COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » oldDog » No Forever » Reviews

Reviews for "No Forever"

No Forever
by oldDog
Recommends (31)
Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 3:50 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 4:46 AM
Happy songs are great - upbeat songs can be a momentary distraction…but Sad songs are always the best…some of them have spanned the centuries….perhaps the mass identification with human longing. Great Lyrics and so interesting to hear you sing.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 4:49 AM
Thanks Anchor, I take the comment on the lyrics as a great compliment, coming from you.
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 4:53 AM
some things really are timeless. and the style & grace you’ve shown in your last two outings as a lyricist/vocalist are perfect examples of a perceptive & creative soul coming into its own. plus… the production is just perfect.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 5:38 AM
I think it’s great when some of the Mixters start to sing. It shows another side of the avatar.

This is a wonderful heart on your sleeve offering and a fine example of how a minimalist backing track combined with great emotion can provide some memorable music.
colab
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 5:45 AM
What an utterly pleasant surprise. Thanks for using the piano sample for your track.

I don’t usually gush in my reviews - but this is very moving to me. It comes from a real place, but you’ve also spent the effort on the production, resulting in a very strong track.

Thanks for letting me be part of it.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 10:02 AM
That piano piece is great, I knew I had to do something with it, and it forms the backbone of this mix.

And it’s strangely liberating to start with someone else’s material, particularly for something personal like this.
Scomber
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 6:37 AM
Man! Old Dog this is great. Music is about emotion and you just poked me in the eyes with a blunt stick.
And you’ve even posted the instrumental without me grovelling!
(too much)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 7:34 AM
This is heartbreakingly beautiful, oD, and the pace and feel of it really suit the purity and musicality of your singing. It is incredibly moving. I hate to be moved, as you know, but you’ve got under my barriers with this song. Is there anything you can’t do, you bugger?
beckfords
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 9:40 AM
quite moving
timberman
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 9:57 AM
Don’t know what to say. These few minutes of music are so moving and so beautiful and so sincere.
fourstones
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 4:35 PM
the pell is up? (Cin ran into in the room “who is that??” ;)
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sat, Apr 4, 2009 @ 3:12 AM
Quote: fourstonesCin ran into in the room “who is that??”

in a good way, I hope ;)

Seriously, I wasn’t sure anyone would want the pella, but it’s up now
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Fri, Apr 3, 2009 @ 4:49 PM
indeed, great stuff old Dog. wear it on your sleeve.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 4, 2009 @ 8:37 AM
Songs like this one make me wish that I could sing. But alas, that is one of the many talents I lack. I was going to ask you if you were planning to upload the pella, but I see that you already have done so. Maybe I will try to do something with the pella in the hopefully not too distant future. The lyrics really resonate with me and your voice is great on this one. And let’s not forget Colab’s piano piece. He calls it a simple chord progression, but simple as it may be, for me it is a thing of beauty which together with your vocals and lyrics turns this into a very moving piece.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 4, 2009 @ 11:48 AM
So moving. So good. So shivery sad.
pinkcutiepie
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2009 @ 9:16 PM
this is so beautiful. i feel the emotion in this. omg this is wonderful. amazing vocals
jacindae
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 9, 2009 @ 11:04 AM
Exquisite. I love what you’ve done with the reversing of the loop, it gives the music and the lyrics a sort of poetic synergy…not that *that* makes any sense at all and actually having used the word synergy in a sentence I think I need to go hit myself with a hammer or something.

Honestly though, this is beautiful.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Thu, Apr 9, 2009 @ 11:13 AM
Thanks - and please don’t hit yourself, I like the word synergy, and I’m really glad you felt that it worked in that way, because that’s want I wanted - the feeling of wanting to rewind time…
 
.
permalink   jacindae Fri, Apr 10, 2009 @ 3:20 PM
Ah, well I will refrain from hitting myself. Still, that word always makes me think of Alec Baldwin’s character in 30 Rock. :)

And yes, you absolutely achieved your goal.
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 9, 2009 @ 12:05 PM
Powerful stuff, thanks for letting us hear it.