’t say that negatively: the song is definitely worth all the noise it’s already making! I can’t think of the names of the artists whom it reminds me of but it is a powerful piece.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 6:35 AM
Quote: CoruscateIt does remind me of some classic light rock flavors but the Bee Gees don’t come to mind. I don’t say that negatively…Oh I know you didn’t :) Come to think of it, maybe my treatment sounded closer to “ fleet foxes”? Or The Mamas and the Papas. I’ve always loved that sort of rich, layered, harmonised vocals. In my case, it was more of trying to use vocal layers to make up for the lack of vocal prowess. :p Thanks for the review, as always!
 
.
permalink   coruscate Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 5:08 PM
LOL yeah I’ve been experimenting with vocal layering as well… trying to get back into singing proper.
 
.
permalink   coruscate Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 5:08 PM
LOL yeah I’ve been experimenting with vocal layering as well… trying to get back into singing proper.
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 2:47 AM
This is amazing and beautiful Ivan! I love the harmonies.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 6:35 AM
Thanks, Deb!
CSoul
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 5:58 AM
Very classy job , and full of emotion.I liked it alot.
congrats also for ed-pick.
peace
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 6:39 AM
Thank you! Oh, I had no idea it was Ed Picked!!! (did I miss an email notification? Is there one for ed picks?) But what am I saying? WOO HOO!!! :)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 2:12 PM
Great Vocals. Beautiful track.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:47 AM
Thanks for the review!
Geert Veneklaas
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 2:56 PM
This is so sweet! Makes me long to a summernight with a campfire on the beach. You’ve got me dreaming ;-)
Great work, love it!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:48 AM
Campfire on the beach on a summer’s night — nice imagery!
Papa_Zulu
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 26, 2012 @ 8:50 PM
I have to agree with CSoul - You convey emotion so well, all those minor inflections and the little details is what makes these tracks great!

It’s friendly, warm, clear, I think that is why it resonates with everyone.

 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:50 AM
Thanks PZ. This is all very encouraging. I feel less conscious about my vocals now, lol
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 2:19 AM
Great harmonies Ivan … makes me think of the summer of love (I was there but I was only three ha ha ) Congrats on the ed pick.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 5:39 AM
Your parents must have been rather forward looking to have brought you there!
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Jan 29, 2012 @ 2:27 AM
Not really - I just meant “in time” not in “in space”
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Jan 29, 2012 @ 2:29 AM
Hahaha, that actually made me feel better that your parents weren’t that cool (sorry, just being honest, heh)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 10:04 AM
Beautiful. The vocals and harmonies are warm, delicate and convey the sentiment of the song perfectly. Lovely harmonies, truly. Congrats on a well deserved ed pick!
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 7:27 PM
Thanks very much for the review! After reading your words, I had to sit back and wonder, “Warm, Delicate.. really?” LOL. But don’t get me wrong. I REALLY appreciate that you listened and told me what worked. Cheers!
Stephen Fewell
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 3:17 PM
Outstanding
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sat, Jan 28, 2012 @ 7:27 PM
Thanks, Stephen.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Thu, Feb 2, 2012 @ 2:14 PM
Lovely. Congrats on the Ed Pick :)
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Feb 5, 2012 @ 4:58 AM
Thank you!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 5, 2012 @ 4:56 AM
This is awesome Ivan! Really love what you did with this.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Sun, Feb 5, 2012 @ 4:59 AM
Everyone has been just awesome and so encouraging. Thanks man!