Catalyst-Extended!
skip
Home » People » onlymeith » The Forest » Reviews

Reviews for "The Forest"

The Forest
by onlymeith
Recommends (24)
Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 3:52 PM
 
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 5:54 PM
Just totally beautiful, i thought of you when these stems went up.

The only thing i was not liking were the crunchy beats. I know you were perhaps going for a contemporary twist but the backing and vocals are wonderful on their own.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 12:47 PM
Probably, you are quite right, but I couldn´t resist the temptation to use the samples of vo1k1. Thanks for your wise comments. You know to make music and also you know listen.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sat, Jan 24, 2009 @ 8:17 AM
The stems already uploaded. Sorry for the days of delay.
essesq
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 6:32 PM
There are few mixers on here who only deliver profoundly moving music, in fact you may be the only one. (That’s not an insult to anyone, it’s just Onlymeith has yet to do a toe tapper or a humor track :-) ). Sorry Onlymeith, but I would get feedback :-).

Lush and rich as always, but I have to agree with LS, you could lose the beats and possibly make the experience even richer.

Great job.
 
.
permalink   Mana Junkie Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 7:42 AM
None taken. :P
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:10 PM
Thanks essesq, from now on I will try to be more funny with my music :-),:-), :-)( the spirit of the tragic life) :-).
 
.
permalink   queeniemusic Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 3:18 PM
Sometimes the spirit of tragic life is good!! :D
K_James
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 12, 2009 @ 8:42 PM
Very nice- I think I agree about the beats, but wow, lush chords and backing, and wonderful treatment of the vocals. Superb!
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:20 PM
Thanks for listen and review. About beats I expleained the reason on reply to LS.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 4:47 AM
Its like entering a dreamscape - soft and embracing…Or I am reminded of the intricate weavings of the Unicorn Tapestries - suggestive and rich - mysterious. Incredible harmonious female vocal and lovely musical backing.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:26 PM
Pretty picture for a humble mix. Thanks Anchor for listen and for this pleasant and poetic review.
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 7:41 AM
Beautifully done here. I love the flow of this one… you crafted a wonderful score for her vocals.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:30 PM
Thanks for your words. Qeenie´s voice is really wonderful.
wellman
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 9:08 AM
Really beatiful OnlyMeith. I like the idea of the drums.. I just think that the pattern of rhythm u used is not the most accurate for this song.. but that’s my humble opinion. But I really like the strength the drums give to this piece in the solo.

Congratulations.. u did a great job..!
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 2:35 PM
As LS said, I tried to give a modern touch to the mix. It´s possible that I´ve chosen the wrong pattern, but I like it :-). Thanks for listen and nice review.
khidir
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 11:16 PM
This is a very nice composition, may I enquire on what you used for the strings?
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:24 PM
Thanks for listen and review, I´m glad you like it.
For bass strings I have used Yamaha S-80, for intermediate position (chords) Halion Symphonic (Steinberg), and for melodic line Halion Symphonic and Roland JV-1080 (left and right pan).
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 13, 2009 @ 11:51 PM
What I love about your stuff is the joining of musically interesting approaches with a solid emotional appeal; the brain and heart can both enjoy ;-)
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:32 PM
Thanks for your words duckett. I agree with you, the brain and heart can both enjoy. The brain makes the technique job, the heart is the life for the song (also for our mortal wrapper):-)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 4:07 AM
Great music! Great crunching!!

I can see why some would prefer not to have the “crunch” but for me it does add another dimension.

Chilling stuff!
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:36 PM
Ok,Ok,Ok,another dimension.
Thanks RT for your support on the beats. Always a pleasure your opinion.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 1:09 PM
Sorry for being so late OM!

Nevertheless, I heard this track now the fifth time around. Your string arrangement is awesome. LS mentioned it would have been enough with vocals, strings and guitar(?). Yes he is right, but your choosen drums also work for me. Overall very very big cinema!
 
.
permalink   queeniemusic Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 3:17 PM
Quote: TheJoeSorry for being so late OM!

Nevertheless, I heard this track now the fifth time around. Your string arrangement is awesome. LS mentioned it would have been enough with vocals, strings and guitar(?). Yes he is right, but your choosen drums also work for me. Overall very very big cinema!


I have always wanted to write film music so it was like he read my mind! The remix is brilliant. It’s so nice to be remixed by such a big talent.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 4:04 PM
Thanks queenie for this nice words.
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sun, Jan 18, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
It´s never too late for a complymentary comment. Ok. I´m not a guitarrist, VG2(steinberg) works for me :-). Thanks Joe for the nice review and your vision about beats.
The.Spirit.Of.Light
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 20, 2009 @ 4:34 PM
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Sat, Jan 24, 2009 @ 7:47 AM
Thanks for listen and review.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 25, 2009 @ 9:24 PM
arrggghhh - how did I miss this absolute gem until now? Stunning, heart-achingly beautiful!
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 12:40 PM
Thanks for listen and nice words. Sorry spin, but my english is poor ¿achingly?.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Jan 26, 2009 @ 1:02 PM
heart-achingly is a “pain in the heart” :-)
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Wed, Jan 28, 2009 @ 3:20 PM
Thanks for the clarification. It´s nice to hear that this music conveys feelings.
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 2, 2009 @ 12:24 AM
Tranquality has landed in the Forest,got me thinking of the time changes even in the forest..You must of got an editor pick on this track i hope, it seems to me that theirs some bias but that goes on everywhere in todays world as tastes increase. Heck when i was 18 i had a two track mind…Rock and R/B…its got 4 tracks now…hope for 8 tracks!..lol….
A Beautiful Mix Nice Piano you know your timing!