Break the Silence Event
skip

Reviews for "The Oregon Trail"

The Oregon Trail
by Kara Square
Recommends (41)
Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 5:43 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 6:19 AM
BRILLIANT song and mix!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:34 AM
Thank you kindly, Jeris.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Nov 22, 2011 @ 8:30 AM
Thank you for the Ed. Pick, Jeris. It’s such a pleasant surprise.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Nov 22, 2011 @ 8:37 AM
So was your track, much enjoyed :)
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 6:26 AM
steinbeck in a nutshell, with a bit of faulkner on top
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:34 AM
Indeed… :) Thanks for listening, annabloom.
rocavaco
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 6:48 AM
Have seen many of these “go west” films in my youth (don’t know if the Oregon trail was part of it, they were synchronized to German). Your song recalled some to this childhood memories. Thanks!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:35 AM
Thank you for listening! I had a trip down memory lane while creating this, too.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 6:48 AM
Brilliant! The alt-western touches here are so sophisticated that it sounds like some polished alt-country band that’s been doing this a long time! The story telling is, as always, the real highlight.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:38 AM
Well thank you, Admiral. I’m quite flattered. Haskel’s slide guitar deserves most of the credit for the alt-western inspiration.
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 8:48 AM
I don’t know really know the Oregon Trail but I love what I hear! Brilliant
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:38 AM
Thank you, Alex! I appreciate it!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 8:48 AM
love the old timey feel. Nicely done Kara :) It really sticks with you !
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:41 AM
Thank you, copperhead! Glad to hear it’s catchy!
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:08 AM
I don’t know what intention you had when you composed this but it makes me very melancholic. Melancholic in a good way. The sort of melancholy I could feel as a kid watching High Chaparal’s more gloomy parts, like the episode where Manolito had toothache. I think this is a wonderful song that’s far too short.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:04 AM
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Timberman. My initial intention was a humorous song- especially with the lines about various illnesses the family gets. Those lines are all taken from The Oregon Trail game (which I played and took notes as research for the song). But I totally hear/feel the melancholy…. and that’s one of my favorite things about music. Interpretation. I’m really glad you liked it.
 
.
permalink   timberman Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:34 AM
Yeah, I really love it and I got the humour of course, I’m not that dreary y’know just wanted to add an intellectual twist to the review:)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:52 AM
Right on. Please know I’ve never thought of you as dreary, and I love intellectual twists… :) (I’m still hoping to come up duet material…)
 
.
permalink   timberman Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 11:04 AM
I’m sure it will happen
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:43 AM
Wow. This is like a campfire story set to song — I can imagine being on the Oregon Trail, huddled around a fire with our wagons, telling the stories of our journey. So intimately plucking at the difficulty of the experience. Amazing use of Haskel’s guitar.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:40 AM
I can imagine being on the Oregon Trail, huddled around a fire with our wagons, telling the stories of our journey. So intimately plucking at the difficulty of the experience.

Ummm… beautiful description. Thank you- I’m glad this has been well-received… I was concerned it might be too weird. ;)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 6:19 PM
loved it.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 9:47 AM
It’s nice to have airplanes—though I don’t like the security lines—it’s better than the dysentery and the measles.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:41 AM
Here, here! Airplanes are definitely a vast improvement. Thanks for listening, Spin.
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:02 AM
Brilliant song. You’ve brought to life a piece that I often felt needed enhancement. The additional instruments really round it out and add warmth. Your voice is perfect for this tale, both the tone of your voice and that beautiful pronunciation. And who can resist a tale of death, dysentery, snakebites and other suffering of those desperate white people that manifested the destiny of the west. Love it.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 10:44 AM
I’m so relieved… and truly thrilled that you loved it! Thank you for your beautiful variety of guitar pieces… it was quite fun to listen to your work. Thank you!
CSoul
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 11:51 AM
Simple,emotional and poetic.I loved to listen it so much.,
peace
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 9:42 AM
Thank you, CSoul!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 12:23 PM
Holy barrels of salted fish, Brain-Girl; this is one of the best things I’ve heard in a very long time. Anywhere. In any genre.

This made a real connection with me. The roots reach deep with this one. Thanks for sharing.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 9:53 AM
Well, that’s a heck of a review- thank you so much, Colab. The funny thing is that I wasn’t all that confident about this track… hmmm…

I’m so glad it connected with you. Thank you.
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 1:53 PM
After the some 20 secs I had the idea this is the soundtrack for “The Grapes of Wrath” as I have it interpreted: Sad, melancholic,fatal and writren with a great human sympathy! Well annabloom mentioned already Steinbeck.
In short:this great music suits this great novel very well!Chapeau!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:05 AM
Thank you, Wired_Ant! I definitely hear the Steinbeck ties.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 2:05 PM
Death, cholera, typhoid, dehydration, dysentery and Manolito’s toothache. Kara, where did come up with this misadventurous tale? “:0)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:38 AM
The Oregon Trail game (played it in the 80s as a kid at school)- all of that (minus Manolito) was in it… I even played to refresh my memory as research. ;) Thanks for listening, Tex.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 20, 2011 @ 8:45 PM
Never been on the Oregon trail. Never been to Oregon. I’m Ready, all i need is a horse and a doctor at my side.
Great Mix Mind Map.
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 4:04 AM
A doctor is kind of a necesaty on this route :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:42 AM
How right you are. :D
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:45 AM
Thanks, J.Lang! Ya’ know, I’ve never been to Oregon either… gotta change that. I have traveled Route 66… next song? Beatniks!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 4:04 AM
It’s all been said so I keep it very simple:

I’m loving it
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:47 AM
Thank you, AA! I’m very glad! (By the way, you did a fabulous job mastering the tracks on the “Strike the Root” album.)
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Mon, Nov 21, 2011 @ 11:50 AM
Thanks :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 22, 2011 @ 10:51 PM
My lord! Girl, I believe there is not a topic or subject on this earth that will not be put into a catchy song by you! The subject matter is perfect for this track. It was meant to be. Seriously, I’m kvelling! (If you need me to define kvelling let me know — it’s a good thing though). And of course, Haskel had first recommend dibs — so I can’t leave a recommend for you — but at least you have my good will and admiration.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 10:57 AM
Thank you so kindly, Susan. I googled kvelling. :) So sweet. You uncovered one of my personal joys- writing about things folks don’t usually write about. It was really fun researching the Oregon Trail (and revisiting the 80s game!)… and it wasn’t planned. Without Haskel’s piece, the inspiration would not have been stirred. Ahhh… I sure love ccM!
VickyDan
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 3:25 AM
FANTASTIC ….
You may have created here, the atmosphere of the time, but I confess that I let myself be carried away by this track. A very powerful arrangement ….
Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 10:58 AM
Thank you for your kind, kind words, Vicky! I’m so glad it carried you away… :D
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 5:13 AM
Ah the good old days.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 10:59 AM
Nothin’ like a lil’ dysentery, eh? Thanks for listening, Speck.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 7:44 AM
Having just been on sections of the route of the Oregon Trail during a recent trip - allows me to appreciate this even more.
As always - your intelligence and inventive brilliance shines forth!
Cheers and congrats on Ed Pick.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Nov 23, 2011 @ 11:02 AM
A visit from a true traveler! So nice to hear from you, Anchor. Thank you for all your kind words and warmth. Best wishes to you!
Robert Warrington
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 26, 2011 @ 12:27 PM
I was going to say I love your consistent inventiveness but AM’s said it already. (However, as you can see, I’ve said it anyway.)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Nov 28, 2011 @ 8:45 AM
Thank you, Robert! No worries, I don’t mind being complemented on the same thing twice. ;) Thanks for listening!
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 3, 2011 @ 6:47 AM
Holy crap, this song is SICK!!!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 4:28 AM
Ha! Thanks, Ben! I appreciate it.
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 5, 2011 @ 6:30 PM
I love the way your mind works! This is Brilliant!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Dec 6, 2011 @ 8:20 AM
That’s a really nice thing to say. Thanks, Steven.
mwic
.
permalink   Fri, Jan 27, 2012 @ 11:11 AM
Finally an MMT song the whole family can enjoy! This is my personal favorite from your oeuvre. Thelonious will love it too.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Jan 27, 2012 @ 2:34 PM
Ha! Yeah, I suppose a big chunk of my work is definitely not kid-safe. Thank you, mwic. I’m glad to hear that it’s a favorite!
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 28, 2012 @ 3:41 PM
Really beautiful… the first play i just listen at the music, without caring too much at the lirycs. Really a great track, superb “western” melodies!!! Grats! Then i listened the story with patience (and lirycs), excellent songwriting

grats on the edpick, deserved fully! :)

(funny too, i laughed out loud in the part of the characters… maybe i shouldn’t laughed… umh)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Oct 29, 2012 @ 8:41 AM
Thank you, DICE! I’m so glad you enjoyed. I had a blast with Haskel’s guitar parts. Rest assured, the lyrics are meant to be humorous. I’m glad they came off this way to you! This song was mostly inspired by the old school video game “Oregon Trails”- do you know of it?
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Tue, Oct 30, 2012 @ 5:09 AM
Yes i remember that one (i’m a videogame nerd afterall ^^ i love vgames, i think some of them are Art ). And it’s great you get inspiration from a vgame! - me too :) ) i can’t stop singing ‘Martha has dysentery…” sounds so stylish. I think i will “punk” this one ^^ lol

Honestly, when i was making Chance remix, i come to listen this track, and it influenced alot my work.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Oct 30, 2012 @ 6:47 AM
I think i will “punk” this one ^^ lol
Awesome! I’m looking forward to it! Maybe… “westernpunk”?? :)

Honestly, when i was making Chance remix, i come to listen this track, and it influenced alot my work.
I wondered if that might be the case. I’m happy to hear it influenced you!