Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Big Mouth Stinky Breath But I Like You"

Big Mouth Stinky Breath But I...
by radiotimes
Recommends (10)
Fri, Oct 24, 2008 @ 9:58 PM
 
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 24, 2008 @ 10:51 PM
well this is an interesting mix. it’s really well produced, just excellent production and arrangement. and it’s got some really great dynamics, blending lots of different styles but pretty rocking throughout. i like the combination of anchors vox with the other main vocal (the one you can’t find). works well together.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 2:35 AM
proving that there’s more than one way to rock. super vocals & one of the cleanest mixes out there. harmonies behind anchor make this sound like a true group effort!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 3:57 AM
We go back a long way now RT, so hopefully i can say this without you spitting your dummy and throwing this review back on a personal level or as a musical challenge.

Often i think you suffer from too many ideas and possibly from boredom with say one set of a certain 16 bars feeling the need to change it after for effect when in fact you don’t need to .

I am also deducing that from when you comment on a constant rhythm ( a hand clap say ) working through a whole tune not having listened to a certain popular style.

So with this mix there are elements / sections that are original and powerful but you change them or over complicate them for your sake rather than the listeners if you follow that.

I know you like throwing out a couple of mixes a week but taking a little more time and control of your own enthusiasm would i believe produce some unique work.
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 4:31 AM
No dummy spitting. Promise!;o)

What you say is spot on and I have no problem with it. Whilst I can write a “tune” for me that does not do it as far as CCM is concerned. I like to explore the limits of the samples and try to put out something different to show what sounds can be achieved with them. You are right when you say my mixes tend to vere off and turn away without the need to and I know for the listener this can be a sometimes disturbing experience!!

Whilst I have put up here what I consider to be main stream music I still like to get that “kitchen sink” into the action at times.

So thanks again for giving an honest review it is much appreciated. Really!!

Now where did I put that dummy!!:o)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 5:02 AM
With Much respect to Loveshadows point of view, i find this remix full of energy. I like the ideal of the many changes that you’ve incorporated here. To me it’s like a fun surprise at every corner. I tend to keep my mixes simple but i admire any one that can throw in the kitchen sink and make it sound this good,
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 8:33 AM
RT
I can clear up at least one half of the mystery. During my copyright paranoia I took some spoken word and sung word samples of poetry by the “Greats” off. As a side note (for others who may be interested in this), I have come to find out that most work (but not all) written before 1923 is now Public Domain in the USA. In this case, “A Bowl of Roses” by William Ernest Henley - is o.k. and as soon as I can locate the pell file I will re-publish as a sample.
Interesting song, with your signature unique creative ideas and process…always a treat to listen to your offerings (and be part of them too).
Scomber
.
permalink   Sat, Oct 25, 2008 @ 8:43 PM
Cool RT :) I like all you remixes.
Everyone above (with respect) has made some valid comments. But I think they have missed the point of your sound.
There is a undercurrent of simplicity underlying all your remixes; a persistent percussion, a keyboard hit or synthy powerchord.
Over the top of this is a tapestry of kitchen sink “surprises”.
Its these little embellishments (combined with a great production standard) that add some bling to your offerings.
Keep on throwing that kitchen sink mate, just be careful of any aging muso wearing rubber gloves…
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 30, 2008 @ 3:58 PM
I heard the music and read LS-s review. Both together caused a new experience! High amusement!
For your remix: I think music is freedom, you materialized(?) this idea in this remix as much as I can say. I like it!