skip
Home » People » radiotimes » I Failed!! » Reviews

Reviews for "I Failed!!"

I Failed!!
by radiotimes
Recommends (13)
Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 12:04 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Scomber
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 12:36 AM
Like a bee to the honey pot.
“As someone who regularly throws up the mixes I am the last person to say this but I think you do yourself a disservice by uploading so many mixes.
The quality of all the stuff you have uploaded recently is excellent and other than my previous statement I cannot see why you do not get more attention.
Anyway I for one like what you are doing”.
For those that don’t know this was RT’s comment to me a couple months back.
Right back to you now radiotimes ;) he he

This track is perhaps the best on the site all year and deserves a popup ad along the top. You beat me to another pell.
Sh*t, I better go and listen to it now….
Rock on mate, take it easy on that asprin. Nice work essesq :)
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:10 AM
Yes I did say that didn’t I:O(

This is definitely my last for 2008 as I have to put on the big red clothes and white beard and get down to some serious HO! HOing!

Let’s hear it for the Hoes!!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:50 AM
My apologies RT. I failed too. ;-) Ho Ho. Lock that liquor cabinet.
Actually this little dueling mixters episode suits essesq’s pell topic very well (strangely enough)
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 1:47 AM
Well besides the obvious generosity of the mix time you have spent here i find this to be very good.

What you have carved out here is a possible Pougues style classic in a first draft form lyrically and musically.

Top marks RT.

Dont tell me thats your fiddle work.. or the mask will slip further.
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:06 AM
No I’m afraid I cannot claim the fiddle as my own (though I have been known to do a bit of fiddling in my time!!)It’s just another sample from the RT goody box!
essesq
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:47 AM
I’ll admit that when your last but one mix went up I felt a little sad, because you were on my target list for possible candidates to mix this one. So bless you for coming out of retirement (yea right, who are we kidding?).

I was questioning my sanity when I made this pella and thanks to you I know the questioning was justified :-).

Thanks a bunch for your expression of selfless kindness. I hope you get yourself a new bit of software from the good red round one. Merry Christmas RT and the happiest of New Years.
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:59 AM
Good fun Heh!

I think I could have made more of this but time was short. In fact I’m probably going to re-remix it after Xmas as LS has made me think about it again.

10/10 for being bold enough to do this and I hope some others take up the “challenge”.

Off now to the North Pole as I promised Big S I’d help out this year with the present wrapping!!
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 6:12 AM
I came back to give this a second listen after my morning coffee and the shock and horror of hearing my voice wore off just so I could really appreciate what YOU did here. This reminds me a little of Cajun music which I love. The one thing that’s eating at me is the timing so I don’t know what you planned to work on if you came back to this but I hope you will. Again I can’t thank you enough for taking this on. I think I’ll repay you with a few reviews, which are long overdue. Have you done any mixes lately ;-)?
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 9:40 PM
Thanks for reviewing some of my other efforts. It’s much appreciated. You’re right about the timing! I rushed this out and tried to keep the “Learner” vocal effect but it goes too far away from the beat. Also the backing vocals were wrong as I forgot to pan the parts (They were automated and I accidently switched them off when mixing down) so they come over a bit overpowering as they are. And worse still when I spotted it on the car stereo I was too far down the road literally to do anything about it!

So as I said when all the fuss and bother and hangovers are finished I’ll sit down and give it another try. Perhaps you’ll have to upload the vocal with the line “New year” replacing Xmas!:O)
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 3:50 AM
this is so cool, and it has a better chance than most of becoming a christmas classic. the writing & performance are honest, clever, ingenuous & sweet. and the backing is right on the mark. vocal quality lies in the ear of the beholder, and i’d just as soon listen to john prine or tom waites as i would james taylor. or… .essesq as i would christina aguilera. great job.
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 4:28 AM
I just told my 13 year old daughter what you said about me and Christina Aguilera … I think you just upped my cred … ;-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 19, 2008 @ 2:27 PM
RT! love this…has humor and content and your own touch of special verve! Essesq’s vocals seem perfectly couched and comfortable in this fun and funny offering. a smile that lingers……….
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 11:15 AM
Failed you have not, this is a fab mix. Fiddles, backing chants… pure musical comedy (everyone loves novelty tunes right?). Who’s playing the fiddle btw? (I have Rolf Harris in my mind?!)

The christmas number one slot is already filled though :-(

Looking forward to more RT mixes in 2009.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 9:07 PM
needs cowbell!
 
.
permalink   wellman Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 9:12 PM
Quote: MC Jack in the Boxneeds cowbell!

I think some Congas would help the spirit of this song… hehhe

RT, this is a really funny and good mix…That’s for sure!
shagrugge
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 27, 2008 @ 11:38 AM
RT FTW